We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall not a bad week at RPLA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

So, we stayed at the RPLA May 8-14th for our anniversary. Here is our review: We arrived after 6pm and check in was a breeze. I asked to be given a king bed since it was our 15th anniversary,and was hoping to get a nicer room - but was given room 135 which is on the first floor - barely had a view of the ocean and was right over the lobby. The entire first floor was moldy smelling, luckily the room wasn't so bad. I was happy to have a king bed, and I am not one to complain but it was a little disappointing.

Lets start with the cons: the headboard was not screwed into the wall, which made for some loud noises when doing anything on the bed, even just sitting down. We finally figured out to wedge a hand towel behind it to dampen the noise. Talking with another couple, they had the headboard actually fall over on them while they were sleeping, so we avoided that thank goodness. No light in the shower. It was so dark in there, it was almost dangerous. No shade out on the beach. A couple of umbrellas would have been nice, although the beach is pretty small so it would be a bit more cramped. Our biggest complaint by far was the bed - I mean firm is one thing, but I felt like we were sleeping on the tile floor instead of the bed. Literally, my shoulders and hips felt so bruised it was like someone was punching me in the arm. It was hard to get a decent nights sleep, I woke up every 15 minutes because I had to move. Not a relaxing way to spend a vacation! You know its bad when the lounge chair pads out by the pool are more comfortable, which is where we took naps during the day. My husband even went so far as to sleep on the couch the last night because he couldn't take the firm mattress anymore. Come on RIU, invest in some tempurpedic mattress toppers for goodness sakes! I had TWO mattress toppers on the bed, and it still didn't help!

PROS: Service. Every person who works there is happy to be there and they want to help you. We tipped our waiters and maid, and it helped I think. The wait staff remembered us and had drinks waiting, got our favorite foods, etc. Ernesto at the outside bar - you are the el heffe. Rebecca at lunch and dinner - outstanding customer service. They did it all and with a smile! The room was always clean and the frig stocked. Location. The hotel is centrally located to Senor Frogs, Coco Bongo, etc so for night life excursions, it is great. There are several malls and flea markets across the street for shopping. Beach. The beach is amazing. We walked several places and the beach at RPLA is outstanding, albeit small. The sand was like powder and white. Food. Food was good on the buffet, and there was always enough choices you could find something to your liking. Room service was quick, but the food was OK at best. We ate at three al a carte restaurants and Krystal had the best food by far. The steak place was good, although the lobster and the filet were tiny. The Brazilian one was decent, although it felt like they rushed you out of there if you had an early seating.

Overall, it was a good vacation. Would I go back? Not unless they change the mattresses. I just can't spend that kind of money and not get a decent nights sleep. Which is sad, because the staff is great and that makes a big difference for us.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a oceanview room, floors 4-6 for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMRosenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,917 - 2,923 of 6,833 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

The best place to stay. Service was great.The food was wonderful. The buffet had so many options it wasn't a problem to eat there. The pools were beautiful as well as the grounds. The entertainment staff rocked and really made for some fun times. I definately recommend the Riu Palace Las Americas..!!!

Room Tip: Facing the ocean and the pool..;) Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USPhotoNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We checked in on the 21st of April this year and ill be honest when you turn up at the hotel it really is stunning, the food isnt that good you had to book the restaurants in the morning (standing in a line for half hour is a great way to start the day) when your in the restaurants its like at school everyone eats at the same time e.g everyones staters come out then there cleared then the main comes out then its cleared the mexican was awful how weird is that go to mexico and have a bad mexican.

While you are there you feel like a king drinks are constantly being refilled the staff are very friendly and the grounds of the hotel are stunning.

There are 2 pools one very quite and one which is crazy but a real good laugh.

Rooms are lovely didnt smell this bad smell that others have spoke about, our shower didnt work so we had to use the one in the bath area.

Coco bongo/hardrock cafe is a 5 minute walk with shops and bars opposite the hotel.

I would deffo stop here again had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Room 825 view is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orrywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

"Grand" is the word I would use to describe our first impression. Inviting lobby with fans moving the air around the stately palms and marble pillars; Glistening woodwork crowned by a stained glass canopy on the ceiling; Live piano music wafting from the adjacent room. There was a pool for every type of visitor. A more relaxing, reserved infinity pool surrounded by cushion-cladded cabanas. Another infinity pool that was closer to the "action", boasted in-pool bar seating, afternoon activities for the younger set (such as watervolley ball and football throwing contests), piped-in music, several bars, plus a gorgeous view of the ocean. The resort also features many places to sunbathe or relax on the palm-tree terraces or the beach. Several guest opted to sunbathe topless. There were waiters in all areas, but they did not seem to be around as often as the guests had hoped. Often time we would get up and walk over to one of the bars, rather than wait for a waiter to approach us. The drinks were great and you could request Call Names, such as jose cuervo or absolut. I opted for Johnny Walker Red and JB Black on the rocks. Always got exactly what I ordered. The seafood offered by the hotel was always amazing - we ate a lot of salmon, calamari and shrimp. Also love the cheese selections on the buffet. (You have to try their blue cheese - amazing!) We're very early risers and we enjoy watching the sun rise, so we often had coffee on the beach while waiting for the breakfast buffet to open. 8AM-ish? Riu Palace Las Americas appeared to have one of the nicest beaches in the area. Very fine white sand (not pebbly or rocky), very clean shoreline (no dead fish or seaweed or debris), and extremely clear water. Amazing colors of water including fantastic hues of greens and blues. Very mild waves during our 5-day visit. Our room was beautiful and well stocked with water, soda and brand-name liquor. Very clean. Most all of the staff were professional, friendly. Just a few problems, including the customer service rep near the front desk (May 5-11, 2012). He was extremely slow, seldomly smiled, seemed to be "bothered" rather than helpful. And a few of the bartenders that worked inside the Poolpit. After spending a few days with them they began to share too much information with us, for example, "We hate this music because we hear the same thing playing everyday." (Hey, that music is for our enjoyment. Let us enjoy it for the few days we're here.) By day five we started to see the small flaws of a frequently-visited building. But we have to admit, they were continually working every day to maintain the building and the ground. We had a fabulous vacation and would happily book this hotel again. A very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

I cant find minuses of these delightful hotel, everything is perfect there:
1) Delicious food and drinks: always a lot of seafood, fresh juices, all international spirits are included;
2) Perfect service: food and drink service is always available on the beach and near swimming pool;
3) Spectacular animation: everyday evening shows with professional actors, dancers and singers;
4) Comfortable location.

The hotel is absolutely fantastic, the only suggestion is not to leave valuable things in the room - my iPhone was stolen. Put everything to the safe.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spacuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from and 8 night stay at Riu Palace Las Americas. We arrived around noon and were promptly checked in, but our room wouldn't be ready until 3 (which it was just as promised.

Our room was on the 5th floor and had a wrap around balcony facing the ocean and the pool, it was perfect.

We found all the staff from the front desk to the maids to the servers very responsive and happy to have us there.

We ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch most days and a couple of dinners. We really enjoyed it. There is a large selection and unless you are a completely pickey eater, you will find lots of good food. We ate ate the fusion, Brazillian, and the steak house. Our favorite was the steak house, but the Brazillian was a close second. As far as reservation, they have somewone taking them in the lobby from 9-4 and we actually just showwed up at the Brazillian restaurant w/o reservations and they had a table and happily sat us.

Pools were beautiful and we spent most of our time at the active pool. Sometines it's hard to get a chair, but the pool staff was always moving chairs to accomidate people if there was room to place a chair.

This was our second stay at a RIU property (Riu Palace Riviera Maya 2011) and we were once again absolutely blown away with everything. We are already plannning our trip for next year.

Room Tip: Corner Room 545 has a wrap around balcony that faces both the ocean and main pool. They upgraded u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dbdrake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

First time to travel to Cancun, for myself and my husband, Loved it!! Could not have asked for a better all inclusive resort. It was my husbands birthday & housekeeping made him a birthday cake out of towels & left it on our bed, the next day they made a heart shape with a swan inside, with flower pedals! Everyone their went above and beyond our expectations, Cant wait for our next visit!!

Room Tip: stayed in oceanview suite, fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.6 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 177 in Cancun
10,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,821 reviews
5.8 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
6.9 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $375 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotels private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing