We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$371
US$282
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$274
US$150
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$211
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Azul(Cozumel)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$175
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Cozumeleno Beach Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$172
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$246
US$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$234
US$214
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,944)
Filter reviews
1,944 results
Traveller rating
1,394
379
107
33
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,394
379
107
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba dureef roomsoutdoor showeralfredo di romale capel caribenooutdoor restaurantbeachfront roomfishbest hotel on the islandmain restaurantdive shopbreakfast buffetadult pooltennis courtsocean frontbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,944 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed here over a dozen times and can't think of anyplace else I'd rather be in Cozumel. The rooms with the outdoor showers are fantastic! Whenever there's an issue with the room it's resolved within a call or two. Service sometimes even excels that expected by the American traveller. Staff is friendly and there's not much turnover so they recognize me now and are eager to help.

Room Tip: The reef-front rooms have a wonderful outdoor shower
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielleAdelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know they all efforts are making a memorable stay for our guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Cordially,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a wonderful three night stay at the Cozumel Intercon. We visited in September and during the main part of the week felt like the only ones there (maybe there were a few other couples, but it was sparse). The resort is large so there was lots of space to spread out, we never had to share the pool, snorkel area, beach, or restaurant with anyone else. Some people might not like that, but we loved the privacy and the focus on service.

Positives:
- We arrived late and were welcomed and given a tour of the hotel.
- We stayed in an ocean front room which was clean and comfortable, with access right to the beach and a private hammock. It had a couch, table and chairs, and an iHome. The room also comes with a very nice woven beach bag you can use during your stay to carry towels around, even off-resort. Some hotels are fussy about "don't take our towels off premises" but they encourage it and provide an easy way to carry them.
- We took a night-time swim which might have been against the posted rules, but the staff walking by were friendly and bid us good night.
- We took a snorkel tour through the helpful guy in the lobby and they picked us up right from the hotel pier. The tour came well-recomended as not-glitzy, but friendly and good value -- which was exactly what it was.
- Beach chairs and snorkel areas were pretty good -- the water is warm and clear.
- Happy hour at the outdoor restaurant is an amazing deal! The $5 US guacamole became dinner for both of us.
- They have a cool pottery painting thing where you pick a piece and paint it and then the friendly woman there will glaze it and fire it for you overnight. I really wanted to do one but we didn't have enough time.
- Overall, the hotel is beautiful and is well designed to offer many public and private spaces so you can find a place that fits your mood at the time.

Some negatives:
- Check which season you are going to be in Cozumel, September and October are supposedly mosquito season! The outdoor restaurant uses candles (probably for mosquitos) which have a chemical-type smell -- not a fruity or citronella smell but an oil-type smell which was off-putting to me. They didn't work well to keep mosquitos away either. My husband (in shorts) was getting eaten alive during our sunset dinner and had to run back to the room for cover. The staff was very understanding and helped us to get the rest of our meal back to our room. If those candles aren't effective, please replace with unscented candles, which are more appropriate for a restaurant. Some kind of perimeter torches/citronella would probably help too.
- My room had both an outdoor and indoor shower. Neither of them ever got hot -- ever. It made for some cold nights getting out of the pool or ocean. I figured it was because we were the only ones there the water had to travel a far way.
- Jacuzzi spa access was included in our stay but was gender segregated. We didn't like that -- we're on vacation to spend time together, not separately.
- Far away from town -- 90 pesos for a taxi ride.
- As is the case in all hotels of this type, the buffet breakfast was exorbitant but the a la carte was reasonable and very tasty.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms cost a little more, but are worth it. Ocean view are probably not worth it if ocean front is a choice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at our Resort. We feel very excited to know that you had a wonderful stay and hopefully you will planing to come back soon as well as we feel very honored for your kind words about our daily work.

I look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This post is to warn you that the Club membership (timeshare) is a rip-off. We bought in several years ago and have come to the realization that this was a terrible idea. We had second thoughts after spending over $10, 000 shortly after the purchase and were unable to get our money back, they said we waited too long and a refund wasn’t possible. Since then it has been a nightmare dealing with these people. With the recession we haven’t been able to travel every year but they continue to reduce our points whether we travel or not – this is ridiculous. When we went to the Cozumel resort we met with the Club representatives to express our concerns. They did nothing to give us back the lost points but instead tried to sell us more points. They pointed out that they started a new VIP Club membership but in order to get those benefits we have to spend an additional $5,000 purchasing still more points! Those of us that were members prior to this VIP program being started should be granted membership without incurring additional cost. We also tried to upgrade our room but could not as we need another membership package at still more expense – we were willing to use more points but they would not do that, they are always looking to sell other memberships. Bottom-line, this is not what it’s cracked up to be – they nickel and dime you constantly after the initial purchase of membership points and you really don’t get any benefits. We have been to several of the club presidente resorts in Mexico and they are all okay but nothing spectacular. Use your money wisely, do not join the Club – it is a terrible organization. Complaining will do nothing – they don’t do anything to try and rectify the situation, they just don’t care once they have your money. I will be spreading the word on as many message boards that I can find across the internet warning fellow travelers to stay far away from these crooks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DeanGNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Director Comercial at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear The Club member,

We very much regret your disappointment and wish we could know how to contact you, since we do not recognize you under this a “pseudonym status”. Perhaps , then we could find a way to make you change this poor perception you have towards your membership. As you mentioned we continuously try to enhance the benefits of the memberships, to give our members more value for their invested money and a larger range of possibilities in this “day to day changing world”.

We realize that this recession has affected all our traveling needs and budgets . Evidently for a few years the membership worked well for you. I am sure that if you contact us through the appropriate channels we will find a way to change this sad impression into a positive one and then be able to serve you many more times in this “su Casa en Cozumel “”

Ricardo Murguía Cámara
Gerente de Proyecto The Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2012

El Presidente is the best resort on Cozumel! My husband and I LOVE this place and when we stay on Cozumel, there is no other option. It's a quiet resort, off the beaten path and you often feel like you have the whole place to yourself. It is family friendly, although definitely not over run by children. You never have to fight anyone for a palapa or chair on the beach. It is more expensive than some of the other hotels, but as far as I'm concerned, you get what you pay for. It's not as modern as some of the newer, shiny mega resorts but I think it has more character.

Scuba Du is another reason why we stay here. We feel safe and secure with them and they have the best dive masters. They have small groups and take great care of their clients. We won't use anyone else for scuba diving.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smstensaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you, we appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a pleasure to serve you like always.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, the hotel beach and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I had another great stay at El Presidente. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained, the food is very good - but the best is the service. The simply can't do enough for you, wonderful people. For instance, I ran early in the morning and by the time I got to the entrance there was a guy waiting with a cold water and one of those cool moist towels. They I went swimming at the beach - me and the pelicans and cranes at the shoreline. Oh, and there was the little tan ray at my feet in perfectly clean water. Yeah, that's a nice start to the day.

Ok, downside...having a mosquito buzz in my ear in the middle of the night. The mosquito laughed at the repellent they leave in the room. Next time I'm bringing something stronger. And a few updates to the menu would't hurt either.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a slightly better view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you, we appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a pleasure to serve you like always.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, the hotel beach and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews