We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
kenosha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our group of friends came to Cozumel for the water, the sand, and to escape our Wisconsin winter! The Hotel Flamingo was excellent. In fact, our stay felt more like a Bed & Breakfast!
Our room was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. There were plenty of "outdoor" areas to read and relax in, and the roof-top area was perfect for watching the sun set.

Our breakfast was always yummy...and filling...and drinks at the bar in the afternoon or evening were delightful as well. We loved our location...we found the best bakery an easy walk away!

The Hotel Flamingo's staff was friendly and accomodating...honestly...coming back after our day out, we felt like we were coming home! We loved the Hotel Flamingo and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We loved our court-side room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    148
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
223
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My fiancé and I were in Cozumel last month and stayed in Hotel Flamingo. Overall it’s a nice place to stay but there are definitely some negatives.
Positives: Hotel is close to everything. The decor is very nice and the rooms are nice and clean. The staff are also very friendly. The upgraded breakfast is very nice and well worth the money. The king bed was super comfy.

Negatives: We paid extra be upgraded to a room with balcony. The balcony is so narrow that you can’t even put a chair on it, so really can’t enjoy it. The air conditioning unit was unbelievably loud. I’m not a light sleeper but when you have something in your room that sounds like a tank switching gears, it even kept me up. If you want hot water, forget it. We’d let it run for 15-20min and might (might) get some warm water. In the balcony rooms, the window faces the street and the slider door is paper thin, so defiantly not quite (the interior rooms might be better for this).
All in all, the place was OK. I would perhaps stay again, if I could get an interior room with a not-so-loud air conditioner. I will say that I’ve stayed in 3 other places in town and I would consider them all better.

Room Tip: If you want quite, do not stay in rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbroadDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflamingo, Owner at Flamingo Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Flamingo. We appreciate your constructive comments. The room you stayed in was #32 and we were having some issues with the air conditioner that were being repaired at the time. We finally replaced the entire mini split unit and there are now no more issues with noise. The mini splits are quiet units. Another piece of good news is we just recently made a major investment in a large commercial boiler with a recirculation system. The rooms such as #32 that were at the end of the building, now all receive plenty of hot water in just a few seconds. We hope that you will consider us again for one of your future stays in Cozumel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My son and I were recently in Cozumel for a week of diving and stayed at the Flamingo. All in all, very good value, and I'm glad I read a previous tripadvisor report recommending that I book directly with the hotel as that way the price includes a full breakfast. The breakfast turned out to be excellent, with plenty of choice. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the ferry dock, as well as many shops and restaurants.Our only complaints were 1) no hot water and 2) spotty WiFi. We spoke to the desk twice about the lack of hot water - once we were told it would be rectified, the second time we were told we needed to let the water run for 20 minutes! As for the WiFi, it originated from a computer at the bar, and a couple of times my son had to go down and ask them turn it on (or back on after it had been switched off). We had a rental car with us and were able to find street parking each night just a few blocks away. We did not use the dive services offered by the hotel because we booked with a guide who we used previously. All in all, yes I would recommend the Flamingo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A friend and I stayed recently at this little hotel in San Miguel on Cozumel, and what's not to like? My room was clean and attractive. The bed was unusually comfortable for a hotel bed. The little refrigerator was stocked with water, Starbucks cold bottled coffee drinks, small snacks, wine, and beer (you pay for what you use--but why shouldn't you?). Breakfast in the interior courtyard was excellent (and included in the room price). Guests were the sort who sat at breakfast reading books, and smiled "hello." Everyone working there was friendly and helpful. My room air-conditioner was a bit noisy, but in a "white noise" sort of way, and not bothersome. There's a bar downstairs, good places to eat just steps away, all the souvenir shops you could wish for (or avoid). The hotel is a half-block from the waterfront, but on a quiet side street. Five minute walk gets you to the ferry, for a trip across to the Yucatan Peninsula. Ten minutes from the airport. No on-site parking, but we had no trouble finding free street parking nearby. If you are looking for pricey, over-the-top luxury, or to hang out with the cruise ship crowd, this is NOT your place. If you want comfortable, friendly, unostentatious, clean, safe, and all for a very reasonable price, STAY HERE. But not so many of you that I can't get a room next time I go!

Room Tip: "Courtyard" rooms are near the bar, so I suppose might be less quiet--but it's not a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minna18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

absolutely gorgeous rooms at a very decent price, mellow but helpful staff, wobbly wifi but nice breakfast. quiet during our stay, though seemed underbooked.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Had a great weeks vacation at this hotel. The rooms were spacious enough, very clean and quiet. Most of the staff were absolutely so welcoming and friendly, helping create a perfect environment. Pay the little extra for the breakfast, and it was a great start to the day.
Highly recommend it. Short walk to the centre of the town.
The rooftop is perfect for early morning yoga, with a cracking view.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had a GREAT time staying at the Hotel Flamingo during Carnaval 2012 ... after busy days scuba diving and long nights parading, the lovely decor, air conditioning (kept the curtains closed), and the comfortable beds guaranteed a restful sleep.

We highly recommend the property for those who want to be close to the piers (scuba boats), ferry terminal, the zocalo and town. The Flamingo Hotel staff in the main lobby were always helpful. The corner bakery, Camilos restaurant (excellent lime soup, delicious calamari), a travel agent, a scooter rental agent, the view from the cafe at El Museo, all within a block or two of the hotel were favorites ...

For in town accommodation for our family, we felt the Flamingo Hotel was excellent value for our money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrownlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.9 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
6.5 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.7 km away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing