We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel like all other 4* hotel in Cancun”
Review of Gran Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Caribe Resort
Ranked #30 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Hi i went there with almost 30 of my friends. Our 1st impression was WOWWW its on of the most beautiful Cancun hotels at night.

++++= Food was AMAZING

Pool is nice a little bit small but i dont care im there to enjoy beaches and the city :)

If you want to party make sure you hit "The City" on friday and "Coco Bongo" on Sunday ....there is also "mandala"(same owner as the city) they have the best music in my opinion and its a outide club.

Rooms where clean and the hotel itself is quiet(we where the only young people there)

anyways i recomend it no doubt :D

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Gracias for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your experience,

We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous vacation with us

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,620 - 3,626 of 8,420 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Was pouring rain when we arrived; all 3 rooms had water in them. Members only staff virtually ignored us when we went to talk to them. Food was usually lukewarm although it was very tasty. The Lobster restaurant across the street was really good too. The beach and ocean are amazing !! Staff seem disorganized, got different stories from different people although Jonathon at the front desk was AWESOME ! Main pool was good, separate kids area was really nice too. The 24hr food was plain and boring buffet of burgers, hot dogs, some fruit and nachos. All other food places you had to get a table and sit down; they frowned upon taking food out by the pool so that was sort of a hassle. The sport and entertainment staff were stellar and entertaining. The sun care specialist that came every day was very helpful and their products are awesome. I liked that you could charge the purchase of their sun care lotions as well as the gift shop item to your room and then just pay for it all upon checkout. Disappointing that there was no shuttle service to the Aquaworld excursions; had to take the city bus which was okay as it was only a 15min drive but for the amount you pay for all inclusive they could be a little more accommodating. We stayed on the first floor - wouldn't recommend as it's quite noisy. All in all it was okay and our family vacation was fantastic. I wouldn't go back to the resort but would definitely go back to Cancun.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas V, Manager at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear guest:
Thank you for your valuable comments, we inform you that we have reinforced the information in our Front Desk Department. We hope you soon!!!
Cordially,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Usually we go in Oct. not as busy-this trip just happened to be Canadian Spring Break,which meant the hotel was packed-the staff did an amazing job keeping up with everyones needs/wants-from room service to front desk to Bartenders they all did fantastic-yes check-in took lil extra time but the wait was worth it.The Food is still very very bland,i wish the hotel would read what travelers are saying & put a lil more attention & better selection of food-no you are not going to starve but some days hard to figure out what to eat-we did the upgrade to 6th floor & the bed/bedding was perfect well worth the $$$ spent & alot "Quieter" as the college kids were on floors below-if i was that age i would party all night as well =). The beach is huge with plenty of lounge chairs so no worries there.Tipping not required but Greatly Apperciated by the staff.The Lobby bar had wonderful entertainment nightly,which last about till 10 nightly.I would give the hotel a solid 4 Star rating,as i always say*** A Smile & Good Attitude Goes a long ways-Safe Travels & Enjoy you stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodzie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Gracias for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your experience,

We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous vacation with us

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our 10th visit to this hotel (pre- and post hurricane). Everyone and everything was great - the staff is wonderful. Angel - the bell captain - ROCKS. We see him every year.

The facility is in good shape - always clean and plenty of helpful employees. The rooms were clean and the maids very attentive to your needs.

The Italian restaurant was outstanding!! The buffets were different than last year - no grilled fish at the grill stations, I really missed that. They did have fish available, just not fresh grilled. They had an Oriental night buffet that was fantastic.

We had teenagers with us and they were busy with sports and beach activities, although poolside was loud and crazy. I think they could skip the tequila volleyball in the pool each day - the teens wanted to play but shyed away because of the alcohol.

The spa was great and they had people wandering the beach and pool offering to sign you up for massage, in case you didn't have time or remember to do it. That was a great idea. Prices were reasonable.

We saw several weddings performed on the beach. The staff certainly took care of everything and they all looked lovely. They also have a gorgeous chapel overlooking the ocean with floor to ceiling glass windows on 3 sides which would be a good place to be married.

The only thing that bothered me was the push for upgrades when you check in. It seemed a little agressive to me.

We will definitely be there again next year to escape the snow!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSR_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas V, Manager at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind remarks about our IL Pescatore Restaurant. We would like to inform you that this Italian Restaurant was opened three weeks ago and we feel very proud about our services and our staff. We hope you come back soon!!
Cordially,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A group of 8 stayed here to celebrate a 70th birthday. We booked 4 Gran Jr Suite Beachfront Walk Outs through a travel agent that entitled our group special considerations.

Airport - Immigration and customs was a breeze (arrived on a Mon). We waited 15 mins for our private transportation and were given bottled water and a wet nap.

Resort – even though we checked in on-line it still too 2 hours to complete the check in with the concierge. Hated the wrist bands. The service was adequate at the restaurants and bars. Way too many kids, especially babies (stroller, diaper babies). Had to argue with staff to gain access to the elusive “black card” that gave us entrance to THE Royal through the gate on this property. They give you towel cards, yes cards. So stupid. Conveniently it’s located at the excursion desk, where every time you get towels they hassle you to sign up for an activity. Problem. This is the only location on this side of the resort that has towels. Never felt we received Exclusive Royal Service. The Tradewinds closes at 11 pm, but there is one attached to the sushi bar that stays open late. Whenever we complained to staff about any issue we got the shrug. After awhile we turned it into a joke. Guest services and concierge do not use the same reservation systems. TIP. Take your cards to breakfast so you can get the towels before back to your room.

Rooms – 3 of rooms were not located ground level, as described in their literature. When we questioned staff we were told they are walkout “like”. Not all of our rooms had the items in them as described. No ihome or ipod player, no pillow menu, no nightly turndown service. None of the 4 rooms looked like the picture of their web site. This side of the resort has A LOT OF STEPS. Steps to the beach, steps to the main walk, steps to the main pool/restaurants, steps to the spa/24 hr snack bar. A/C is terrible. The bed felt like I was sleeping on a marshmallow. Could hear the Jacuzzi upstairs. The view of the ocean is wonderful and no foot traffic. The water pressure in the shower is the worst I’ve ever encountered. I hated the hair dryer. The curtains let in too much sunlight in the morning. One of the non-smoking rooms smelled terribly of smoke. I had to call everyday for wash cloths. Another room never had their fridge filled. TIP. For hot water in the shower place handle in the middle, not to hot.

Restaurants
Albatros – the buffet restaurant for B, L & D. Good food and little lacking in the service department. A/C is poor. Enjoyed the mango yogurt and granola for breakfast, made to order omelets, french toast and waffles. The fresh fruit was hit or miss. The globes on the lights need to be cleaned, they were filthy. But overall it’s fine.

Gaviota’s was good. The waiter was a little scattered. We had to remind him to bring us the items we ordered. No A/C, but the fans worked fine.

Maria’s the food was very good. No lamb that night, but they replaced it with duck. Which was delicious. Order the Mayan coffee the show is worth it even if you don’t drink coffee. A/C lacking.

Sunset Grill – L & D. Located by the smaller pool. Lunch was fine. Enjoyed the cheese fingers. One night they had steak night and a show. Both were ok. You have to be covered (tees/cover-ups) to eat lunch here.

Asiana – Teppanyaki The food and show were terrific. My mom wore the birthday crown and sash we bought and the staff fawned over her. She loved it. Hey to Leo from CA.

Ocean – nice waves in the morn, in the afternoon they seemed to be larger and more forceful. The ocean floor had no rocks, stones or shells. Soft, soft, soft. And the color was gorgeous (like the pics). You can only enter the ocean in very specific places marked by yellow flags. The claim was under currents, but I suspect it’s like that all the time.

Pools
The towel game was in full swing at the main pool. Not sure when these people get up or maybe they don’t sleep. The loungers early in the day were full, but you could get one later in the day. This was where all the activities occurred. Very loud music and aerobics, volleyball and other assorted games. Bar service here.

The kiddie pool was quieter at times, no loud music. Bar service was adequate. Sunset Grill is located here and has a lunch menu. The water slide is fun for all ages. The inside slide is the faster of the 2. There is a seat that goes around the pool so you can sit and be under the water. This pool was very warm, not refreshing. One night they had a show here and had to lower the water depth and the next day the temp was perfect. At times there are a lot of kids in the pool. TIP. You can get towels from a rolling cart located outside the back of the gift shop. There is also a bathroom here.

The 24 hour VIP lounge was useless. Not worth the walk to the other side of the resort. If you are on-line checking for your flight home go to the staff member at the desk. They are the only one who can print your boarding pass.

The lobby bar had nightly live music.

Room service for breakfast was quick and good. Smallish portions.

The resort delivered a birthday cake for my mom to the wrong room. We had to argue with the front desk on several occasions that could have ruined the trip. Although they claim not to have transportation to their sister resort, we saw a van with their logo on it and a golf cart. Completely disgusted that families with small children would make late (after 8 pm) dinner reservations. Several dinners were spoiled because their children would scream and cry. Why, because the kids should have been in bed.


For what we paid I expected way better services, but overall, I would rate this resort as ok. The staff was not friendly, unless you tipped them. No one in our party will revisit this resort. We will, of course, visit Cancun in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay. We value your comments and feedback immensely.

We very much appreciate you providing us with the areas of opportunity you experienced during your stay as it allows up to see where we need to improve.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and make sure you receive the excellence in service you deserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my first time in Cancun and thanks to everyone at the Gran Caribe Real Hotel I had an "AMAZING TIME" I am looking forward to come back to stay longer. :))

Room Tip: Get the view to the beach, its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaritzaD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

We appreciate your comments and the time you took to describe your stay, our best reward is our guest satisfaction. That keeps us training to be better every day

We are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Where to start, this year will be our 3rd time going back. The first year we didn't know what to expect, but we were amazed at the quality of service we received. Everyone of the employees we had an encounter with was so personable, friendly, went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are perfect! Love the Oceanview!! Our second time staying we thought we might get bored because we had already been there, but to my satisfaction we met some additional bartenders that were just as much if not more entertaining as last trip. Again, I can't say enough about this place, if you are going to Cancun, I would definitely stay here!!! Like I said we are going back again this year for a wedding, can't wait to see what exciting stuff we encounter this year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelandpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Gran CaribeCancun and we very much appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please know we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.0 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 km away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,073 reviews
2.8 km away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.8 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77509, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $252 - $774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing