We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much nicer than I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went for 4 nights with my mom who was celebrating a big birthday. Concierge was fantastic - even a couple of weeks before our stay, helping us arrange airport transfers and spa appointments, and providing restaurant recommendations. We had an ocean view room with a small terrace where we could sit and enjoy the view. Room was very clean and comfortable.

The beach is so beautiful...there were small thatch roofed structures you could lie under watching the beach, either in the sun, or in the shade. Beach was very clean, and you were not hassled by vendors all day like in some other places. Ther was an attendant who took care of all our food and beverage needs while on the beach - very attentive service. The pool area was also nice, although a little more crowded because there were lots of families there with children. Still it was comfortable, we could find chairs, and the swim up bar was pretty neat.

Although I saw some people doing this (and it's annoying), there was not too much "saving" of beach chairs going on. Generally we got spots on the beach or at the pool area without a problem, no matter what time of day. Thankfully the hotel has abundant beach chairs so there's no need to go out early to save spots for later in the day (did I mention it's really annoying when people do this?).

Spa was awesome - we had really great massage and facial treatments. Although we didnt get to try it, the gym facility looked really well-equipped and spacious.

We took a room package that included breakfast. Buffet was very well stocked, with choices of Asian breakfast, Mexican breakfast, abundant fruits and fruit juices, and omelet bar. If you like breakfast, this is the place to have it. Staff at breakfast was extremely attentive.

Lobby area is spacious with lots of spacious living room seating.

Hotel staff could not have been nicer to us. Excellent customer service.

This is a great place for relaxing and eating well. It was not anything like the "Spring Break" atmosphere I imagined for Cancun. I would stay again at this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBY_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,455 - 2,461 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I had a very good experience staying in CasaMagna Cancun in March 2012. The hotel's lobby and common areas are very classy. Our room on the 3rd floor was quite spacious, with bathroom in the perfect condition, and a large balcony. The service is very responsive - if they have it, it's yours for asking. We asked for bath robes; for lounge chairs for the balcony (they were missing); for turn-down service at 9 p.m. (it's optional), and everything was furnished and arranged for promptly.

You can check out as many beach towels as you need (to me this is an ultimate sign of a high-class hotel in Cancun), and there are so many palapas on the beach that nobody has a problem finding a shade, no matter when they show up at the beach.

The bar is very-very good! Cocktails they make are delicious, and the food offering is above average: generous portions of ceviche, shrimps, fajitas, hot dog with fires, and more; we would order one portion for two of us for lunch, and this was always enough.

Last time in Cancun we stayed at Fiesta Americana Coral Beach, which is a 5-star hotel. While it was ok, there were definitely problems, like awful cocktails (see my review on TripAdvisor). I must say that the 4-star CasaMagna in my view easily tops Fiesta Americana. I highly recommend it!

One thing I noticed there is that the pool area is on a smaller side. We are beach people and don't use the pool, but if the pool is important to you, take a look at it's pictures and decide for yourself. You can always use the huge continuous pool at the adjacent JW Marriott property as an alternative.

Again, overall, CasaMagna gets my top-most rating!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kastorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We divided our stay into 3 days at Casamagna and 2 days at Liveaqua. I felt that the hot tub at Casamagna is awesome because it is right next to the beach and is less crowded compared to the one at Aqua. Room was not that great though.

We were not in the hotel during daytime as we were visiting Chichen Itza and others but at nights, the beach at Casamagna is lighted (this too unlike aqua where it is pitch dark in the night on beach and I was scared to take a stroll ) and feels serene!

All in all great resort for families and couples + it is well within budget!

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for upgrade to ocean front room. Most of the rooms are ocean view and have a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spolamr p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I think most of the comments here are a very accurate indication of what you can expect during your stay at Casa Magna.

PROS
- great value compared to similar 4 Diamond hotels in Cancun
- professional and friendly staff
- impressive lobby and common areas
- rooms on 3rd floor have huge balcony
- gorgeous beachfront
- Aquaworld located onsite
- adequate pool area
- comfortable rooms and bed
- great location for getting beer, groceries across the street...and close to bus stop
- beach and pool chairs extremely comfortable
- helpful concierge service

CONS
- again, no coffee in room...if management reads these reviews, you would think they would want to change this quickly.
- i understand many families in this resort, but how about making the hot tub adults only...kids have the whole pool, they don't need the hot tub too
- would like to see more trees and/or greenery around the pool area, just alot of concrete
- would like to also see more social activities offered for adults, it was pretty darn quiet after 6pm at the hotel
- never ate at the hotel, drinks and food too cost prohibitive

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floors have extended balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank healsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I travel a lot for business and I am fortunate to stay in many top class hotels. This is our second stay at the Casa Magna and, as the title says, it really does not get much better than this hotel. From the classic design with huge public areas to the marble floors to the beautifully appointed bedrooms. Everything has the feel of a "Casa Magna" "large house" but on a grand scale.
The service was impecable in the restaurants and the pool area, this is just an outstanding hotel
If you considering Cancun you really should put this hotel at the very top of your list

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just returned home yesterday and I haven't even unpacked, but had to write this review. This is the most delightful hotel I think we have ever stayed in. My son looking at the pictures today asked me did we win this stay on Jepardy. Because the pics were so beautiful. We can't wait to take them next year. The reviews really helped, but some didn't do it justice.
We stayed 5 nights. We didn't have any problems and find this hotel to be family friendly and the staff awesome.
Yes this might not be the JW Marriott, but a great property with awesome food. The service is magnificent and the staff overly friendly. We had an up graded room for about $50 more dollars. Don't know what the other rooms looked like, but we thought we had step into a fantasy. My husband and I were giddy. The entrance and courts are amazing and I mean amazing. The room outer hallways may lack a little and may need some paint touch ups here and there,but that can be over looked.
The private car service to and from the hotel was clean and on time.
Oh by the way my husband and I were there for our anniversary and when had gone to dinner and returned, the staff Had left us a card and champagne. We were so surprised.
Yes it's true u may feel as though you are being nickeled and dimed, but the service is impeccable! We will be back next year and bring our kids. This hotel left us feeling over the moon!

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are better, but really didn see the the view from the street side. Have plenty fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkbwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel lobby area and sitting area is absolutely beautiful - what a welcoming sight. Its is far prettier than the JW Marriott next door! Its a nice area to hang out in for a bit in the morning or evenings. The rooms are nicely appointed - what you would expect with a Marriott hotel. It would be nice if they all had a refrig, but we were able to put our name on a waitlist and had one by day two. And definitely thought each room should have had a coffee maker. Since we had read elsewhere that rooms did not come with a coffee maker, we actually brought our own little one cup maker, which we used every day for coffee on the balcony. We had an oceanview balcony, which is highly recommended. We spent plenty of time here in the early morning as well as in the evening while
The pool area was nice - but nothing special. The chairs are packed in close together - but I guess its better than not enough chairs. Unfortunately, the area around the pool is just a bit small. The beach fantastic - just a few steps from the pool and where we spent a great deal of time. Sand is super soft and white, and the turquoise waves so relaxing to set by. The JW Marriott next door has a spectacular pool -- far nicer than the CasaMagna, however the rest of the CasaMagna hotel was much more welcoming for our family.

Our rate included breakfast, which was a great deal. While the breakfast was very good with a large buffet, if it were not included in the price of our room it would have been way too expensive to be worth it. $68 USD for breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids?! If you can get a rate with breakfast included, I would highly recommend it. Then you can head down for a leisurely breakfast in the morning right onsite, followed by a day of relaxing at the pool and beach. We typically had a big breakfast, light snacks for lunch, and then set out for a nice dinner around 6pm. It gets dark early in Cancun (by 6:30 in late March) -- plan on rising early (when it is beautiful out!), and then dining early

We ate onsite at Champions the first night - a sportsbar lacking atmosphere. And then at the Thai restaurant another evening. Neither were over the top. Our recommendation is to head offsite for more variety and better prices overall. The concierge desk can provide some ideas and options.

Check your bill carefully. We were inadvertently charged for internet (which should be complimentary for Marriott Gold/Platinum members) and some of our breakfasts. They will print it out and slide it under your door in the overnight hours so that you can review it in your room before checkout.

Everyone at the front desk was fantastic - very helpful and friendly. When we called for extra towels, they were immediately delivered, and always followed up with a call to ensure that we got them and if we needed anything else.

Our family would stay here in a heartbeat again. The reasons we give 4 stars rather than 5: 1) The pool area is nice, but not fantastic. 2) restaurant prices and prices for coffee/snacks throughout were simply too pricey for Cancun. 3) No coffee maker in the room?!

Tip: A quick walk down the driveway and across the street you will find a 7-Eleven. The perfect place to pick up beverages to enjoy on the beach!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor (you won't be able to see anything!). We loved our 5th floor room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smores4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
0.6 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $230 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise at Marriott Cancun Resort. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and our 5-star resort in Cancun, Mexico. A legendary locale close to Kukulcan Plaza, Luxury Avenue, La Isla Shopping Village and Coco Bongo and perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing