We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for anything better”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My sister and I stabbed in the dark and choose GR Solaris - had an awsome time - the staff is GREAT and the Activities Crew made our vacation entertaining

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaBucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,709 - 2,715 of 4,773 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a fantastic time during spring break. Family vacation with 2 other families kids range from 8-19. The entertainment staff was outstanding and they are really what made our trip memorable. The food was okay, not bad not great. Not a big deal, though. There was always plenty to choose from. The hotel itself was very nice, I was a bit worried as we always stay in 5 star hotels but this was still really nice. I would highly recommend this hotel. Occasionally, the entertainment was a bit more "adult" oriented but being a mother of 4 that range from 8-19 My younger ones have already been exposed to too much having teenage siblings. So if you're hypersensitive put your young ones in the kids club.

Room Tip: I was happy we upgraded to an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveLife143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed 9 nites at GR Solaris and was the best holiday for my family. Great food great service and outstanding beach!! Three people from the resort went above and beyond to make our stay a family memory and one that will stay in the minds of all of us and the peoples name are Corona. Vermon and Mykay. These people need to be recognized by the resort executives and be rewarded for their devotion to making everyones holiday memerable!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Ok my wife(24) and I (32) just returned from the Gr Solaris and we couldn't be happier. This was our second trip to this hotel and we can't wait to go back again. The location is perfect it's one of the closest on the strip to the air port! On our second day of the 9 day trip we decided to look into becoming members of Solaris hotels. We were told the tour and sales pitch was going to be 90 mins long and only be longer if we decided we wanted to become members. Our tour guide was great and did everything she was supposed to do for us. Once we got into the sales room the pressure was on. Myself being in car sales for 11 Yrs never felt the pressure but can honestly say that they tried there hardest. At 2 hours in we both just wanted to enjoy trip and left the sales room. (back to this later) The pools, bars, and staff are amazing. Everyone that works there was more than friendly and always said hello. Andres, one of the managers there is one of the biggest assets to the Gr Solaris. Had answers to every question and treated us like VIP!! Abraham........this bartender (outside bar) is hands down our favorite person at GR. Always struck up conversations with us, took some pics with us and was all around perfect at his job. My wife and I being health nuts asked him to mix up a tasty low sugar drink for us......all we could say was WOW!! Marco Polo.......food has certainly gotten better with this trip and they now offer (at an additional charge steak and lobster bonus!) When you go to Marco Polo sit in Gilberto's section, he works his butt off, is funny, and makes sure that you have everything just the way you want it! The ocean wasn't open for 5 days of our trip do to some extremely rough waves but they can't control that.

With three days left Andres found us and said he had a package to join Solaris that would make us happy. We heard him out and an hour later WE WERE MEMBERS!!!! With member ship you get top shelf booze, no charge steak and lobster in marco polo restaurant, ocean view member only rooms, free taxi service and so much more. On top of that we can now go to any Solaris resort and only have to pay airfare!! I would recommend giving these guys the time to go over the package, it's pretty awesome!

The only con's I can give are as follows : need flat screens in rooms, wifi in entire hotel not just lobby, the hamburgers horrible, beds are too firm, bottled water in rooms can't get more than three a day and possibly a lil more night life at the hotel......

Other than that very short list give it a try you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: get ocean view, it's awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brandon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just returned from our trip and had a wonderful stay! The rooms were very nice and the bed was much more comfortable than expected. We had a wonderful view from our balcony. Room service to deliver coffee in the morning and late night snacks was a bonus! The staff was very friendly, but not overbearing. Entertainment staff very good and there was always something to see. We had a couples massage our first day and the spa was great! Food is edible, but bring your sense of adventure here, because there are a lot of things I didn't recognize. Otherwise, plan on lots of bread, fruit and pasta. Dinner shows are highly recommended, the cirque du solaris was amazing! Overall great property, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

GR Solaris Cancun, All-inclusive

General: 6 single adults (age group 31-54) We had a blast at the GR Solaris. Far from perfect, it was an exceptional value and we would all return. Price for our rooms: $220.00 per night for oceanview. That is per room, not per person. All fees & taxes included. (i.e. $110 per person) Price will vary by month & availability. About 15 minutes from airport.

Beach & Drinks: The beach was beautiful. White sand. We loved to play in the waves. Never had a problem finding chaise lounges for all 6 of us. A waitress brought drinks right to your chair. In fact, once while I swimming in the ocean I made a big circle with my finger for a round of drinks & sure enough she remembered just what we were drinking and brought us a round. No top shelf liquor. We were so busy trying all kinds of whacky drinks off their extensive drink menu, we hardly noticed. I loved the Electric Lemonades, Cupids and Rhumbas. Hotel has towel service. Get one towel with your towel card and exchange for clean towels during your stay. When you turn in towel for good, get your card back for checkout to avoid a charge for lost towel. There are vendors wandering the beaches. You will get approached several times but they are not too pesky if you offer a firm no. After a couple days they recognize you and don't bother you anymore.

Entertainment: There was live music & dancing each night in the lobby bar. Great turnout. Lots of fun. There was a show each night the ballroom. Better quality than I expected. Instead of usual hotel staff putting on a 3rd rate show as many do, they actually had trained dancers. I enjoyed the shows. One night there is no show and no band in lobby. They have karioki that night. Shows included, dancing, magic, mime, Michael Jackson tribute.

Check-in: No long lines. Arrived after 3pm so our rooms were ready. Requested rooms were double beds, all 3 rooms. Smoking 1 room. They gave the smokers the non-smoking room and the non-smokers a smoking room. They gave all the girls rooms with double beds. They gave the 2 single (straight) guys traveling together a king bed. All of 3 of would have had to trade rooms to make it work correctly except no one was willing to give up their oceanviews! We had awesome oceanviews. All our rooms were located in different areas of the hotel so each view was different. All excellent.

Sometimes we travel with an odd number of people and this hotel was perfect for that because some rooms have a murphy bed. 3 people could each their own bed. Technically, 5 people could stay in a room if the double beds were to be shared.

Room amenities: Reading lights over each double bed. In room safe. (use your own code) Balconies with 2 comfortable chairs & table. Coffee maker. Refrigerator with 5 beers, 5 bottles of waters, 5 cans of soda refilled daily - no charge. They never missed. Our frig was always full. TV, hairdryer, shampoos, etc. Our TV did not get any channels. My niece said they had channels but they were all in Spanish. We did not care because we always bring a DVD player to hook up to the TV along with a season or two of a favorite TV show. 24 hour room service. No charge. Limited menu. Note that a pizza is just a very small pizza for 1 person. We ordered room service for breakfast twice. Arrived on time with food hot. Loved it.

Pools: Nice large pool with swim-up bar & fun staff. Gets loud in the afternoon when the staff gets the crowd involved in playing some games. Some were pretty funny. There is another pool away from that. The quiet pool and the hot tub is in an adult only area. All ages are allowed at this hotel but it was not overrun with children. More difficult to find chaise lounges at pool. People even put towels on them to claim their territory sometimes hours before showing up. We usually found at least 1. We all six would put our stuff there and then go sit at the pool bar. There are also some loungers usually available at the quiet pool.

Non-motorized water sports: Included, but they are not located on hotel premises. You need to take the free shuttle down the street to the lagoon side of the street where they have a water activity area. There you can use pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers or let them take you out on a small catamaran. If you do not know how to windsurf, they will make you take a lesson. The lesson is an extra charge and takes an hour. Everything else is free. When you are finished there, you walk across the street to the Royal Solaris, a sister property and get the shuttle back. You are also welcome to use the Royal Solaris. You can also reach the Royal Solaris by walking down the beach. When you get back to the GR Solaris the driveway is very steep. Ring the bell at the bottom & they will send down a golf cart to pick you up.

Food: When you arrive guest services will go over the food plan AND try to sell you a time share. We knew that going in so we avoided them. As it turns out they did have some information that would have been useful. We didn't find out until 2nd or 3rd day that there are two dinner buffets on most days. One in the same room they serve breakfast in and the other in the ballroom where a show will follow your dinner. Or if you are a late eater, show may be starting while you are still eating. The other restaurant is Marco Polo and they change the menu nightly. We ate there on Chinese night and French night. On any night there you can order lobster, steak, prime rib from the special menu but have to pay for it. Lobster was $30.00. The steaks less. These extra fee items are not on the regular menu. You have to ask for this menu. On French night, you can get a steak without paying extra. One shows up on the regular menu. To eat at Marco Polo you have to line up 8am in the morning outside the breakfast buffet to get a reservation. I have stayed at quite a few all-inclusives and would have to rate this food the worst I have ever had. Still, I was always able to find something agreeable but nothing memorable the entire trip. I have no opinion on their fish dishes as I don't eat fish. One buffet was all fish and they had 2 stations where they were cooking it fresh for you. There is a snack bar near the pool available most the day. (Burgers, nachos, etc) There is a Deli open 24 hours. Room service is also 24 hours. No charge. Lunch buffet near the pool.

Staff: Great staff. Very friendly. Very helpful. Some of them do not speak English very well. I found even when that was the case, they tried hard until they understood you or got someone else who would. Tipping is allowed and appreciated. We each brought a good supply of singles with us for tipping.

Outside Activities: One of the things I love about visiting Cancun & Playa Del Carmen is the off hotel activities. There is plenty to do in the area. You can party downtown if you like nightlife. Day time you can take a number of side trips, boating, sailing, snorkeling, ruins, parks. Xcaret & Xel-Ha. Our group left on same tour bus with 2 going to 1/2 day Tulum - 1/2 day Xel-Ha. The rest of us elected to spend the entire day at Xel-Ha. You can jump off a high cliff, float down the river on a tube. Do a zip line over the water. The snorkeling here is pretty decent if you go to the far side of the lagoon near the rocks and caves. Park admission includes free food & drinks. Xel-ha has awesome mudslides! We did not like the way GR Solaris made mudslides so we made up for it at Xel-ha. Yum. There are also outside companies right on the beach at GR Solaris to offer jet-ski rentals or para-sailing.

Room Tip: Pay for oceanview. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BermudaBoundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is NOT 4 stars, 3 at best and that's being generous. The hotel is old, the rooms and beds are old, the tv is bubble style (1981 called and wants its tv back), the sun lounges are terrible and the lobby is a retirement village.

Upon check in I was asked if I wanted to pay an extra $30 a night for ocean view, when I already had booked and prepaid an ocean view room. Absolute scammers.

Also, the tour company 'best day' who our original transfers from the airport were from called me at 8am EVERY morning to confirm my transfer back to the airport/book tours. Disgraceful, so much for a sleep in on our vacation.

I stayed at Me by Melia last year and it was amazing. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere better than here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bel_LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Please accept an apology for the situation you had during the check in at the hotel, unfortunately there was a mistake in booking , for that reason we had not records of the payment , which is why the clerk asked if you wanted pay, but it was corrected immediately in the system.

BEST REGARDS,

HOTELES SOLARIS DE MEXICO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,261 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#42 of 177 in Cancun
5,015 reviews
3.7 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.9 km away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 177 in Cancun
2,182 reviews
9.8 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $255 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing