We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but there a better hotels for same price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #17 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Check in- Speedy with polite staff.
Room- Musty smell, dark old fashioned wood, very large, fab sea views.
Staff- Entertaining staff were good fun. Bar staff served you quickly.
Location- Hotel zone. Could hop on a bus to main nightlife. Across the road from shopping mall.
Food- Buffet, nothing special. The Japanese restaurant was beautiful. Steak House nothing to write home about. All included in the price you pay for your holiday, no cover charges. Had to book 2 days previous at reception-queues could get tedious.
Spa- Wonderful couples beach massage.
Overall experience- 7/10

Mexico is our favourite holiday destination. Had a great time, but the Royal Cancun and the El Dorado's in Riviera Maya beat this place hands down!!

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScoutingLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,828 - 2,834 of 6,754 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from our first holiday in Mexico and i have to say it was a fantastic experience,this was due mainly to the fantastic RIU PALACE HOTEL that we stayed in whilst there,it was our first holiday in a RIU hotel and i have to say it lived up to every expectation,nothing was to much trouble for the staff from the moment we got there till the moment we left,the entertainment staff never had a minute in trying to keep people entertained from 10 in the morning until 11 at night,so a big thank -you to JACK the entertainment boss and his crew of Vanessa,Adrian and Alex, the rooms were spotless and were cleaned every day during our 2 week stay,there was shows on every night,and the selection of food at the hotel is fantastic,something for all tastes with different themed restaraunts every night.hope to return to mexico in the future and if i do i won,t hesitate to stay at the palacein Cancun again. we went with 4 other couples and i know they all feel the same as i do. THANKS AGAIN JACK AND THE REST OF THE STAFF, Willie OBrien, stayed there 20 may - 3rd june.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 243 and it had a great view,and we never heard a thing at night,but for better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william190734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Large hotel at the beach in Cancun hotel strip. The garden however is quite small. For the capacity somehow small swiming pool area. Same as other Riu Palace hotels, good quality and easy to use when you have a Palace bracelet which can be used in all Riu hotels. Nice entrance hall with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeBrander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Let me start this review by saying that prior to our stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas, we had stayed at four other Riu locations, all of which were fantastic - hence why we kept coming back for more. We had high hopes of the Las Americas, and first impressions did not disappoint. We received a warm welcome and a free upgrade to an ocean view junior suite. The room was beautiful, spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the hotel), and we were looking forward to a fantastic fortnight.

Unfortunately, our visit coincided with a number of large groups of young american teens, hell-bent on clubbing all night, and completely lacking any consideration for other guests. On five successive nights we were awoken on numerous occasions between 2am and 6am by returning clubbers screaming, shouting, swearing,and running up and down the corridors. We mentioned the problems at reception and they arranged for us to move rooms. However they could not guarantee that the new room would be any quieter as they did not know who was staying where. The Thomson Rep (Christian) was very helpful and offered to transfer us to the newly opened Riu Palace Peninsula if things did not calm down. We decided to take him up on this offer as we didn't feel we could tolerate another sleepless night, so we reluctantly packed our bags and left.

We had high expectations of the resort, based on our previous experiences, and certainly there were some aspects of our shortened stay which met these expectations. We could not fault the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, and the customer service was its usual high standard. We enjoyed the food, although the Krystal restaurant was closed for refurbishment and temporarily relocated to the Tio Pepe restaurant which did not have the same ambience.

We have never had cause for complaint before and were therefore hugely disappointed and surprised to find ourselves in the middle of an 18 to 30s holiday! It just wasn't the 5-star luxury we had previously experienced - maybe it was just a case of bad timing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FlipflopsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed at the Riu Palace a couple of weeks ago, this being my second trip to Mexico.
Initially myself and my friend thought the hotel was not to the standard of the previous hotel we stayed at, The Royal, Cancun, which was pure luxury. However, although the hotel was dated in places we found the reason Trip Advisor had so many good reviews about it was due to the people, the quality and the food.
Riu Palace had the added benefit of offering an all inclusive package with its sister hotels, one only very recently built. We stayed at The Palace as had no reason to try anything else.
Food - The hotel had various restaurants including the general buffet restaurant. My advice is to book these early, as they only allow 2 sittings, with no room for large quanitites of people. The Japanese restaurant was our favourite, but to be honest they were all good. A brazilian (Cairpirinha is fabulous), Mexican, Italian, Steakhouse (the lobster and steak dinner was fabulous), Japanese (the salmon OMG... WOW!), and Fusion (the steak here is in joint first place with Madinat Jumeira in Dubai for the BEST steak I have EVER tasted, and also the chocolate fondant was beautiful) Without doubt some great quality food, the breakfast buffet - Amazing..... and lunch buffet.... I could have sat there all day just eating.
Entertainment - They had something going on ALL the time, and had Plan B for bad weather too. Always things going off in the pool, crazy hour in the afternoon, real interaction from people who genuinely love their jobs. Jack and Vanessa were a great combination of entertainment, and I recommend the Aqua aerobics from all the team as they are all comical. I absolutely would recommend going out with these guys in the evening, we paid NO extra to go into Cocobongos, however we skipped queues, as was put in the best seats in the house, right where all the action was. We have been to Cocobongos before and this place can be rammed, to the point of discomfort and claustrophobia. Going in with the team from the Riu Palace for no extra we got a great place to enjoy the evening.
Rooms were lovely, clean, always well made up, and they sometimes leave you little animals made out of towels which were so cute.
Staff without exception were amazing, smiles from everyone, really happy people, great pool service, especially from our regular pool guy, Enrique. Always so happy to help you with anything you need.
If I was to pick out of this one and the Royal to stay at again, although the Royal was real luxury and in itself an amazing hotel, I think I would still go to this one for the sheer entertainment value and quality of everything else.
Thank you Riu Palace for making this trip a fabulous one xx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cazfoster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We travelled through out Mexico that year and have seen so many hotels, hostels and hammocks that some new hotel could hardly ever surprise us. But RIU Palace Las Americas in Cancun DID! Once we got there after two weeks of bus trips we understood - that was the right choice.
Starting from welcome cocktail and late dinner to your room you woun't be bored, hungry or sober for even a second. Awesome staff, awesome food, unforgetable private beach (better then all that you can reach nearby at list) and such pleasant people around.
Also RIU is arranging weddings and we've seen several while sitting at swimming pool - believe me that was IT-weddings.
So don't waste your time, come to RIU Palace Las Americas for fun and meditation, for gluttony and diet, for joy 24 hours a day!

P.S. Starbucks, shopping malls and Coco Bongo are just 3 minutes away from hotel, so if you ever need to go out from Palace, you won't get lost also)

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are quieter. Choose pool view to get last news)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for two weeks from 7th till the 21st of may. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with cocktails that tasted fantastic. The hotel was very clean and exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were cleaned to a high standard every single day and any extra towels and stuff were never a drama. The restaurant,bar and entertainment staff all made an effort to learn your names and remember where you like to sit, what drinks you liked etc. i cant fault anything about this hotel as everything was brilliiant. will definitly be returning in the summer, cnt reccomend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embem918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 177 in Cancun
10,131 reviews
1.5 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
5.8 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
6.6 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $337 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotels private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing