We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
110
22
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
22
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared kitchen private pool common kitchen walking distance full kitchen close to town other guests dive shop ana apartment peacocks supermarket hammocks property island taxi sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 140 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018

My wife and I booked the Villas El Encanto because of the review ratings and description. I planned on diving 3 days while my wife looked to sit around the pool (salt water) and read. This place turned out to be perfect. Usually we stay in one the better known large hotels on the beach, but decided to try this in-town establishment. Are we glad we did. The villas are delightfully set in a garden compound close to town in a quiet, upper middle class neighborhood. We felt safe. The owner, Ana, and her son Martin could not have been more friendly and helpful. I took Ana's recommendation of the dive shop, Caribbean Divers, and they were the best of the many shops I have used in Cozumel (hotel pick up and return, good sized covered boat, small parties, and wonderful dive masters). Ana, Martin, four dogs and a peacock named Pepperoni made us feel like family. The villa was clean, the bed comfortable, and the kitchenette adequate for making breakfast and lunch. TV only in Spanish. Free WiFi worked great. The experienced was greatly enjoyed by these two well-traveled people.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor two bed room with kitchenette and patio apartment. It was quiet and air conditioned.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas El Encan... C, Gerente at Hotel Villas El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your time and for your great comments, it is very important for us that your stay in Cozumel and in our villas has been as expected and that you have enjoyed your vacation, we hope you will visit us again soon it would be a pleasure.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Three of us stayed in thier 1 bed room apartment for 6 nights. The apartment has one master bed room, another room with 2 single beds, and bath and kitchen. The rooms are very clean and house keeping does excellent job. The garden is larger than pictures. The property is very quiet and we loved having privacy because we do not care about AI or big hotels surrounded by other guests.
Their employees are super helpful. We got all help we needed.
Chedraui (nice size grocery store) is in short walking distance and we bought fruits, snack and drink.
They do not have a restaurant but good breakfast spot is right next door. Full breakfast is $5 ~ 7.

The pool is salt water and very nice. A shower is right next to it.

It is one of the best hotels we have stayed. We will look forward to returning for sure.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank mkubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas El Encan... C, Gerente at Hotel Villas El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you very much for your time and your comments about the hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay on the island of Cozumel, we hope you will come back again it would be a pleasure to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2018

The room was comfortable, with nice group kitchen facilities. The location was out of the way, and felt uncomfortable if solo. Also reserved through Booking, and they attempted to charge $15 in additional hidden fees. Better for groups. Pricey for location.

Room Tip: Upper floors have nice views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank surfingwithdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas El Encan... C, Gerente at Hotel Villas El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you found our rooms comfortables, however we have to clarify that all the single fees we charge at the hotel are the net prices + taxes that are normally showed by all agencies in the invoices at the time guests make their reservation; and the full payment for each invoice has to be done at the time of their arrival.
We are sorry you had a confusing situation with the taxes implementation at the time of your payment but that is something you need to object with the agency you used to make your reservation, since it seems they didnt show you the right amount with taxes included and we had to do it for them. Any how we hope this inconvenience do not stop you to come back to Cozumel again, we will be glad to receive you!

Regards!
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

This hotel is a hidden gem. I have been there a couple times before. This year there are new bungalows. Great gift shop with merchandise from local artisans. Close to everything. Now, you can borrow bicycles too!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas El Encan... C, Gerente at Hotel Villas El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment, we are very happy to know that I really enjoy your stay and in the villas, it would be a pleasure to be able to receive it again!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

My visit was so lovely from the moment I checked in, till the second I left. Not only did they set me up the an amazing drive crew and company in walking distance but the grounds, room and pool where all amazing. Everything is within walking distance and far enough away from cruise tourists. The best little shop inside filled with treasures and great gifts. I bought this placemat and turned it into a one of a kind denim button up. I will be back for sure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Tabbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas El Encan... C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villas El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Tabb,
Thank you for your time to write a review, we always appreciate the comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we will be happy to receive you again soon, we will be waiting for you! Thank you again and best regards from Cozumel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews