We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
480
188
32
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
188
32
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar beach club next door all inclusive option cozumel country club small hotel fish lobster house golf package every morning north side all inclusive plan hotel guests breakfast was included like coming home small beach ocean view housekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 722 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018

The staff was great, food was good, rooms clean!! We arrived home and booked our trip for next year the next day! We opted for the all inclusive stay, and stayed in the Jr suite perfect view and extremely relaxing!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Footprints709145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAzulCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Hola from Playa Azul!!
Thank you so much for your review, it makes us so happy to hear that you had a great time and that you already book your next stay!!
We appreciate your preference!!
See you next year!!
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

There's no place like home!! I'm not really sure where to start but this resort has it all. From the time you wake up to the time you go to bed, the staff makes your day relaxing. They have become more than friends to my wife and I; they are family. I can't wait to book another trip so we can lay on the beach and watch the sunsets. Oh yes, you gotta try the manana sauce that the restaurant serves. It's so tasty that it will give you something to remember tomorrow about.

Room tip: Comfortable and clean.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llewelynd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAzulCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Hola from Cozumel!!
I appreciate a lot your beautiful comment and your preference, you are part of Playa Azul family and we will be waiting you for your next visit.
It is a pleasure to know that you feel like home and you can't wait to book another time :)
We will see you very soon so you can lay on the beach and enjoy the sunsets!
Warm regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

This ia a nice hotel north of the town of San Miguel. It has a wonderful area to snorkel and a nice beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This not your typical tourist resort, but more of local favorite. The bar grill has delicious fresh seafood and the breakfast buffet was great!The rooms in the main part if the hotel which is the family friendly part, need updatinf and tlc.We switched to a oceanfront jacuzzi suite on the north side of the hotel and found it much fresher and cleaner.Overall I found this hotel to be refreshing relaxing.

Room tip: The rooms on the north side are newer and updated. We had a oceanfront jacuzzi suite. Wonderful!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cywobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAzulCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Greetings from Cozumel!
Thank you so much for taking the time to upload your feedback, your description will help future guests to know us better.
We hope to host you in a near future so you can relax and enjoy the views, the snorkel and the beach.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

The best staff, beautiful views, clear water, very clean hotel, and strong drinks too :)We have taken our son twice and we feel incredibly safe there with him running around and playing.We will be going for years to come!

Room tip: Upgrade to oceanfront suite if traveling with kids. Upgrade directly with hotel. They will give the best rate.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tourist5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAzulCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Hola from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for your comment, it is a pleasure to read that you felt safe with your son and had a great time.
We will be waiting for you next visit!!
Best regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We stayed here for a third time..... and we NEVER do that! In fact, most of the guests we talked with were all returners, which is the highest compliment that can be paid to a hotel really. Nearly all the staff have been with the hotel for a long time, and everyone recognised us and made us feel very welcome.

The location is perfect. It's about a ten minute taxi ride from the town centre and 15 minutes from the airport. You are near enough to everything, but far away enough not to get swamped by cruise ship passengers. All the taxi drivers use a sheet of agreed rates and nobody ever tried to rip us off. There is a radio at reception and the guy there gets you a cab within 5 minutes.

Reception is clean and airy, the restaurant is casual and relaxed and our room was very clean and well maintained. A special mention to our room cleaner, who left a different towel sculpture for us every single day, and immaculately cleaned the room for us.

Service is exceptional. Every single member of staff is pleasant without being obsequious or tip-chasing. I cannot commend the staff highly enough.

I am a scuba diver, and the attached (but independent) dive school is excellent. I have over 500 dives all around the world and I know a good dive operation when I see one.

There is a private beach area, but the beach on either side is public. On weekends, there are loads of local people here and it is really nice to see them all having fun.

For those with an interest in history, there is a plaque 100 metres along the beach which marks the exact spot that Cortes first set foot on Mexican soil on his way to conquer the Aztecs.

Highly recommended. very possibly my favourite hotel in the world. Well done, and thanks for looking after us so nicely.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GenghisandOtherOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAzulCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hola from Playa Azul Cozumel Hotel!!
Thank you very much for your detailed comment!! Comments like yours help other guests to know the hotel and the Playa Azul experience. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your staying and our staff service.
You are part of Playa Azul family and we appreciate your preference.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews