We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
canada
1 review
“excellent resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

we enjoyed very much with our first trip to moon palace.Food and services are excellent.Golfying are the best.our favourite bell boy are andres garcia and marco garcia. we will surely recommed all our golfer friends and we will come back again this year .we really have a great time.lie siong

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,984
    4,055
    1,571
    737
    662
See reviews for
8,321
5,646
104
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 12 nights in April 12.
Pros- the service was amazing!!! They went out of their way to do all they could 4u anytime of the day!
The rooms were lovely!! We stayed on the Nizuc side n there was hardly any noise atall with great maid service daily!!
The general cleanliness of the hotel was fantastic n they were constantly updating it daily from every different angle!!
Pools are lovely, however it is very busy on the sunrise side n could never get a bed n they were packed in like sardines!!
The grand side was lovely n much cleaner n better service as less busy!!
Cons- nightlife was non existant!! It really was a let down n finished far too early! As a 26year old we were disappointed n u can't exactly walk put to a nearby bar as Cancun is 30min drive away!!
The restaurants were lovely but with spring break the wait for some restaurants was over an hour n so sometimes were not eating till 9.30pm which was frustrating! You have to book the Italian restaurant and you have to wait an hour during the day missing out on the sunshine to do so! This was at the sunrise side and so was very inconvenient as it was a long way to go to book a restaurant in an all Inc result!!

The bus to beach palace was handy as the beach there is amazing! However the busses only go for 4 hrs which is frustrating n the last one comes back at 9pm which I felt was too early and we couldn't experience the night life there!
Beach at moon palace wasn't nice atall with lots of sea weed even tho they made alot of effort to try and remove it, which unfortunately wasn't successful. It is a shame because Cancun is renound for the beaches but we didn't have a nice one atall.
Overall great service, food and rooms!! But beach and entertainment are a big downfall.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carly190286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great food, great staff, great pools! This was only our second stay in Mexico and the Moon Palace is definitely top of the line. The rooms are a little strange with the near-useless hot tub taking up half the usable free floor space, but overall, I was impressed with the resort. You could always find food by the pool or in the hotel. Most of the rooms have a decent view of the ocean. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We did tip a lot, but never felt like it was expected, unlike the bathroom 'staff' at the airport! Definitely would go again, even though the all-inclusive is a little spendy.
Avoid the 'vacation club' pitch if you can. Next time I will search on Ebay for someone selling their 'vacation club' weeks and go that route and save about $1000 on the week and get a few more things thrown in for free in the process.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We visited this resort for a week over the Easter period and had a lovely stay.
Overall this resort is a solid 4 star resort and the staff were the nicest that we have encountered anywhere, every thank you was answered by "it's a pleasure", which you actually believe!
The pools were plentiful but our favourites were the pools by the Grand section as they had nicer loungers, good bar service and lots of space.
The restaurants were generally good to very good. Our favourite being the oriental in the Sunrise area.
We stayed in the Nizuc area and the room was nice with no grumbles but we had booked the Grand area but this was already full.
There were a couple of niggles (this may be due to it being peak season) but:
for the La Trattoria and Bambu restaurant you now have to prebook in person between 2 to 5 pm in person at the Sunrise....A very long trip if you are by the pool in the Grand. When I booked I waited in line for 1 hour and got the second to last space at La Trattoria. Some people had queued since YES, 11.20 am...geez guys you're on vacation!!!!
We never managed to get a table at Bambu.
The resort credits were hard to keep track of...some agents saying that you have to pay 11% extra off your credits due to tax, others saying not?? Never did get to the bottom of it and left with 300 spare from what we could work out as there seems to be two systems set up...both giving different balances. The trip though were very good.
The only other niggle was the sunbed issue...all the shade gone by 6.30 (luckily we are early risers) this was due to it being Easter though.
Other than that we had a great time and would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We purchased weeks at the Palace Resorts and love Moon Palace. We first stayed on recommendation of friends, then went back as just a couple. We had such a great experience that we took our entire family in November (7 adults, 3 children under the age of 3). The children's pool is perfect for the little ones and the VAST adult pools are incredible. We rented a Presidential Suite for the 2 families with children and it was perfect with the microwave/sink/refrigerator area. There was plenty of room for everyone for meals (we ordered breakfast room service every morning) and just lounging around. The 13 restaurants on site are all very good. Our favorites were the 2 over at the golf course, and you just catch a large golf cart shuttle over and back - no charge. Also, the Japanese Restaurant in the main lobby is fantastic.
The only "con" we had was the beach area. Because of the coral right off shore, there is always a line of seaweed junk at the water's edge. They have a tractor that runs back and forth all day long to keep it picked up, but nevertheless, it's always there. You need to wear water shoes to go into the water because of the rocks and coral. Also, there's an ever-present lifeguard on duty who will blow the whistle on you if you venture out too far. Apparently there's an undertow there that is a bit dangerous.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Moon Palace - especially if you are traveling with your family or large groups.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We visited Moon Palace over spring break and had a wonderful experience. The pool, restaurants and rooms are amazing. The service staff is very attentive. The only think I can complain about is the lack of soundproofing regarding the doors. Every sound is audible from the hallways, and being that the hallways are outside, that becomes a lot of noise, with echoing from the concrete/stone in the hallways. The airconditioning unit is also very loud, resembling a train going through your room each time it comes on. We got used to all of the above as we were at the resort for leisure and had plenty of time for sleep. All in all, the Moon Palace is a wonderful choice for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The family suite is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmum1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My daughter and her family have been 3 times and loved it so much, they convinced us to go with them this year. It was everything that you could want in a very relaxing vacation. Signing up for different things was a little time consuming and hope that improves next year,
Our very favorite waitress on the beach was Lucy Ramos...she was always smiling and so friendly. We couldn't say enough about her. MISS YOU LUCY.
Was told the whole Sunrise is going to be done over by next year...can't wait to see it.The pools and the beach are so fantastic...We sat on the beach, but close to the pool. That way we got to interact with our grandchildren and their friends. Everyone there, staff and vacationers were so friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
8.8 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
29.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,614 reviews
18.3 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
4.9 km away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
19.1 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing