We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavor Heaven”
Review of La Choza Cozumel

La Choza Cozumel
Ranked #18 of 374 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Villa Park, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Flavor Heaven”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

It has become a tradition to stop here and always take home a bottle of their amazing orange secret sauce ($10 for the large bottle) that they offer as a dipping sauce with the chips. The flavor is sublime.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KapaluaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    389
    114
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food lovely salsa”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Choza is one of the oldest stablishements in Cozumel, in the old days it was very small with long tables where everybody sat and eat what ever "mum" had coocked that day, and when the last dish was served the place closed for business that day.

Family owned, with family secret recipies, definatelly a must!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spotintheuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile


Every time we return to Cozumel we eat at La Choza! From the secret yellow sauce (no, they won't give out recipe) to the delicious desserts, we've never had a bad meal. Service is fantastic, too. This time around I had the Shrimp Veracruz-sautéed onions, green peppers, squash and tons of fresh shrimp! My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Oh, and the mango margarita is to die for! Once again, I give La Choza a 10!

Helpful?
Thank gr8funinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Cruise”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

After researching several restaurants, we settled on La Choza, for it offered the best fish, the best flan, and avocado pie. We were overwhelmed with the food and the service. The modern kitchen belies the three generations who have plied their skills in regional cooking, but it reassured us that we could eat or drink anything. My wife and I were treated to a huge red snapper, fried -- perfect in every way. We broke off portions to put into tortillas with their special sauce, rice, and other succulent items. We sampled guacamole, delicious margaritas, and fish soup in wonderful ambiance during lunch. Our host, Christian, was the third generation, and was very helpful in our enjoyment of the meal as well as other places to tour. Our visit was one of the most memorable on our trip, and we will go back if and when we revisit the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Love La Choza!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

This is my favorite restaurant in Cozumel and I never miss an opportunity to visit. The fish Veracruz was amazing and cooked perfectly. The margaritas & guacamole are excellent. I always buy a bottle of the yellow sauce to bring home....and I don't like to share it!

Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelerIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Choza Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Choza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing