We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a honeymoon! Would definitely go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Summerset, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a honeymoon! Would definitely go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had our honeymoon at Moon Palace and had a blast! The service is excellent, all the staff friendly and helpful. At night room service is a little slow, but tasted good. Definitely preferred some restaurants to others, the one at the golf course is the best one for dinner. We had to use the onsite physician and got fast satisfactory service. Only "drawback" was that we chose to attend the "sales pitch" for the vacation club which was very high pressure. Transport around the resort was great with the shuttles and golf carts. Winter was a perfect time to be there with weather sunny and in the 80s daily. Great resort, made great memories. Would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13,434
    4,179
    1,617
    755
    671
See reviews for
8,666
5,818
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Believe the excellent reviews! Just came back from Moon Palace.

travelled on sunwing and it really is just 15 mins away from airport.

Great resort. Service impeccable and very accomodating to my 6 month old. The crib they provided was way too high for me and it was quickly replaced w pack n play.
Booked Sunrise section- upgraded ($50 resort credits per night) - gorgeous partial ocean view. Had some noise problems bc conference going on outside by mini golf and was quickly rectified by moving to the grand which was spectacular.
The baby was fussier than expected at the Chef's dinner ($198 resort credit) so they arranged for my meal to be delivered by room service.
We did not want to leave the baby with my parents the next evening when my husband and I were supposed to attend the romantic dinner ($350 resort credits) so the staff arranged for the entire dinner (all courses plus moet champage) to be delivered to our room. Incredible customer service.
We tipped regularly bc we wanted to but are not members and were treated like royalty.
used other resort credits for 2 massages ($125 each), haircut for my husband ($32 - indicated as "trim" rather than haircut on list of services bc haircut would have cost $55), and eye brow waxing for me(can't remember exactly but $11-13 range) so we maxed out our $300 allowed credits at the spa/salon.
staff at los tacos were very accomodating to move umbrellas (very heavy) so our baby could be in the shade. waitresses there even helped out by holding the baby.
at one of the outdoor restaurants at the sunrise, unbeknownst to us until later, waitstaff ran to another restaurant to get our baby a high chair.
we received multiple phone calls from the front asking us to come to speak about special packages (time share) but we kept declining and eventually they stopped calling. no big deal.

mosquitoes at night - even while waiting for shuttle outside hotel lobby.

beware - my parents asked the front desk about shuttle to other palace hotels in cancun and were told there are none and to take a taxi. however, when they went out to ask the bell boys for a taxi for this purpose, they were correctly directed to the shuttle. again, no big deal.

we could call for golf carts to our room to take us to the lobby (we were the farthest building from the lobby at the sunrise). one driver (can't remember his name but he was wonderful) who noticed our baby would go out of his way to drive us all the way to our destination instead of us having to take the hotel shuttle from the lobby.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor Toronja building in sunrise - farthest from lobby but great view of ocean even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fallbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Be sure to stop at the Lobby Bar. Look for Luis Gomez and Claudio Pott they were the most fabulous, fun bartenders. They both gave us great service and made sure the drinks kept coming. Want a different drink or not sure what you want to drink? Just ask them -- they have a ton of yummy new drinks to try.

Room Tip: We were close to the lobby which made it easier to stop at the Lobby Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyrak55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Simply everyone on board at the Moon Palace was friendly, helpful, always greeting with a big smile and a friendly "Hola!" We had zero issues there, every need was attended to even before we asked! The Pros of the vacation were the staff, no question. The Cons were: 1. not much to use our $1500 credit on except a massage and wine upgrades-otherwise it cost us a bunch of money on highly price inflated jewelry or a laughable "romantic dinner on the beach" three feet away from other couples. 2. We found the nighttime entertainment not very entertaining in comparison to our last Sandals vacation, where the entertainment was very interactive. The entertainment at Moon was really just a large outdoor screen with dancers or singers- we personally did not find much appeal t it. That is why we are going back to Sandals for our next vacation. While our experience at Moon Palace was great, the Sandals brand is just much more suited to our personal tastes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is our 3rd trip to the Moon Palace and when they say Welcome Home, it really feels like it. This trip we brought another couple along with us, their first trip to the Moon Palace. We are so comfortable and treated so royally in all areas of the resort. The rooms in the Grand section are spacious and impeccably clean. The King size beds are wonderful and provide the best sleep! The staff and the amenities are wonderful too! We had 2 wonderful dinners at the Palapa Delfines outdoor restaurant and bar. Angel made sure our time there was special by setting us special 'Canadian' dinner setting of white table cloth and red napkins. Our servers Salvador, Jesus, Angelina, Valentino, The 'capitan' Armando, The amazing chefs Julio and Adrian all made our experiences there so wonderful. One day when my friend and I were badly sunburned, Angelina offered to bring us some Aloe Vera leaves from home, then she realized she was off the next day so Angel brought us some from his home instead. It truly was a lifesaver! The best drink server at a pool you could ever hope to have is Blanca! She remembered us everytime she saw us and brought us our drinks before we could even ask. She made sure we were comfortable all day long and made our pool days perfect. The tours we took were really good, we went with our friends to Wet and Wild and swam with the dolphins (using our resort credits), to Xplore for zip lines and jeep tours and under ground river boating, and on our own we went to Maroma Paradise snorkeling while our friends went to Chichen Itza (very long drive they said but so worth it). The resort credits helped us take in more of the tours but should have been better explained on check in. On the last day we found out we could use up our credits with the Kodak pictures which were taken randomly around the resort. We hadn't seen the photographer around and missed out on this. We did bring home (each couple) a great pair of work out step shoes ($150 value) and a tequila set ($100 value) and a mayan temple pendant. The credits are a good idea to show the value but in previous trips we were just given a folder of what tours were included in the resort. We did manage to use $1100 of our credits. This resort is pricey but so worth it for the condition of the resort, service and care provided by the staff, and the memories made by being a queen and king for a week in the beautiful tropical paradise of Cancun.

Room Tip: We prefer the Grand section, it is quieter and less crowded in the pool areas but there is less sele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jneanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Once upon a time I dreamed of having a wonderful vacation with my wife and friends to celebrate her 50th birthday. I dreamed of checking into our room and having it decorated with balloons, streamers, happy birthday postors and of course flowers. Well what can I say....that dream came true! It all happened thanks to Paulina Vega.

We were able to work with Paulina before we arrived at the Moon and she did a great job. She had our room decorated when we checked in. She had our dinner reservations all set for the entire week. That was really nice when you are traveling with 14 other people. Paulina even had a few special "events" set up for our group after dinner. Paulina just did a wonderful job.

But that was just the start of a wonderful vacation / "birthday tour". The entire week was fun and relaxing. Angel Gonzalez at the Grand Moon arrainged two 7 person vans so our group could take a day trip to Cozumel. He would check the rooms every evening to make sure everything was in place. He called to see if we needed anything during the week. Angel made everyone in our group feel welcomed and relaxed.

We have come to love the Moon Palace for our vacations. The resort is just beautiful. It is always clean and the food is great. It is close to the airport and the hotel zone. The golf, basketball and tennis are great. But what we love the most are the people at the Moon. When we arrive we always get a big smile and hug from Gill and Roberto. Marrim continually brings us food and drinks at the pool all day long...with a smile and a "my pleasure" (my two favorite words).

Overall the Moon Palace is a great place to vacation with family and friends. The resort is beautiful and clean. The food is fantastic and the staff is the best. If you want a smaller resort, you cannot go wrong with any of the other Palace restorts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank damiller96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Moon Palace was a great trip!! I loved the beach and the pools were beautiful! The service was excellent!! If you go you need to ask for waiters Macedonio Sulub and Pablo Felix. They were fabulous! Very nice guys. We asked to sit at their table almost everyday! Overall great trip! highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
8.8 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
18.4 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
29.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,237 reviews
29.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
13.6 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing