We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diving and sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 4 February 2018

A nice hotel, it is basic place, clean and comfortable. Wish there were more electrical sockets for charging devices. The pool is nice, not enough umbrellas though - it is totally unshaded. The grounds are well kept.
Staff is friendly. The restaurant staff is very good, the food is good, but not great.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Love2Scuba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

I have to admit that the kindness of staff is the thing that puts the smile on your face.

Nevertheless, the general maintenance and cleaniness of the hotel is not 100%.
The structure of the bathroom is made of wooden tubes (not so sanitary) and the room itself does not respect all standards.

Adviced for the very good position in Cozumel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Pacaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We have been staying at the Casa Del Mar for over 25 years. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I realize it doesn't fit everyone's standards but it is clean and quaint. We will continue to stay here every year we come to Cozumel. And only three miles from downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Mary B.

Thank you for your lovely review, It's very kind of you to take the time to share it through this media.
We will be glad to see you again at home and make your next stay more and more enjoyable.
Kind regards,

Iliana López
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Public Relations & Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We've been staying at CdM for nearly 20 years and the place is really holding up pretty well for an island property. Many of the people we met nearly 20 years ago are still working here and seem like family!

NO this is NOT an American style hotel... so, don't expect that... since you're not paying for that either. A reviewer complained that noises in the hallway (through bathroom window) bothered them... we leave our patio open and hear everything - just to enjoy the fresh smell of ocean and garden. Closing the patio and turning on A/C is very quiet. So, if we want more, put in ear plugs.

CdM has a familiar charm with consistently good service from genuinely caring front desk and restaurant staff. Our room is simple and cleaned thoroughly each day. They've actually made a few upgrades since our last visit - adding fresh water and ice stations on each floor. It also seems new matresses and linens. Extremely comfortable!

Location is away from the action, but just a walk away. Drive shops all around, so we can just grab gear for a shore dive if we want. We usually rent a car so we can frequently go to Naci Cocum (included w/your CdM rental).

Yes, wifi is spotty, but you're supposed to be spending your time enjoying Cozumel.

We're already thinking about our next trip back!

Room Tip: We like to upgrade to Superior for view of pool and watch the cruise ships come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeaceProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel - excellent diving with excellent dive masters. Food was just okay but bar drinks were below par. Good for a short trip but wouldn’t stay for more than 4 days at a time due to heavy cruise ship traffic - felt safe at all times. Need to be sure to take extra cash - some restaurants don’t take credit cards and some merchants will give a price discount if paying with cash. Over all it’s a good for a short family vacation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank mamasews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

If you are a diver (my family dives) this place will be great for you. Rooms are clean, air conditioning good, balcony-patios have areas to hang your stuff. The staff is nice. Cozumel Marine World is located across the street and most divers use them. They are very good and close.

If you are not a diver this is no frills, no thrills and lacks the customer service you will find at other resorts. No one is going to bring you a fruit drink with an umbrella in it. No one will leave cleverly sculpted towels with flowers on your bed. You will have to beg for additional towels and pillows. There are no other activities, no extra. amenities.
The rooms are basic as basic gets.

Plus side - good location near cruise ships and not far from town- a $7 taxi ride to town. Porter most helpful person employed there. There is a man made beach area next to dive shop with shade provided huts and chaise lounges. There is a pool with pool bar.

Downside - a bit dangerous stair entry into ocean. It is slippery and can be quite wavy.

Bottom line. This is the place for divers.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank 14Inga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

My husband has stayed here many times on dive trips. When he said he wanted to stay here, I trusted his judgement. Once at Casa Del Mar, I was hesitant because it was not a hotel like in the states. There are no elevators and at first I was afraid no air conditioning. After the initial shock of the actual hotel, I had a great stay. It is a hotel where scuba divers not partiers stay. So that means less noise, etc. In the courtyard is a fountain and it is a very calming sound. I found English speaking stations on the tv that I enjoyed when in the room. The air conditioning froze me and I loved it. The nicest most helpful staff runs this place!! Rooms are clean and comfortable. If you are looking for fancy and loud, this is not the place!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cazink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.4 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
1,221 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
3.4 km away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $71 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing