We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,586)
Filter reviews
7,586 results
Traveller rating
4,871
1,752
561
223
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,871
1,752
561
223
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviews musty smell el romero japanese restaurant specialty restaurants ocean view swim up bar coco bongo mattress pad steak quiet pool make reservations wrap around balcony activity pool hotel is beautiful liquor dispenser junior suite dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 7,586 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017

From the time you walk in until the time you leave, this resort is extremely wonderful. This is a top notch, all inclusive resort that is very worth staying at. It is an amazing private beach area. The rooms were extremely beautiful with ocean views. Extremely relaxing vacation. I would HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone going to Cancun who wants an all inclusive vacation.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017

the property is beautiful, The pools are very well maintained. Plenty of activity in one pool, while the other two are quiet. The beach area is a little weedy but the sand is well maintained. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The staff outside was very good. Good drinks. The room was larger than I anticipated. Nice ocean view. Service was perfect here also. The front desk associates were very helpful and polite. My wife hurt her foot while we were there and the staff went beyond norm to assist. We traveled with 14 people in our group. All were happy.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

Wow!!! What a wonderful Resort!!

Number one...all inclusive....drinks are delicious, staff is friendly, food is fresh and amazing (I'll go into detail on the food/restaurants later).

Number two Adults only!!!! At times the pool by the swim up bar got a little MTV spring break-ish and a few bachelorettes got out of hand, but if your sick of this atmosphere there are two other pools to chose from...the middle/main pool and the super quiet side pool.

Number three the restaurants and buffet. Breakfast buffet is fricken amazing!!! Made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, fresh squeezed juices, mimosas, coffee...I recommend you get everything in shifts so the food stays hot.

Lunch you can snack at the 24/7 cafe, the lunch buffet, the Italian restaurant or even the poolside buffet.

Dinner is just so wonderful and from what I'm told much quicker..the format has changed from a few menu selections to now about 3/4. This helps keep the entrees fresh and tables turn quickly. They no longer accept reservations, they give you a beeper and you can go to the bar for a few pre-dinner drinks. Once seated you choose your entree. Your salad/soup and appetizers arrive at the table, then your entree and then your desert. Mexican Restaurant is much improved from last year, I absolutely loved the Italian Restaurant and Steakhouse...then there is the amazing Crystal Room for a special dinner.

Please bring money for tips. The people that work here work double shifts, work so hard and get paid hardly anything. Tip your housekeeping daily...staff does rotate, don't wait til your last day.

I recommend you bring a thermal cup as to not drink out of the plastic cups which melt in the hot sun. Also buy one of those water proof pouches for your phone to take fun photos by the pool.

Enjoy your stay here....I can't wait to go back!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank JulesNox4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at 2 other Riu all inclusive and they were nice, no complaints, but we Loved Riu Las American. Every one there was so friendly, the place was Spotless & the food was really good. We Also really liked two of the bartenders Linguini & Ernesto. They were so up beat & funny ! We will definitely be back !!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikenH366RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

The Riu is beautiful...rooms and service are exceptional. Entertainment and activities are fair at best. Food is typical of Mexican resorts. Great variety of choices. I gave it a 4 star rating because of the cleanliness and exceptional staff

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews