We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful, in Hotel zone amidst chain giants!!”
Review of Grand Royal Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Royal Lagoon
Ranked #119 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I had a really hard time faulting our 5 night stay here, I really enjoyed it knowing many guests along 'hotel zone' would be paying per night what cost us for our bargainous 5 nights! Room was clean and tidy with free in room safe. Breakfast was good with choice of egg or pancakes along with tea. coffee, juice and toast all made better by the happy gentleman server.
Internet was faulty on day one but came back online for the remaining time we were there and the pool was pretty cold, but thats hardly an issue probably just me being a big girl!

Great way to save money for you days and nights out!

Room Tip: View of the pool or lagoon was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidp20v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

very good value for short stay but certainly no frills hotel.
reasonable location.
basic amenities.
wouldn't bother with the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

this smaller hotel is pretty close to some of the big resorts but, this is a very modest place. on this trip, i just wanted to hang out at the beach and see the ruins in chichen itza. the hotel is not a big mega resort and doesn't have it's own beach like a lot of the places down there, but there is a public beach(playa tortugas about 15 minute walk from the hotel). you can always go to the other beaches at resorts if you like...it's not like anybody really cares or will know(unless you act like you don't belong there). there are a few places around the corner from the hotel...some small places to eat that are open early, a place to do laundry, a farmacia(grocery store), a sushi place. you can walk about 10 minutes and get to several other places...or take a taxi...whatever you are into. the hotel has a very small pool and a little outside cabana type place to eat. i didn't try it, but it seemed ok. my room had a comfortable king size bed, an old tv that worked and clean towels in the bathroom.

in all i would say...go ahead and stay here if you can get a good deal around $30 US a night or less..but, if you are looking for a luxury experience...you may want to shop around somewhere else.

also, the guy at the front desk was very helpful and laidback.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thezackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I booked 3 rooms at this hotel months ago. We were travelling as a group, and none of us had ever been to Cancun before. We pretty much were just passing through, but we wanted a decent place to rest for a couple nights and have some time at the beach. I was a little nervous about booking a place that was so cheap, but I read through at least a hundred reviews, and I decided to go for it. It was a great decision! It's definitely not the right hotel if you are looking for luxury, but it was clean, comfortable, and a short walk to the beach. We had no problems at check-in, our reservation was right in the computer, and everything went smoothly. The breakfast that was included was great: choice of pancakes, quesadillas, or omelettes, a plate of fruit, and juice and coffee. The hotel is also close to a small shopping center where you can find food for decent price, if like us, you are looking to save money. The hotel met our needs perfectly, and I still can't believe how little we paid for it. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania0642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

i use to live in mexico cancun and i was wondering how was this hotel! Finally got vacation and ad stay there. Very nice location to walk distance to laundry, restaurant, farmacie, good food, golf etc. Staff is good when you tip good, free wifi in the room perfect for Iphone, Take the option to have american breakfast included!
You can walk to the club ! Good for party or to relax with the clean pool !
i really like it but dont forget the hotel is really not expensive so you pay for what you have. If you want luxe is not your place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mateooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Grand Lagoon
Awful
I stayed at this place based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor. Big Mistake. The small refrigerator had a bashed in ice section and all the racks in it were rusted. There were no lamps on the bed stands just a round florescent light bulb in the ceiling which made it difficult to read in bed. Mold in the bathroom. Plastic bottles and garbage flooting in the “lagoon”. The worst part was a wi-fi connection that would drop out every 6 or 7 minutes and then take 10 minutes to re-establish itself. Small 40 year old TV with few stations. Tiny “safe” to small to put a laptop or much of anything in. There are much better places even for this money.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank stuck-in-snow-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed for one night after getting a late flight into Cancun before leaving for Playa del Carmen the next morning.

Late check in was quick. I upgraded to a room with balcony for $10(total $52us)
The room was nothing special...basic but comfortable. A couple of beds, chairs, table. Small kitchenette that I didn't use. Shower was GREAT. Hot and tons of pressure.
The balcony had a great view of the lagoon. AC worked well.
Breakfast of pancakes was good.
The grounds are small but nice. The pool is really only for lounging and cooling off.
They got me a shuttle to Playa within an hour of asking for a good price.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the clubs/shops.

***At the end of the street is a sandwich shop called Tykuz. Eat there! GREAT baguettes cheap! I've had them on diving trips before and was craving one. Was so happy to find the shop right near the hotel.

I would stay here again if I ever stay in cancun.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaySchwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 km away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#81 of 177 in Cancun
611 reviews
3.7 km away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.9 km away
Suites Costa Blanca
Suites Costa Blanca
#120 of 177 in Cancun
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mayafair Design Hotel
Mayafair Design Hotel
#150 of 177 in Cancun
154 reviews
7.3 km away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 177 in Cancun
438 reviews
8.1 km away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#105 of 177 in Cancun
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Lagoon

Address: Calle Quetzal No. 8-A | Boulevard Kukulcán Km 7.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $51 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Royal Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Royal Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Lagoon Cancun
Grand Royal Lagoon Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing