We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Negative reviews are crazy, this place is great!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #31 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Negative reviews are crazy, this place is great!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our family of 4 just returned from 1 week at the Riu Cancun this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. We are frequent travelers and have gone to several all inclusives, including Beaches and Sandals resorts, which are significantly more expensive, and are not as good as the Riu Cancun. The negative reviews on the site are either from people who are expecting way too much from an all inclusive resort or people who are just miserable in general because this place is great! This is not the 4 seasons people, but this is a wonderful family resort, and the service and amenities cannot be beat for the price you pay (very inexpensive compared to Beaches or Club Med). Comparing this to a Beaches or Sandals property, the food was better the rooms were better the service was WAY better, the hotel amenities were equivalent and it was half the price of any of those trips. The entertainment staff was great they encouraged you to participate when you wanted to and left you alone if you wanted to be left alone. The bar service was wonderful with waiters and waitresses taking drink orders continuously throughout the day you were never left with an empty drink in your hand .The pool deck area was crowded but you can easily find a lounge chair as long as you go out of a reasonable hour and even if you didn't you could go to the beach, where there was plenty of space and lounge chairs. The food at the main restaurant was really good, especially for an all inclusive. There were some staples, then different themes every night. We never got tired of the variety. The rooms are huge - definitely spend the extra few dollars for a jr suite. You will be happy you did and the location is better than being in the tower (all jr suites are in the 6 story annex overlooking the main pools). I must admit, the elevators are troublesome, so i recommend requesting a low floor regardless of the building you are in. As far as tipping, the people who say it is "required" to get service are crazy. We didnt tip our favorite staff until the day we left and it wouldnt have mattered if we did or not, the service everywhere was OUTSTANDING, this is the best thing about this hotel and can really ruin.a vacation if it is not good. I have NEVER had service as good as the service here. What else? Dont bring your own beach towels, dont bother with thermoses, if you like a soft bed, be prepared as the beds are very firm. All of my family slept great and thought the beds were comfy (we sleep on memory foam at home), but I can see why others might complain about the beds. They are in the process of replacing the beds throughout the hotel, so it shouldnt be an issue for much longer. All in all, I would recommend the Riu Cancun hands down. Book your trip now and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BeachesBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,136
    2,797
    961
    451
    346
See reviews for
1,843
3,983
134
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zman319
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Met expectations- albeit they weren't that high, Would recommend- but you gotta read the reviews, but we won't be staying again- but only because there's a bazillion other choices in Cancun.

The room- booked a junior suite, which is the shorter building to the west. Our 2nd floor room, center of building, had some plusses- much bigger balcony, and downsides- noise from pool area. Now, about the musty odor- our room had it, but from asking around, and considering the dew point, I'm not concerned. Pepsi is the mixer of choice to go with your vodka-rum-tequila and beer (XXs).

Public areas- Well maintained. One oddity- the elevators in our building stopped working after the first night. The posted sign mentioned high winds as the culprit. Funny, they didn't start again when the wind died down.

Restaurants: The buffet is, actually, among the best I've seen... bear with me here: very, very wide selection, catering to the whims and appetites of the Yanks-Brits-Canadians-Brazilians-Germans-Russians-Etc-Etcs. Clean and plentiful, and tasty to boot!

Sit-down restaurants: So, you can only 'book a reservation' three days in advance... but, if you show up a few minutes after opening, and ask politely and quietly, they'll likely 'see what they can do', and ask you come back anywhere from five to twenty minutes later... at which time they'll seat you. This is how we played it. YMMV.

Pool: water. people. alcohol.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown point indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

pretty much not a bad place if you don't mind terrible customer service. If you run across any problems don't rely on management to be of any service because they suck!

Room Tip: plenty of other resorts that can treat you right back out nowwww.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Styed at the Riu Cancun for 1 week in the middle of March. The Hotel is 4 Stars and a bit dated.The room was clean with sheets changed every day, I am sure they were realy nice a few years ago. You had a mini bar in the room with lots of bottled water,beer, bottled soft drinks plus your own optics with local vodka, gin & tequila. I found the foodin the main buffet good and the drinks good also. They gave you Smirnoff Vodka or Gordins gin if you asked for it by name as its kept under the bar. No Jack Daniels ,Jim Beam instead. The red wine was nice also.I found the staff very friendly and spoke good English.
We tried the steak house restaurant and it was nice for a chance but for the steak a bit rubbery.
There are 3 pools, we stay in the quiet pool which was very nice. We didn’t dare go in the pool with a bar in it when you saw the colour of the water at the end of the day,but that’s where all the younge spring breakers hanged out.You could change your pool towels for new ones throughout the day.
You could get free wifi in the lobby for 30mins every day. I payed for 7 days of wifi for £35. I could get the signal all over the hotel including on the beach.
The sports bar was a let down(although they showed English football matches. In there you could get food 24hours which was hotdogs and burgers that you helped yourself to.(They were not that warm) Plus sandwiches in a fridge.
I would recommend this hotel,but I think I will try another next time. It was annoying that you had to keep moving around in the afternoon to catch the sun.
We went with Thompson and found the transfer good as the bus only when to our hotel. The reps who were in the hotel all day very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing, but as there are other buildings in the way you need to be on the 10 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crisonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just returned from Spring Break with a large group of families with children ranging from 10 to 17 years. There were intoxicated college Spring Breakers falling over everywhere and there was alcohol in every room. Too many temptations for teenagers. After we returned we have found that the teenagers were served alcohol at the bars (even with their wristbands indicating they were underage). When we arrived the restaurants were booked for the next three nights. When we finally got a reservation, the food was really bad. Breakfast was good and lunch was ok. We ended up eating out almost every night. The rooms were very musty smelling (very, very strong odor). We told management several times and nothing was done about it. The rooms were worn down. Old stained comforters. We had a very thick mattress pad, so the bed was comfortable. The maid service was very good. They worked very hard to keep the resort clean. The beach is wide and very nice and there were plenty of chairs and the pool activities were fun. We did a resort scuba dive certification with the group located at the resort. It was a great experience. The highlight of the trip. We took a chance on this resort as it was reasonable, but you get what you pay for (and less). I do not recommend this resort with pre-teen or teen children and if you are a foodie and like top shelf drinks, don't even think about it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastalescape77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I travelled with my boyfriend in September 2011 we are both in our 20's. We LOVED this holiday it was pure luxury. A little nervous before travelling to Mexico about the safety but Cancun was beautiful, the clear blue sea and white sands is enough to take your breath away. The food was fab always found something to eat at any time of day!!(not the best in the sports bar but hey if your really hungry its fine) Amazing cocktails at the bars, purple rain and miami vice are a must :P. The staff could not do more for you, SO friendly. They work so hard, at the restaurant at 7am and there when you go to dinner at 8pm, being served drinks on the beach so u havent got to move was a massive plus, felt like royalty!
We did a few trips wilst there: BAR CRAWL. not your average bar crawl it was amazing. The bars and clubs are so sophisticated and coco bongos is a mustttt for all age groups. SPEEDBOAT TRIP: My boyfriend loved this, i was a little scared!! It was amazing seeing all the mangroves and stopping off to snorkle next to all the fishes was a once in a life time opp. I was scared due to the fact the speed boat was fast and not being on one before!
PIRATE OF THE CARIBEAN. This is a boat trip which we thoroughly enjoyed!! The waiters are always there to top up your drink and was a real laugh!

Negatives. The only very minor things i would say is the water does have a slight odour in mexico. The rooms are slightly dated with decor however still very spacious and massive comfy bed. Tips are a must

would go back tomorrow such a good holiday!!!!

Room Tip: we were on the 11th floor and the views were magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrow in furness cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

with now that i have stayed at both riu hotels in cancun,i can be helpfull to anybody who is wanting to choose any one of them to stay at.they both have there pros and cons.depending on what type of holiday you are looking for.iff you are looking for a holiday which is more livelly you are best to stay at the riu cancun as is right in the heart of the nightlife.plus has its own nightclub in the hotel.which varies from night to night.one night maybe just a few people in it then another night can be very full.iff you like sunbathing then i definatelly would choose the riu caribe as i found it to have a much nicer and bigger part of beach.plus you get the sun from morning till goes down.where at the riu cancun you are lucky iff you get the sun after 2 oclock it is only on one part of the beach after that and everybody flocks to it.and that is on the rocks so i found that part dissapointing.no sun at all around the swimming pools after that time.for the entertainment i would say they both at the same standards,which there is something on everyday and night.the entertainment team work very hard at both hotels.for the food they both at the same standard too.i found the riu caribe had a much nicer view from your balcony.and wouldnt matter which room you were in they all have the same view.as in the riu cancun no all rooms different views and not as nice as i did meet people and they were in different part of hotel to me and i see what there view was like too.so iff anybody would like to know more just get in touch with me through my email address and i ill gladly tell you anything you would like to know vanessa

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank briness9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.1 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#45 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,276 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.4 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
2.9 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing