We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The food is inedible!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The food is inedible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The food at this resort was totally inedible. We went for the all-inclusive option, but could not stomach any of food. I have no idea how it is possible to mess up french fries! Even my husband, who eat almost anything, wouldn't eat. That being said, the hotel was clean and comfortable. The a/c was nice and cold and the water was clean. I would consider staying here again but would budget for eating out for all meals.

Room Tip: A room with a patio facing the pool would be nice for the nightly show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    680
    351
    142
    100
See reviews for
337
533
86
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boissevain, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

very clean rooms and grounds. food ok buffet style go for the station where they cook omelettes hamburgers or tacos right in front of you and the food will be hot majority of the guests are divers.15 min walk to town a short walk under the road to the pier. dive paradise on site saw up to 29 divers on one of their boats , we dove with pelagic ventures 6 divers excellent dm and boat captain. more money but fast and comfortable boat. we would leave 3/4 hr later than cattle boat and pass them 1/2 way to dive sites

Room Tip: first floor rooms nicer to haul gear back and forth. You can rent lockers at beach for equipment and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flatlanddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place is a little long in the tooth, but they try very hard. What was very impressive is how CLEAN they keep everything. The rooms are nice but the beds are very hard. The all inclusive meals are similar every day with a buffet style service but they have something for each meal that is made to order (eggs, pasta, tacos etc.) Definitely take advantage of that. I stayed with my 20 year old daughter on a Spring Break scuba trip and we ate all our lunches and breakfasts there but ate dinner in town four of our seven nights. There are many great restaurant choices in Cozumel.

Bar service is good, but they do not have real high end products. The pool area was nice and the beach access is really a selling feature. Service in general was very good. All the staff I met were friendly and customer oriented. We generally tipped for bar service and at meals, but I did not see many others who did. It really did not seem to affect the service level (good overall) if you tipped or not.

What really distinguishes this place is how diver friendly it is. They are connected to an on-premise dive operator (Paradise Divers) who is one of the best dive operators I have ever dove with (over 240 logged dives). They have racks in the balconies set up for drying gear and they are very connected to the dive community.

If you are looking for a great inexpensive dive resort with decent (not fabulous) accommodations and meals, I highly recommend this resort. If you are not a diver and you just wanted a place to chill out, this place would meet that need as well. If you are looking for more upscale room and food or a romantic getaway, I would go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk and they will do everything they can to accomodate you. They did for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trchaseKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here for our first trip to Cozumel. Price wasn't bad. The hotel staff wasn't that friendly. Our room was clean but very hot. A/C not working properly. The furniture had slung paint all over it for when the people painted the walls. Really messed up the room and made it a dump. Tiles missing in the bathroom. Tv remote and a/c remote broke. There def wasn't much attention to detail as far as the room was concerned. Glad we didn't do an all inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Blue Mound, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

this was our first time staying in a resort as we usually cruise. We had a wonderful time as the hotel was very clean , the staff was friendly and the food was good! We are not divers but made friends with some and enjoyed hearing about the dives. Rent a car if you go so you can really get a good look at the Island. There is lots to see. We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here last year and had the best time!! The beds were a little hard but once we were able to get an eggcrate mattress and some extra blankets, we were good! The breakfast buffet was the best part of the whole stay! The lady who makes the omlets is awesome!! They had a huge selection every day of the week we stayed there!! The pool was perfect. Not too deep and just the right amount of shallow areas for sitting and soaking and yet stay cool!! We are going back this summer and will definitely stay here!!

Room Tip: Make sure to email the hotel directly if you go through a booking agency. They can help with any sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casper
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We go to Cozumel often, but this was our first staying at this motel, We usually go golfing, but brought our 20 year old daughter this trip, so chose a different hotel. and wished we had not, the rooms are very out dated, and did not like having to walk under a road to the beach. We did not do all inclusive so the Breakfast was 12.oo a piece and not worth it and coffee was a dollar.. We walked down to Prima to eat great views.. The food was not very good at this place so I would not recommend all inclusive go down town to eat. Rent a jeep for your whole stay also its well worth it. Take a trip to the other side of the Island Very pretty.

Room Tip: Beds are horrible, and don't get a Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkie11500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
4.4 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.1 km away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
7.3 km away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
2.2 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing