We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,596)
Filter reviews
7,596 results
Traveller rating
4,877
1,755
561
223
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,877
1,755
561
223
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews musty smell el romero japanese restaurant specialty restaurants ocean view swim up bar coco bongo mattress pad steak quiet pool make reservations wrap around balcony activity pool hotel is beautiful liquor dispenser junior suite dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 7,596 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best hotel ever no children. Food and service top notch. You need to go. Very clean. The staff cannot do enough. Restaurants food is delicious. Very clean.
Found our new paradise. 3 time there would go back. It’s not cheap but so worth it.

Room tip: Ocean view.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fowlerbrenda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a rough couple of months with family issues, my husband and I booked a spur of the moment trip to Cancun for a much needed getaway. We booked from Nov 2-7,2018. Riu Palace Las Americas was exactly what we needed to reset and recharge. The property was always clean or being cleaned. The staff always greeted us with a smile and offered assistance. The entertainment staff was fun and energetic without being over the top! (In other words you could still have a conversation at the pool) The nightly show was fun too! Food was great..good variety. Waiters always remembered us and what we were drinking. Highly recommend! We will be back.

Room tip: spend the money and get the ocean view!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tourist193628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I just returned from this resort. This was our 6th Caribbean trip over the last 4 years. We have stayed at a RIU hotel before (in Jamaica) and have been to Cancun before (but not at a RIU). This place was amazing! We had a corner room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. You could sit up in bed and see the ocean! In addition to the beautiful room and view, the food was actually very good, and every employee that we dealt with was helpful and friendly. The property as immaculate and newly renovated. We also liked that it catered to many age groups and tastes. If you wanted loud music and pool games you came to the right place. If you wanted to swim in a quiet pool or read in the shade, you were still in the right place. And If you were like us, and preferred to lay on the beach and swim in the ocean, this was still the place for you! I would definitely recommend this resort to any adults looking for a beautiful, classy hotel in paradise!

Date of stay: November 2018
5  Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We picked the RIU Palace Las America’s to celebrate my husbands 50th Birthday! This was our 11th all inclusive experience & our 6th trip to a RIU.

No matter how much we love a place we have never repeated a resort! So many places to go! We are RIU class members and have never had a RIU disapoint us.
This was the most we have ever paid for a RIU, but it was my husbands special occasion so we splurged. After several attempts at trying to get a room with a good view Felix was a big help getting us an acceptable room. Both my travel agent & I e-mailed the resort ahead of time hoping they would have a ‘birthday room’ ready for him. I had to go back down and ask for a bottle of champagne to be delivered for his birthday & I was expecting the room to be decorated for his birthday at least one day? Other RIU’s we have stayed at have always gone above & beyond. He was given a special birthday cake at the Black & White and that was very nice.

That being said we had a very nice stay. Yes, the rooms are damp & musty, but you honestly smell that the second you get off the plane..,you are in the Caribbean! This being an adult only resort seemed to mean age 40 and up. Very few young people. We may be 50, but we were a little bored. We went next door to the RIU Cancun several times just to have a little noise. We also walked downtown on Halloween & had a blast! It was always easy to get a drink and every server was wonderful...especially Julien at the pool bar! Food was good, but all RIU food seems to be the same. No complaints...always good. Was just hoping for something a little different. I wish they would of had a ala cart breakfast restaurant. Buffet breakfast is so busy & loud. Most mornings we just ordered fruit & coffee to our room or went to the lounge. Never went for the lunch buffet & where disappointed that out of 8 days there was only one day they cooked lunch outside...which was excellent! All other RIUs have ‘something’ outside during th day...pizza stand, jerk chicken, burger grill, etc. We really missed having a sports bar, there was a tv in the lounge, but we missed the comerodry during a football game. We loved the lobby bar, the shows where very good, everything was so clean, and all the staff where very nice. The ocean is beautiful & the beach is small & well kept. You won’t walk for miles on the beach....there are many piers and rocks along the way. The servers bring drinks all day long to the beach & pools. The decor in this resort is beautiful. True authentic Mexico! If your looking for the new modern look I would recommend the RIU Palace Penninsula.
If your a mid aged adult looking to relax this is the place for you!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank muchahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Riu Las Americas in Cancun was outstanding! We were there the fist week in November, 2018. The water was crystal clear and truly beautiful. You can see fish and marine life as you swim. No seaweed issues! The beach is lovely and very clean. The sand feels like soft flour as you walk.

The service is excellent, everyone is very attentive in the hotel. The place is immaculate. The shows were nice at night, because there isn't much to do after dinner. You can walk to a shopping and restaurant area in 8 mins for more entertainment near Senior Frogs. There is a nice mall 10 mins by taxi further down with a Ferris wheel and aquarium. These locations were open late. We felt safe in the hotel zone.

The Riu hotel is located on the best piece of beach on that stretch to swim. We walked up and down the beach past several neighboring hotels, as we were curious on our choice.

The hotel eating choices are fantastic and very diverse. The food is plentiful. We loved the outdoor steak house, Italian restaurant, and Krystal. The chefs go out of their way to do elaborate displays on the buffet. The breakfast and dinner buffet shine with ample food choices.

Small tipping goes far to get amazing service around the entire hotel. The employees really care about your experience, they work long days.

*Tips from our experience:
Know the exchange rate so you don't get over-charged, confirm pricing before you take taxis, stick with your tour guides on tours, bring mosquito spray for tours, don't dress flashy on outings around town, stick with other tourists when you walk around at night, don't try random drinks or offerings from vendors outside of the resort, secure your safe and valuables in the room everytime you leave. We had a safe, amazing time, and we can't wait to return.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Roving30677767941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews