We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The taste of Mexico in Cozumel”

Josefina's Cocina Con Alma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bienvenido! to Josefina's Cocina con Alama. "Alma" the word for soul in Spanish is how authentic Mexican cooking begins. We invite you to explore and taste the many wonders of Mexcian cuisine through hands-on instruction with the wonderful cook & chef, Josefina. Join Josefina in her Cozumel home and kitchen for a day to learn how to make regional Yucatecan delights as well as other Mexican dishes. The class is designed for those that want a "taste" of Mexican culture (you will even get to visit the local market). It is set up for all ages to enjoy, yet comprehensive enough for those avid cooks looking to hone and learn new skills. Be prepared to eat as you will cook a feast suited for the Mayan gods!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The taste of Mexico in Cozumel”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a brilliant day we had with Josephina - quick chat about what we wanted to cook - walk to market to pick up the ingredients - then down to cooking. We kept our notes and have reproduced the meals we learnt in Cozumel since our return to Australia- Josephina's recipes are tasty and easy to create.
A must do while in Cozumel with plenty of time to see the sights around the town.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JalanM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    23
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Experience!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Josephina was a delight...just a great hostess! This excursion was right up my alley. She shared many of her cooking secrets and allowed us to be hands on for much of the class. Food was delicious and the experience was all I had hoped it would be. Taxi ride from the ship was $7 one way. I hope to take the class again when we're in Cozumel.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dmaccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - great cooking teacher - great recipes, food & drink”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Josefina's cooking class introduced me to the basics of Mexican cooking. She was very helpful and our finished products were delicious. And her Margarita recipe was very good, too! Enjoyed going through the market to buy the ingredients. Finding her house was not difficult, but it's a 5 mile walk if your cruise ship is at the docks away from El Centro.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A delightful experience - memories, and recipes, that will live on!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

An absolute delight, in every way - from selecting the menu with the other guests to shopping at the market, making the dishes to conversing with Josephina, the entire day was perfect. We came home with recipes and a better understanding of the local culture. And we enjoyed a lovely meal, trying lots of new things and revisiting some familiar ones. Our menu included fish vera cruz, achiotte-marinated pork, refried beans, guacamole (secret recipe that lasts 12 hours!), cactus salad, and homemade tortillas folded into quesadillas. Not to mention the yummy margaritas! We'd be happy to visit Josephina again to learn more, but I suppose we'll have to make do with her cookbook when it is published. Highly recommended experience for the foodie and/or adventurer. Salud!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of my vacation”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I just spent 3 hours with Josefina and 6 others at her cooking class. We are in Playa for 7 weeks and so far this is the highlight. We learnt so much and ate so much wonderful food. Josefina is truly professional and cannot do enough to make sure your time with her is all you hoped it to be. Can't wait until her cookbook is out. We entertained a group of people today with what we learnt and it was fabulous!! Don't hesitate to book this you will love it!

Helpful?
Thank Mazcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Josefina's Cocina Con Alma also viewed

 

Been to Josefina's Cocina Con Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing