We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GR SOLARIS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #32 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
des moines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GR SOLARIS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I went away for our 10 year. This place was awesome. First off if youa re going plan a romantic dinner 135.00 private candelight so swesome. We got a jetted tub ocean view nice but use tub once. Rooms were clean and very well taken care of. Food was great we have stayed other places and they always seem to just have the same thing every day this had the same hot dogs, pizza, nachos but it had different stuff every day not once was there they same thing wish the burrittos were there more they were great.!!!! Breakfast was awesome. One advice I will give was there is a great on the beach massage place about two or three hotels down for 40.00 we went every day. they rock we go to them every year. I would go back to this hotel in a heart beat oh and the coffee lady betty rocks to those coffess are awesome.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennfier k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    1,352
    532
    217
    146
See reviews for
1,500
1,579
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My friend and I returned from a vacation to the GR Solaris on Friday. Our trip was incredible, minus a FEW setbacks. When I say few, I really do mean few, because overall our experience here was phenomenal. When we arrived, we were greeted by the concierge with smiles and great service. Our room was pretty standard, nothing too fancy, though we didn't expect it to be (nor were we in our room much, anyway so it didn't really matter).

Our experience with the food selection, as many have said, was mediocre. My friend, nor I were picky eaters, so we managed to find something just fine; however, for those of you out there who require a little more of a "wine and dine" experience, this is not the atmosphere for you.

The entertainment staff was amazing!! Jennifer and Ray made us feel so welcomed and involved, it was great! They also ran some awesome volleyball games down on the beach which were so much fun and allowed us to interact with other guests in a great environment.

The nightly entertainment was incredible and so well put together. They also had karaoke in the lobby bar every other night...hysterical! People had so much fun with it! The entertainment staff also help organize trips downtown to the local bars/clubs. The only pitfall was having to find your own transportation home--we noticed the busses were not coming regurlary at 3-4am and had a bit of an issue getting home one night. It was a little bit frightening only because we were two younger girls being approached by many intoxicated tourists/locals on the streets as we were trying to find the bus stop (did not have cash for a taxi because our plan was to take the bus....do yourself a favor and plan ahead and bring extra cash down town for taxi home just in case...they will try to charge you $25, but talk them down to $15--they will comply). We were lucky that we met up with other people from our hotel as they were leaving and were able to hitch a cab with them--SO NICE OF THEM!! All in all, not too impressed with down town, the locals go on tourist nights as well and can been a little "creepy" and "grimy" with the younger crowd we noticed.

The pool/beach area....CANT SAY ENOUGH AMAZING THINGS ABOUT IT!! So beautiful!! The red flags were up our entire trip but once the wind died down on about our 3rd day...it was not too bad to swim in. If you go out past the "dip" you will be standing about knee deep on a sand bar which was nice.

Overall, it was a really nice, relaxing vacation. Everywhere you travel you are bound to experience a few "hiccups" along the way, so that is why I could not rate it a 5, but I would definitely travel back someday and maybe even try out a different room this time (ocean views I heard were incredible).

Room Tip: BOOK/UPGRADE TO OCEAN VIEW! Keep away from the elevators if you want a good night's sleep, so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Awesome Hotel and staff! Everything we expected and more. Looks just like the pictures
On the internet and travel sites. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Obeth and Edgar
were great Mixologists! The food was what we expected from the reviews though. Nothing
special!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean view.... its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macman0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen VA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent service! The bell boys and the wait staff in the bars and restaurants could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyGlenAllenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litteton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My sister and I stabbed in the dark and choose GR Solaris - had an awsome time - the staff is GREAT and the Activities Crew made our vacation entertaining

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaBucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Barrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a fantastic time during spring break. Family vacation with 2 other families kids range from 8-19. The entertainment staff was outstanding and they are really what made our trip memorable. The food was okay, not bad not great. Not a big deal, though. There was always plenty to choose from. The hotel itself was very nice, I was a bit worried as we always stay in 5 star hotels but this was still really nice. I would highly recommend this hotel. Occasionally, the entertainment was a bit more "adult" oriented but being a mother of 4 that range from 8-19 My younger ones have already been exposed to too much having teenage siblings. So if you're hypersensitive put your young ones in the kids club.

Room Tip: I was happy we upgraded to an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveLife143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed 9 nites at GR Solaris and was the best holiday for my family. Great food great service and outstanding beach!! Three people from the resort went above and beyond to make our stay a family memory and one that will stay in the minds of all of us and the peoples name are Corona. Vermon and Mykay. These people need to be recognized by the resort executives and be rewarded for their devotion to making everyones holiday memerable!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
12.7 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.7 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
1.8 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
9.9 km away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#76 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Property: GR Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing