We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. Booked through expedia and it turns out that expedia messed up
sending the reservation data to the hotel. The hotel showed a reservation for 1 night only,
but i had it for 2. No issues. We still stayed. The breakfast was good. Bread/omlet/juices with
coffee. The fresh air in the morning with the sound of birds is very pleasing. The main road
is right across and gets a lot of high speed traffic. We had dinner and lunch and the food
was pretty good i should say. We were a bit apprehensive at first, but after trying it one
evening, we were hooked. The kids loved the place. We did not have to run the A/C at all
in the room. Nice stay i should say.
The entrance to the rooms can be a bit damp., esp for rooms near the trees. So some caution is advised. Also, this might not be an issue for 99% of the people out there, but
our son had a minor accident and we had to rush him to the hospital. The beds are made
of concrete platform and a spring mattress tossed on top. This is fine. But my daughter
grabbed a trinked from him and jumped from one bed to the other. My 6yr followed suite.
He missed the landing on the other bed, fell and hit the rear of his head on the concrete
bed platform. The edge being sharp, he had a deep cut. My wife had to grab a towel and
we had a car, so i got hold of the front desk staff and rushed him to the hospital in Merida.
The doctor had to perform 4 stitches and he was asked to stay out of water for 8 days.
Well, would this have been a non issue had it been a wooded frame rather than concrete,
no one knows. I normally think ahead and warn the kids. But these things happen in split
second. So if you are travelling with children, please be mindful of the slippery entrance and
the concrete beds. Otherwise, the staff were very good, friendly and responsive and will
not mind stayin here. The Ik-Kil cenote is right across and was a nice swim.

Room Tip: The king bed matrimonial suites are across from the pool. the double bed rooms are on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumarkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

We arrived at this hotel on a local bus which set us down right in front of it. Just looking at it from across the road we could see that it was in a general state of neglect--the tiled roof was green with a mossy growth that indicated poor maintenance. We had a reservation so we gamely went to the desk and asked to see some rooms. The clerk opened five different rooms for us but we couldn't stay in any of them. They all had a smell combined of mustiness and cheap perfumed soap on the bed linens which to us was overpowering despite the windows being open. All the furnishings and the bedspreads had a very old, worn appearance and the rooms were quite small boxes. Finally, we cancelled our reservation because we knew we could never sleep in any of the rooms. It was hard to explain to the clerk but he nicely accepted our explanation. We ended up staying in Piste and were very happy to be in town where we had choices for lunch and dinner and a great hotel called the Chichen Itza which was just across the street from a good restaurant that served suberb sopa de lima--yum!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SMP360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here in April 2011, we are a family of 2 adults and two children aged 8 and 11yrs. We booked this about 6 months in advance as an adventure away from our all inclusive in Playa Del Carmen. We booked a family room which was basically 2 double beds in the room.

We took the 2nd class bus to Valladolid then got a taxi to the hotel as we couldn't seem to find any collectivos. The taxi driver had no idea where it was and almost drove past it, but as it's on the main road it was impossible to miss. When we arrived the reception was great and our room was ready.

Room- The room was very clean as was the bathroom. It was perffectly adequate for the one night tht we were staying. I had read about bugs in the room but apart from a small spider we didn't have a problem. The fan in the room was very noisy but did work.Also we didn't hear any noise from the road whatsoever.

Pool- The pool was a real lifesaver in the heat, it was clean and quaint. We didn't use the other pool with the rock formations but it was very pretty. There are plenty of chairs to sit on by the pool but not enough space to put them out, also they were very mouldy on the arms, something which could have been sorted in a flash with some warm soapy water.

Food- We had our evening meal here which was a mistake. I ordered steak which was a thin piece of chewy meat and my daughter's rice was a pile of slop. Thank goodness for the chips.
At Breakfast the fruit was good but we weren't keen on the cooked stuff, having said that we are very bad eaters when abroad which is why we go all inclusive.

The staff there are very good, my yougest fell out of the hammock and banged her head and he was quick to get me a bag of ice.

My only real complaint was the smell of sewage in the morning was terrible and we couldn't get out of the room quick enough.

The Ik Kil cenote is right opposite literally but we didn't go, something i regret now. In the morning we took the hotel's complimentry bus to Chichen Itza so we were there early before the hawkers had even set up.

All in all it's a great stay for the price if you don't mind budget, I know now that my family can't relax in this sort of place and wish I'd booked at the hotel on the grounds of the ruins which looked lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imustbemadme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in Valladolid but stopped here for a very late lunch after visiting Chichen Itza. The food was fine. Nothing to write home about, but decent Yucatan home cookin'. The place was deserted so we asked them if we could nap in their hammocks...and they said yes, as if that was something we could have done without asking. So we did, napping under the palapa roof before we were recharged enough to drive back to Valladolid.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jitzutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, but there are some pros and cons to this hotel which are worth noting.

We loved the open air restaurant, but be aware that the food is expensive for what it is (50 pesos for 2 fried eggs - with nothing else on the plate!) We had a meal that was basically 2 fried eggs, a plate of potato fries and chipotle rice, with 2 drinks, and it all cost 300 pesos, which by Mexican standards is a lot. They can probably get away with this because the only restaurant competition within reasonable walking distance is across the road at the Cenote, which you have to pay 60 pesos to get into anyway. I would recommend doing the buffet over at the cenote for a big feast (150 pesos per person), and then you probably won't need dinner!

The rooms were basic and smelt damp, but it was clean and functional.

The location has some problems - it is right on the highway so it gets alot of traffic noise - particularly trucks with compression braking! You don't notice so much if you sleep with the air conditioning on, though... But a good thing is, it is right across the road from a cenote, make sure you get there early in the day, otherwise it is chock full of bus tourists!

It is also quite dangerous to walk to the ruins entrance from the hotel, as there is no walking space between the road and the jungle, and it would be a long, hot walk. The hotel does have a complimentary shuttle to the ruins, which is good and highly advisable.

There is complimentary wi fi in the restaurant area, and the shallow pool is great to cool down after a hot day.

Even with its shortcomings, there is something nice about this place, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkonin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We recently (August 5 - 7 2011) stayed at the excellent Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen near the Chichen Itza ruins. This small and unpretentious place is a real gem for independent travelers who want to experience Mexico without experiencing droves of tourists being carted around on tour buses "doing" the Yucatan. The rooms are small and modestly furnished. We only ate breakfast here so can only comment on that meal - which was filling. The staff go out of their way to accomodate your needs and make for an enjoyable visit. One thing - and its not a reflection on this hotel whatsoever. If you are here to visit the ruins of Chichen Itza don't waste your time or your money going to the luz sonido (light show) at the ruins beginning at 8:00 each evening in summer. I have no artistic accumen whatsoever but I think even I could have put together a more satisfying light show than the one offered by the ruins. Stay home and drink margaritas rather than waste your time on this over-hyped tourist "attraction."

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Off2TheTropics69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We only stayed one night here, but for those thinking of doing a day trip to the ruins of Chichen Itza from Merida or Cancun, consider staying here. Very good value, lovely little pools which are very welcome after tramping about in the ruins and helpful staff, who helped us arrange a night visit to the sound and light show at the ruins and also a collectivo onto Valledolid the next morning. Bungalows were smallish but no real wish for them to be more spacious as the pool areas and restaurant/bar are perfect to hang out at.

Room Tip: People do tend to congregate around the tables near the main pool so if peace and quiet required ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bean_Dare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
2.6 km away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,386 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
206 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
735 reviews
2.5 km away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
310 reviews
36.1 km away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen

Address: Km.122 Merida-Cancun, Free Road 180 | between the ruins and Balankanche caves, Chichen Itza, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: $34 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the best location of Chichen Itza. Beautiful bungalows with private terraces, air conditioning, cable tv, safe box, and local handcrafts. Extensive gardens with two swimming pools, one with unique reef formations and spectacular bottom, two palapas with hammocks for relaxation. Large, guarded parking lot. Restaurant Bar overlooking circular pool with the best food for the gods. Walk to Ikil cenote for a refreshing swim or to the Balankanche caves for underground adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Dolores Alba Chichen
Dolores Alba Chichen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing