We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific 10th Anniversary Trip”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at the Paradisus last year when it was still under Gran Melia but really had a fantastic time. We chose not to do all inclusive and instead elected to eat breakfast in the room and eat the other meals out. The room was nicely appointed and had a large balcony to eat our breakfast on. It claimed an "ocean view" which it did, but you had to go to the edge of the balcony and peer to the left -- otherwise you were really just looking at other people's balconies the next pyramid over. It was a bit of a walk to get anywhere inside the complex for us (being in the vacation club pyramid) but that was okay with us -- a little more exercise. The gym was small but usable. The spa was very nice and clean. We both got a massage but wish we'd tried the fish on your feet treatment. Drinks flow freely around the pool but we found it a bit more difficult to get served on the beach unless you were up beneath the blowy tent things to the left of the property looking at the beach. The beach is stunning and clean. Since we like to get out and about and off hotel grounds, the location of this resort, so far down the Cancun strip was a little far away from things to make a trip out convenient. However, directly across the street is a recreation "store" that we used to do a mangrove tour. This was great fun -- a little two person boat that you drive in a line (but nicely spread out so it's not quite like a "baby" tour) with other folks through a mangrove and out to a reef to snorkle. Really fun. There is a bus stop at the end of a long drive out of the hotel grounds which we took in to Cancun City several times during our stay. We would certainly stay here again. It was SO huge it was a bit impersonal, but the niceness of the place convinced us that we'd come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,280 - 6,286 of 10,040 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed in an ocean view junior suite in pyramid 5 which is royal service. Our room was nice and cleaned daily. Our butler Daniel made sure everything was taken care of. Our dining reservations were handled by the royal service desk without a hitch. We stayed when it wasn't that busy so I think they were even more attentive! The staff went out of there way. The Bali beds are free in royal service area and $25 by the regular pool. Juan by the pool set us up everyday. one day they brought us a bottle of wine by the beach. I found every person that worked at the Paradisus to be above and beyond nice. We tip well....and in return got unbelievable service. If you are looking to party then the main pool is the place to be....if you are looking for quiet, romantic...no kids...than the private royal service pool is the way to go! Food is typical Mexican , nothing really was spectacular ...but I was always full and Karina Reyes who services the royal service area always made sure I had drinks before bed.....she has 2 kids age 2 and 4 and says...they are like a category 5 hurricane! She made my stay extra special!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank toni l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My husband and I traveled from December 19 through the 25, 2012. We stayed at Paradisus recommended by my sister from NY. I have to say, if you go to Cancun and stay here, you must do the all inclusive package. The buffet food was great! the bbq by the pool was great and eventhough tips are included, always tip if you want to get extra attention/service. If you want to go to the other restaurants at Paradisus, make your reservations when you first check in. Most of the reservations I learned are pretty much booked by the "Club Melia" representatives to lure more members for their time share. If you have any problems with the hotel, insist in talking to managers they will work out your problem right away. The hotel is beautiful but stay away from building 1, it is very old as well as the rooms. We had a situation and it was solved by the management department. Thank you Director of Experience Fred Boutoba and concierge named Daniel, (from Guatemala) for all of your help. All the employees are very well manered and cordial. We can't wait to come back to Paradisus this coming Christmas.

Room Tip: stay away from tower 1, wee were moved 3 times and tower 3 was the best and more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGEDA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We went in the last years in many 5* in Riviera Maya and this is the top one,we were in royal service section, full services and attention. Surprisingly no Mexican music around, only lounge style music in background, personally I prefer to feel to be in Mexico with at least some Mexican music... If you like walking on the beach you can do it for hours from this hotel (bring some water!) You can take a bus in front of the hotel (R1) for 15 pesos (about $1) to go downtown (15 min) or shopping (5 min.).Only small complain the(free)wireless internet speed was slow, don't know if this was because of the room location. Hint: Choose Royal service for the private pool with Bali bed! Have fun!

Room Tip: Choose Royal service for the private pool with Bali bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JACK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We are still here....sitting on the beach in the Royal service area....We read that royal servicev was the way to go, so we paid the extra money....in return our check in was a breeze, we had a private butler who made our reservations for dinner, arranged our taxi home and gave us a bottle of champagne, tequila and absolute....the Bali beds are free with royal service....the royal service pool is quiet and the service was excellent. Daniel our butler and Karina the barmaid in the royal service area made our stay extra special....Karina went out of her way every day to bring me drinks! The food was typical for Mexican all inclusive...don't waste the money on tempo...excellent service but it is a sampling menu....u have no choices....and honestly I feel bad even mentioning it because the staff went above and beyond.... Victor made us an awesome cappuccino every morning in the buffet. royal service has it's own place for breakfast, tea and snacks....again Karina every night made us drinks and brought out small things to snack on. Lizabeth in Royal service checked us in and made our dinner reservations....everyone was very very polite. We tip well. And in return got excellent service ! Some people don't tip....I know it's not mandatory to tip....but get a hundred in singles and tip....you will be surprised at the way these people appreciate it! We are planning a trip back!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank toni l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a great stay here during December 2012 for a family members wedding. The hotel and staff were excellent! The buffet restaurant was good..albeit a bit expensive. The Taco bar wasn't the most authentic, but was ok...had a great Mariachi band come by.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators as they are a bit noisy with the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AnB_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Mr. Brett D

Greetings from Paradisus Cancún Resort.

We want to thank you for making our hotel one of your travel destinations. We strive every day to give you the best of us and it is an honor to know that everything has been worthwhile.

All of our services are designed thinking to better serve you and all of our guests, and we are happy to know that all of them have been valuable and made your stay unforgettable.

Be assured that we will be waiting to see you soon and we can ensure that, alike this visit, the others will be wonderful too.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We are in the Melia Vacation Club and spent a great week at the hotel. The construction is done and the hotel is renewed. Great service! Our room was tended to daily and minibar filled. Favorite waiters were Victor in the La Perla and the Market Grill and Antonio in the Bana. Victor is an eager server and is always smiling! He went out of his way to make sure we had guacamole, drinks and excellent, personal service at breakfast and lunch! He needs a promotion! Antonio was very personable and made great recommendations for menu items while making us feel special on our last evening!

Tips.....ask waiters for what you need if not on the menu. Take the city bus to the Kukulcan Mall or Isla Mall on the strip for about 80 cents. About a mile to walk if preferred. Nice aquarium at the La Isla mall but see if you can get discount tickets at the Paradisus first. We paid ten dollars vs. 14 at the aquarium.

Small problem...no ABC, NBC or CBS channels on the TV. Told us the cable company had an order to repair but it never happened. We don't watch much TV but wanted news and a few favorite shows. Only Fox and HBO available.

Overal, the transfer to Paradisus has been smooth. Great memories for us!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on floors three, four or five in tower two if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L0uise1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Mrs.L0uise1960,

Thank you very much for your comments, all of them are valuable to us.

Achieve our guest’s satisfaction is the most important for Paradisus Cancún Resort and our staff are continuously striving to fulfill it, It is very gratifying for us to know that you loved our Service.

We extend apologies if you had a problem with the TV channels, it was definitely a unexpected situation. Your constructive observations will help us guarantee that full attention is given to this matter and that this kind of incident is reviewed by our hotel staff to prevent it from happening again.

We look forward to see you soon again !

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
6.5 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,190 reviews
6.1 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
6.6 km away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: C$325 - C$832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless luxury with an avant-garde flair evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Melia Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Melia Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Melia Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatan Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Melia, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing