We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Food & services are excellent!!! Had a great time...very big resort...next time will bring some friends/family as there was too much fun for the two of us!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carcarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13,867
    4,277
    1,656
    765
    685
See reviews for
8,956
5,985
113
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,021)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Moon Palace for a week in Feb. We both loved it.

Arrival was nice and smooth, quick check in and great service. Mario gave us a mini tour on the way to our room which was nice to get a bit of info so we knew where to go.

Our room was beautiful, nice big bed and a double jetted tub with a view of the ocean. room was clean.

Grounds are so clean, the staff works really hard to make sure everything looks good. They always seem busy working away.

Staff is super friendly, everyone say "Hola" as they walk past etc.

Pools are huge, lots of seats. There is drink service around the Pool. We spent lots of time around the swim up bar. Staff work hard to make sure your drinks are taken care of. Erik makes awesome drinks. He made different drinks all the time to try, so that was fun. We had met people from all over and it was a great place to chat and make new friends

Food was good, lots to choose from. I like that you don't have to make reservations, you just go up when you want and either gt seated or they have pagers like local places and it lights up when they have a table. Our waits were never long. The buffet had lots to choose from and food turned around quickly so it was fresh and hot.

Resort Credits. These are a nice touch. We used ours to upgrade our room, swim with the Dolphins, Romantic Dinner, Couples Massage at the Spa. There are lots of options to use these.

Beach is nice to walk on, The water has lots of weeds. We went to the Beach Palace one day to play in the Ocean. Was a fun day. You can also Parasail and JEt Ski from the beach right out front.

We loved the Moon Palace so much we are going back with friends in May. Our experience with the staff to help book our trip has been great. Quick replies on E-Mail and very helpful to set things up for us. We met Norma [who is on this board often] while there and she was very helpful in our new booking as well. Thanks Norma.

Overall the Moon Palace is a great resort I highly recommend. I have been to many resorts in the area and booked again at the Moon Palace for May. If you choose to go to the Moon you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Use resort credits to upgrade room if available. We stayed in the Nuzic section
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepsipeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canastota, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have stayed at the Moon Palace many times over the last nine years. Ultimately we purchased a time share with Palace Resorts. I can't say enough about this resort. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They are friendly, professional and attentative. From the moment checking in until check out the staff will do whatever is needed to assure your vacation incredible. Our consigliere Javier was very helpful in arranging all our services and activities for the week, and follow up with us to make sure all was as expected and to our satisfaction etc. We stay on the Nizuc side as it's atmosphere is what we like. It's a bit more quiet than the Sunrise side and not as quiet as the Grand Moon side, but that is all preference. The restuarants were also very good. 10 total on the resort giving many choices to select from. From elegant dinning to casual. We enjoyed them all. Great food and service. The Palapa Defines restuarant on the Nizuc side is located near the beach. We like the layed back atmosphere and food there . Steak, chicken and fish always tastey. The staff was incredible, we came to know some of the wait staff , Valentin, Angel and Jazime. They all were so very attentive and friendly and made our dining experience so enjoyable. The chef Julio prepared our dinners to our liking and the manager Ana always paid a visit to our table to make sure we were happy with everything. I cant say enough about them.

One evening we had a private romantic dinner on the roof balcony. 4 Courses with Lobster being the main course. A saxophone player provided elegant music and the staff was great.

The beach area is beautiful and the sand clean. If you are a swimmer you may want to select Beach palace instead. The beach is more beatiful, but the resort is smaller with less activities.

The rooms are clean and always stocked with our favorite beverages and the house keeping staff does a great job. We stayed in Mono / Nizuc and our Maid Enita was incredible.

We are already planning our next trip. Although we are partial to the Moon Palace any of the Palace Resorts are top notch.

Room Tip: Depending on what your tastes are. The rooms on the Grand Moon side are newer and a little larger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

"It's a pleasure" This is what you will here at all of Palace Resorts. We were treated royally. We had no complaints from the time that we arrived until the time that we left. We traveled with 2 children. In the Gym we were greeted each day with a beautiful smile from Nelida Valencia Garcia. She always made my son and me feel welcomed to the facility. She even got my son to do Zumba! Although I myself only used the up to date equipment and didn't partake in the classes that Nelida instructed, I couldn't help but notice how Nelida ALWAYS kept a smile on her face, never ran out of energy just seemed to very much enjoy her responsibilties. I hope to see Nelida next year.

Betty & Jace

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Bit delayed but we visited the moon palace in Sep 2007. This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
The rooms are spotlessly clean. Definately 5 star - Amazing walk in marble shower. The biggest double bed i have ever seen. so much so when we got home we got a super king size one!!!
The hotel itself is on beautiful grounds, The food was the best all inclusive food that i have ever had! You can book in once a week to a couple of restaurants - all in all there were atleast 9 restaurants and that was just in the sunrise side, there are two more parts to the hotel which you can eat in too.
Have never been spoilt so much in my like and waited on like royalty!
Staff are amazing, so polite and continuously walk around all day getting your drinks for you by the pool!
Such a relaxing holiday which is what we wanted, away from all the hectic nightlife of cancun.
The only critisism we had was that the sea was not clear blue like in the heart of cancun as the hotel is close to reefs in the sea. If i could i would have visited this hotel every year!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee AndVick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We just returned from the palace, we were there April 6-13.
Cons- we found the food for just ok, nothing fantastic just ok, but we recognise that everyone has different tastes. What we did not like was that we had to travel to another part of the resort of stand in line to make a reservation for the 2 restaurants at the golf course. We refused to do this.
- the bath tub in the middle of the room is not needed, big and ugly and takes up a lot of room.
Pros- it is large, so you can take long walks in the evening, borrow bikes (free) and has lots of space so that you never feel cramped
-we thought the daily activities were lots of fun, always something going on
-staff were super friendly
-great breeze that comes off the ocean, cools everything down
-lovely array of drinks and brand names too
-good service from staff, making up rooms etc
-great cafe for snacks and lunch options
You can take the bus into town and use the other 2/3 palaces for the day, gives you something different to do

Room Tip: Dont spent the extra money on upgrading to ocean view unless you know exactly where you will be plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraJaneC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is very upscale with all the ammenities. Great spot for anyone who wants to get away to site see, plan activities or just relax . I have been to this resort four times and will continue to go.

Room Tip: I like staying at the nizuc or sunrise with an ocean view or pool view. You are much closer to all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
8.8 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,234 reviews
18.4 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
13.6 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,873 reviews
19.1 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,538 reviews
28.9 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing