We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayan Hostel Cancun
Ranked #78 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The pictures definitely do not do the place justice. We stayed in the 'garage' room. If you are well travelled the condition of a hostel should not really bother you. The bathrooms are cleaned every day, free internet, greatest common area (a lot of hostels really lack this), and less than 3 minutes to the street markets :) I found all the other travellers very communal, and had no troubles. I would have stayed longer if I could spare the time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    12
    6
    32
See reviews for
2
22
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Unorganized. Unprofessional. Bro/frat house feel. People who work there are so wrapped up in their own business they are inconsiderate of their guest.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpleton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Afula, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

stuffy litle place-no good for sleeping privately/ like human being

Room Tip: too mutch little place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voazi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My first tip, don't stay here. I was robbed by the family that runs the place, no respect, and they ripped me off cash as well and tried to hold my passport ransom. It wasn't until I contacted our consulate that things got figured out.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjbabyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The best hostel I have stayed in (extensively travelled). Great common area outside upstairs made it so easy to meet people. Other travellers were great! So many different nationalities. Staff are very helpful, rooms always cleaned, bathrooms in each room cleaned regularly, aircon in some rooms, fans in others, but hardly needed. So close to the beaches and clubs. Don't judge the photos you see in searches...don't do it justice.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Where to start on this atrocious excuse for a hostel,,,

Well my two friends and I booked a 4 room mixed room. The room itself has no walls but is open air with the main wall a mismatch of wooden poles. This is great for ventilation and even better at night when we were all constantly attacked by mosquitos. I counted 8 bites and my friend lost count and much sleep getting several more.

The day is consumed with construction going on directly across on the next rooftop, with such an open wall the workers can literally look straight into the room and make ample noise breaking rocks and sawing concrete blocks. A pleasant way to start the day.

To top things off the women running the hostel made me wait 5 minutes to get the room key while she finished her conversation on msn. She then lost the only room key to the place, so my friends and I were forced to wait 40 minutes to get into our room. Which in the end meant that I punched in a flimsy window and climbed in.

The women at the front also double charged my friends for laundry, making each one pay the bill. The outside street is full of roaming junkies asking for money and the whole place reeks of sleeze.

The only plus, was other people there were pleasant.

If you want to go Cancun, get as far away as possible from this place.

  • Liked — Leaving the accomodation
  • Disliked — The service, the location, the cold water showers, the rude staff and the room.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank morell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiapas, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Well I just read about the traveler from Portland and the problems that were encountered and I have to say that really sucks. Fortunately for me I had a great experiences both times that I stayed at Mayan Hostel.
I found the staff fun and friendly and full of great information that helped me save a bundle. The roof top patio is a great place to hang out and have some pops while you chat with others.
The location is great. The bus station is right there so after you spend your $3.50 from the Airport to town you only have about a 5 minute walk to the hostel. The main outdoor plaza is only about a 2 minute walk and the strip is just around the corner.
I must say that the beds are not the greatest in the world and the low thread count sheets are worn, but clean. But all in all a great place to crash for $10.00 a night (internet and breakfast included)

  • Liked — Great location, good price, and nice people running the place.
  • Disliked — I will go with worn bedding here.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Telordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 km away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#71 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Suites Le Monde
#32 of 66 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostel El Corazon
Hostel El Corazon
#8 of 127 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostel Ka'beh
Hostel Ka'beh
#7 of 127 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 km away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 127 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 km away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#2 of 127 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Hostel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Hostel Cancun

Property: Mayan Hostel Cancun
Address: Margaritas 17, Cancun, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mayan Hostel Cancun 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and management, an old well known backpacker hotspot returns! The Mayan Hostel, located at 17 Margaritas Street (just one block from the ADO bus station, in the heart of downtown Cancun with easy access to all major attractions.* Free Wi-Fi* Free Breakfast* Free City Tour* 24 Hr Reception * TV Room (great movie collection!)* Lounge * Rooftop Terrace* Front porch patio with loungers and hammocks* BBQ Pit* Hammocks* No Curfews* Book ExchangeLet our friendly and engaging staff make your trip to Cancun one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mayan Hostel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hostel Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing