We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just returned from a week at The Royal..... Outstanding!!!

Service - couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful people! Thanks Hildago, we enjoyed your service at the pool and on the beach! You ask for it, you get it!

Beach - amazing...very relaxing, the waves were big, but we swam and enjoyed the ocean! Never an issue getting a bed down on the sand.

Food - second to none!! Room service and the magic box was perfect, any time of day! Marie Marie...the chateaubriand was to die for! Pelicanos...one of our friends had plate after plate of calamari! Loved the lasagna! Ask for anything and you got it!! Spice was buffet, always a great selection breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lots of variety, fresh seafood, and everything always tasted delicious. The salsa and guacamole....yum!

Drinks - not watered down! Coffee fraps with baileys and kalhua was the ladies drink choice, as well as dirty monkeys. Lots of cold beer, everything to quench your thirst.

Room - spectacular! We had 739, great views from both sides. The shower is heaven! Loved the turndown service and the stocked room bar. What you see in the pictures is what you get!

Spa\Gym - great facilities, the steam rooms with eucalyptus are wonderful! My fiance and I and others in our group all got massages, and the ladies really are fantastic! Thanks Josephina and Christina.

Entertainment - very good. The Mexican night was great, the dinner fantastic. The pool volleyball is great to watch and play...be careful of the KFC!! The staff allways have activities on the go, but they don't pressure you to participate...and ladies, they are pretty easy on the eyes! Caribbean night on the beach with the dance floor and DJ was awesome, they really go all out!

I will happily return to this hotel, and I plan to next year. I would definately recommend!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshine8513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

As a timeshare owner at the Royal Mayan, another of the Royal Resorts, we traded a week to spend at the newly refurbed Royal Cancun (formerly VCI). The Royal Cancun is squeaky clean from top to bottom as it was refurbished a couple of years ago when the original timeshare leaseholding expired. The service is excellent and very friendly and at the top of the charts as attested by owners and guests who return year after year. I understand that about 30% of the resort has been sold to folks, and the rest of the guests have reserved vacation weeks. Despite the fact (or not) that timeshare sales people are on property to secure sales, there is no push to make you sign on the dotted line. If you want to just relax, have some margaritas, cervezas, and enjoy the excellent beach, no one will bother you. Just a note, as we are owners of two weeks at Royal Mayan, and Royal Haciendas we told our "concierge" that we had no intentions of purchasing another week, He accepted that easily and didn't bother us one moment for the whole week.

Service as mentioned above is outstanding with everyone going the extra mile to make your guest experience memorable. Two for one happy hour starts about 3 pm...even a few minutes earlier. The food is what you get in the hotel zone, nothing too spectacular, steady average continental, american and mexican cuisine. Dinner specials change nightly.

The villa suites are mostly two bedroom/one bath. Flat screen tvs', small balcony, fully equipped kitchen with plates/dishes/glasses for 8 persons. Although 8 persons would be a squeeze at the Royal Cancun. Daily maid service, and know that your villa will be sparkling clean every day.

The only negative I have about the Royal Resorts is that now that have given just about all their employees "american" names. Lloyd, Jason, Denise, James, etc, you get the picture. I find this a little off putting and disrespectful of the Mexican culture by doing this. Let's face it, we can certainly read their name tags, or make an effort to do so, to talk with Miguel, Carlos,
Gloria, and Lorena. After all, we're in their country.

Room Tip: As for rooms in the B building or the buildings facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The entertainment crew at this hotel is the reason we go there!!! Bernardo, Joshua, Armondo and Luis are the best!!! Baach at the beach bar is also one of our favorites! The only thing that I can complain about is the fact they have cut back on straws and ask that you keep yours for your next drink! C'mon this is a 5 star resort!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

When you arrive at check-in, state that you want to pay in pesos with your credit card. The time share people told us that Americans like working in dollars; the time share people automatically think that you do, too. What Americans do not realize is the the exchange rate goes against the dollar value. When we asked at check out to pay in pesos with our credit card we were REFUSED! We were told they could not do that as we did not specify at check-in. In talking to the manager, Claudia, she refused us, also! We were shocked that we were denied this as it is our money! We were therefore charged an additional $50 due to the exchange rate! This time share also gives you a charge limit. When you reach that, you must pay it off to continue. We did not reach that limit until we tried to book a shuttle for our return trip home. For that cost of $20 we were told we had to pay up the accumulated charges, first.. We went to the desk to pay our entire bill as we were checking out anyway. We were refused saying we had to pay the accumulated charges, then we would have to go back to another desk to request the shuttle and finally go back to the main cashier to pay the shuttle fee separately. This is an anal way to approach this particular situation. Despite how hard the rest of the hotel personnel tried to make this a pleasant vacation, it failed big time to rate even a four star with the way payments are made. We have traveled all over the world and have never had to deal with a payment policy like this.
This time share is a decent place to stay: the maid service is exceptional, the villa is nicely appointed (we stayed in a two bedroom/two bath), the food is good but not outstanding. This is a comfortable place, smaller than the hotels farther down in the hotel district. This time share is farther north so we had to take the bus system constantly to go to different activities such as golf, shopping, other restaurants, etc.. This costs about 50 cents one way.

Room Tip: Try for a "C" unit which is located on the top floors. The view is better and you have mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KarenG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read about your problems with check-in. I forwarded a copy of your comments to the resort General Manager and she replied back informing me that she was personally going to contact you to work things out.

Having said that, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our resort and the service provided by our hard working staff.

I appreciate the feedback and hope you give us a chance to welcome you back in the future to show you how we've improved our service at check-in.

Warm regards,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I visited the Royal Cancun for 6 nights with my boyfriend and his mother. We had a great time and were very pleased with the resort. Upon check-in, I asked if we had an ocean view, and they quickly changed our room to accomodate my request. The staff was very friendly, and our conicerge was very helpful. I liked that there were 2 hotel pools, one was more kid friendly, and the other was more adult. We caught fresh fish on an excursion and the Las Palpas restaraunt grilled it up for us and it was delicious. The Market also had very fair prices. Our room included a king bed, two twin beds, and a Murphy Bed, and I think the common spaces in the room would have been large enough to accomodate up to 6 people very easily.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLaymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words towards our resort and staff! I'm sure that fresh catch must have been delicious. If you come back for another stay please come by the tour desk at your resort, where we can suggest more fishing trip ideas and other tours and activities for your enjoyment.

I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from Cancun,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at The Royal Cancun from Jan 10-17 with 3 other members of my husband’s family members, of which two are Real Gold Members. Our first vacation in Mexico (numerous stays in the Dominican Republic) and we truly enjoyed our stay. Upon arrival we upgraded from a standard room to junior royal suite ocean view suite for $140 CDN & it was well worth the view from the 6th floor. Hotel is a short transfer from Cancun (maybe 20 min), beach is incredible even if ocean is a bit too risky for swimming. Also easy to get to to Playa del Carmen from the resort via city bus (R1 bus @ 9 pesos p/person) to downtown Cancun and then transfer via larger bus (via ADO, $10 us round trip p/person) where we visited the other Royal properties, Gran Real Porto & The Royal Cancun Playa del Cancun which are also very nice & right beside the famous shopping at Playa del Carmen.
We also went to the CocoBongo, fantastic show and tons of fun. Bought our tickets via Gaspar at the resort and had decent spot reserved for the hotel guests. See Gasper if you want to go this club, he took very good care of our group, as did our waiter Mauricio.

We definitely recommend this resort, whether via Gold Members or the usual all-inclusive package for all of the following reasons:
- The spectacular hotel & restaurant service;
- The cleanliness of the whole hotel & special touch to make all guests feel so welcomed;
- The ambient music, activities, and great atmosphere that surrounds the resort;
- The night shows in the main lobby and the fantastic 2 beach fiestas we attended organized by the resort;
- All great and huge variety of drinks prepared in the main bar and in the outside area;
- The varied & delicious food of all types: steaks, Caribbean fusion, Asian, Mexican, including no problems with my gluten allergies; the staff went out of their way to make sure my food was appropriate
- The location if you want to go out on a morning/night walk & shopping, shopping shopping!! Not to mention being right across from Bubba Gump Shrimp!
- The great work done by the animation team,and,
- The amazing service from ALL employees.

Our sincere thanks to Angelica, Guest Services, for making our stay so memorable. And to all of the staff, muchos gracias para una vacaciones fantastica! Special thanks to Jonathan at the Coffee House and his co-workers for their excellent service and delicious cafe lattes. Also to the pool concierges Raphael & Ivan and to our waitresses in the lobby bar & by the pool side, you were all so very nice and made our stay that much more enjoyable.

Suzanne Seguin & Paul Vachon, Gatineau, Quebec, CANADA

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

the hotel was excellent overall.
the only issue i want to make everyone aware of in Cancun is to never rent a car anywhere in cancun, playa del carmen . the Mexican Police are outright thieves . they will search out any tourists, pull you over , and demand money, CASH preferably as a bribe in order to let you go on your way. this happened to us on two different vacations there. use public transportation only or boycott the area totally until the government put a halt to this action. i met another traveler at the airport returning home on my flight that had a gun put to his head on the way to the airport by mexican police until he handed over $300.00. my advice to everyone is to stay away from this place. there are far better places to vacation. SCREW MEXICO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay close to the beach and pool, away from the lobby and main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vrodusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.5 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
3.4 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
5.3 km away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,069 reviews
8.0 km away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 177 in Cancun
2,152 reviews
3.1 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $211 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing