We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The selling point for us was pillow top beds, there is nothing as important to a fun vacation as a good night's sleep! My husband loved the beds, I would say I liked them better than most. Asside from that we found the staff very helpful, the location extremely convenient and the room was nice, clean and comfortable with plenty of space.

The continental breakfast was a little bit lame, a piece of toast and some cut up fruit, given that the bakery a block down the road has a ton of scrumptious choices for 5 pesos each. But, the alternative is to go down to the bakery a block away and get pastries! Or, the place across the street (and slightly to the left) has a decent breakfast. The fact that you are within 5 blocks of a dozen decent places for breakfast means that this is pretty low on the list of important factors.

The night bartender was great, and super helpful; really friendly. We sat down in the bar several times and had a snack, played backgammon (they have a board to loan) and enjoyed a margharita (best one we had in Mexico).

We will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the West side, which is on the street, so I guess it would be louder. But, we enjoyed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameliaps51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    152
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
233
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Great location in town close to the ferry port on a quiet street. Friendly staff. Large. clean and well decorated rooms. Super comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly. A great choice at breakfast. Book through their reservation centre (details on their own website) for a great price and a full, rather than continental, breakfast. This hotel is very good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My family disembarked from a cruse ship for a family emergency. The hospital was just up the street from this hotel. What a wonderful treat to walk into our room after being at the hospital all day. It was so bright and cheery & Clean and inviting!
My husband and I were able to go down and have a drink at the quaint little bar once the teenage kids were tucked in. They offerd a full bar and a great "munchie menu" for a late night snack. After drinks at the bar we headed up to the nice sitting area outside our room to hang out before bed. We slept great and the linens were very nice.
I loved the tile in the bathroom. The design made the space feel very open. It did take 5min for the hot water to come on for a shower, but no problems after that.
We went down to the little sitting area on the first floor for breakfast, it was included in our stay. I had the coconut french toast, YUMMY! The other three breakfasts were great too. My husband and daughter played a game of pool while my son and I finnished our coffee :)
After breakfast we took a walk down the the water. We had so much fun looking for shells and finding sea urchins, snails and small fish in the rock crevices. We walked back along the street to take in all the local shops. What great bargans were to be found!
I hope to one day go back to stay at the Flamingo. I know there was so much more to see that we did not have time for. We spoke with several couples while we were there that were having a super time. One couple was very excited to go diving with manaties! Another couple was telling us about the beautiful beach just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, SC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Reasonably priced, comfortable beds, clean and nicely decorated rooms and great location to local restaurants, shops and walking distance to ferry terminal. Rooms have air condition and a good sized in room safe. The first room we were in did not have hot water but the staff moved us to another room as soon as one was available, which was great! There is no elevator, so be prepared to carry suitcases up stairs. The views of the ocean and city from the top patio area were Great and the breakfast (which is included) was EXCELLENT!! Staff was extremely helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. I will definitely be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadget76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The staff was All fabulous, but Julian was our "man Friday", arriving with a strong morning coffee, and a smile, as we staggered from our beautiful room, to start our day. The breakfast included was a deal! No request was too much. I'm going back!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackedandcrazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked through Expedia and got an excellent rate for 2 nights b&b to break up a 3 week AI holiday on playacar.
Was a bit anxious but hotel was very clean, comfy and rooms had all the necessities. Nice lounging area on all levels and roof terrace adequate for soaking up rays if desired. Stayed early October and the hotel was quiet and undergoing a refurb. Staff not as friendly as previous reviews indicate but not rude either - no sign of the infamous Ivan and receptionist new to the job.Breakfast adequate to start the day but didn't appreciate the loud Mexican music in the bar that woke me up the first morning.
Ideally located 3.5 blocks from ferry and near bars and restaurants and shops.
Would stay again if good rate offered

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrotterSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We loved the location, the bar, and the friendly atmosphere. Ivan made great drinks and had excellent recommendations on where to go and what to see, as did Thomas, who was a great host. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.9 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,077 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
788 reviews
3.1 km away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.5 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing