We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kin Mayab

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kin Mayab
Ranked #80 of 183 Hotels in Cancun
Yucatán, México
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient, Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Kin Mayab is directly across from the bus station, which makes it an ideal stopping place for before or after exploring the Yucatan peninsula and Belize. It is economical and offers breakfast service, internet access and a pool for hot season comfort. Travelers to Mérida should know that flights to Cancun from the US are often much cheaper than going directly, and Kin Mayab is the place to stay if you need a break between flight and bus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTripleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    85
    38
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
68
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

very lovely property, welcoming, equipped kitchen, good rate (about $50), and 2 blocks to bus station. Stayed one night to go dancing in Cancun before going to Playa del Carmen. Only drawback was my room was up 2 floors and courtyard is very dim, stairs wet from rain + high heels = very dangerous! Nice roof deck, quiet, came with fruit, comfortable bed, a/c, what else do u need? Breakfast very tasty, a few bucks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I checked in and the only room they got for me was 3 meters away from the frontdesk.
Day and Nighttime was loud, telephone ringing, conversations, check in....i heard every single word! Never again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

I normally stay at the Hotel Alux when I need to overnight in downtown Cancun; this time I decided to try the Kin Mayab. It is a definite upgrade from the Alux, but also more expensive. Nice large room, comfortable and with good AC, wireless internet and a nice pool area. Overall no complaints; probably would not spend the extra money again however since I spent almost no time in the room, and did not have time to use the pool. For someone who wants to spend more time at the hotel than out in the town, it could be a good option.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed here due to the proximity to the bus station, as we had an early bus. We stayed in the block at the back. it is quiet, but I was glad I was with someone when walking back there.
The free internet in the lobby is useful, and water was always available. I would happily go back there for a night or two if I was in Cancun, but it is not the place to have a longer break.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhNoTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

I stayed at here in early march for 2 nights. It was perfect for what I wanted. It was centrally located to the bus station and the major local bus routes .

My room overlooked the main street on the second floor. The room was as quiet as could be with the patio door closed.

The bus station is one block away. A huge market (Mega) was just two blocks away providing almost anything you could imagine. From in from of the market you could catch the local bus to Puerto Juarez. Puerto Juarez is where you catch the ferry to Isla Mujeres.

There is a nice little restaurant to the left of the front door, but still more or less a part of the property. Across a small alley from that was a bank with an ATM machine.

I ate in the hotels restaurant also. I was not impressed with their breakfasts, but the service was fine.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

This was the first hotel we stayed at as part of a tour group. We were told that this was going to be one of the nicest hotels we would see on the whole trip, to which I thought how am I going to survive the month. But I think our room may not have been as nice, our room was by the pool and you had to walk through the parking lot to get to the room. It was clean, simple and it was very close to the bus station. The restaurants and bars in the area were good and everybody was super friendly. The staff at this hotel were very nice and helpful. There also free internet at the hotel and attached was paid internet which was still very cheap. But in no way was this the nicest hotel we saw on the rest of the journey and we stayed in very basic hotels. I think this hotel is fine if you want a cheap,clean and friendly hostel type of hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#84 of 183 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.2 km away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#77 of 183 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#89 of 183 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Caribe
Hotel Plaza Caribe
#95 of 183 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 km away
Antillano Hotel
Antillano Hotel
#96 of 183 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
#98 of 183 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kin Mayab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kin Mayab

Property: Kin Mayab
Address: Avenida Tulum No 75 Sm 22 Mza | Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kin Mayab 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kin Mayab, is located in downtown Cancun. Its architecture and traditional mexican style decoration, combined with the staff hospitality, offers the guest a friendly and comfortable ambiance. Pool. Restaurant. Air conditioning. Free WiFi internet. Cable TV. Safe deposit boxes. Private balconies. Travel Agency. Parking. Walking distance from bus station, supermarket, bank, ATM and money exchange. Located in the center of Cancun's main thoroughfare, Tulum Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kin Mayab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kin Mayab Cancun
Kin Mayab Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing