We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
US$382
US$309
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
US$245
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$150
US$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
US$143
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$244
US$198
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$327
US$225
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$120
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$504
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,235)
Filter reviews
5,235 results
Traveller rating
2,271
1,926
680
244
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,271
1,926
680
244
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsdressel diverspink flamingosfishsteak restaurantwater shoestenderloindive shoprooms are smalltex mexswim up barsand fleasspecialty restaurantsmattress topperrocky beachother resortsmain buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,042 - 3,047 of 5,235 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were at the Iberostar from the 4th to the 18th of February this year and we loved it! While we put a lot of planning into our honeymoon, going to the Iberostar was a last minute switch after seeing all the photos and reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms/buildings were quaint with their bright colors and rustic porches (we were in a second floor unit) and you felt like you had a lot of privacy due to all the beautiful vegitation surrounding them. Initially they were going to put us in a first floor room as they did not have any second floor rooms availabe (which is what we requested) and they would have to move us when one became available, but they found one before we even got down the path and we were able to settle in right away (Thank you Seamuy!). We stayed in 3313 close to the pool area and not far at all from the beach (always my favorite spot). The overall appearance of the resort was relaxing with lots of (not so wild) critters everywhere. The iguanas, parrots, peacocks, etc... added to the charm. For the main dinning area the buffet was pretty impressive with ever changing choices daily that included items such as tuna steak, chateau briand and mousaka, as well as standards that would please even the fussiest diners. The rooms were nice and while there could have been a little more storage, the overall appearance and comfort level was to our taste. I loved the marble floors and the walk in shower. The service overall was excellent and as we were there for 2 weeks, we were able to take advantage of 5 dinner reservations. The Mexican was my favorite and my husband's was the steakhouse. The beach and snorkeling were great and we knew going in that the coral was right there and that was one of the attractions that drew us to the Iberostart. It's also close enough to town to make a trip in relatively pain free (all though it's a little costly at $20 each way), and there was a lot of excursions and activities to take advantage of. We made our way to the show on the resort a number of times, and while it's not Vegas it was fun. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and they recognized it several times with song, champagne and orange juice and good cheer. For Valentines we went for a short walk down the beach to Albertos and had a romantic dinner by tikki torch on the beach (the lobster was excellent). The resort was built in 2000 and time, hurricanes and humidity appear to be the only things that are keeping the Iberostar from being a 5 start resort. Would we go back....definately!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are more exposed to the sun while the north side tended to be more sheltered by the heavy foliage. If you prefer the look and feel of a tropical oasis, go to the north side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KANStaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, Congratulations again! On behalf of the Management and Staff we would like to thank you for sharing your heart-warming review with other travelers on Trip Advisor and for choosing Iberostar Cozumel for this special occasion (honeymoon, Valentine's day and birthday). How wonderful!
Your nice words motivate us to continue working hard to exceed our guests expectations.
We are glad to know, you came back home with such wonderfuf memories.

We look forward to seeing you again soon , it would be our great pleasure to create new memories with you.

Warmest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

just returned from the iberostar. have been there many times..
if you are looking for a great dive resort, this is the place
location....resort is the closest to the reefs which means shortest boat rides. it cost about $20 cab fare to get to town and about $25 to the airport.

dive operations...dressel divers runs the dive shop. they have good equipment and high quality dive masters. sometimes the boats get a little crowded so if you are a snob diver you should consider another shop.. overall this is a great op and one of the reasons we (and many others) return year after year.

food...i think the quality has improved some. there is plenty of variety..remember its an all inclusive and buffets so its not the ritz.

gym...adequate but limited

beach...great beach but rocky entrance to the ocean...plenty of shade and chairs..bar service at the beach...fantastic sunsets but why does the beach bar close before sunset ??

rooms...small with limited closet space..stocked mini fridge in the rooms..all have hammocks on the porch. taking a shower is an adventure at times and requires patience.

service...above average imo...front desk service and bell service very good..in the lobby there is a board with the names of the returning guests arriving that day..the board is full for a reason.

pool...too cold for me in feb but pool bar and plenty of chairs..kind of loud at times

overall i think this is a great resort especially for divers. each year we discuss going somewhere else but continue to return here becasue of the LOCATION, QUALITY AND VALUE.

Room Tip: buildings 11 and 12 are the best for divers
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a terrific week at the Iberostar Cozumel for Feb 13-20.
Location was far from downtown - but we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Room was perfect size for 2 people. Probably would be a bit crowded for a family of 4. We are not divers but took advantage of the other recreational activities - sailing, kayaking, snorkeling.
Food was okay - good but not great. El Sarape, the Mexican Restuarant was the best. The Steak House was good - except for the steak. Buffets got a little tiring by the end of the week - but we enjoyed the fresh fruit and french fries on a daily basis.
The service was very good - nearly all of the staff was attentive and helpful.
The Star Friends ... the hired entertainers ... spent their days trying to entertain the guests. They were friendly and engaging. They would sing the song "Hey, Hey Baby - I wanna know if you'll be my girl" multiple times each day ... it got old after a while. Also, they would hoot frequently - "Woo-Woo" ... which also got annoying. All-in-all, however, they helped make the week fun.
Highly recommend the Iberostar Cozumel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a generous and complimentary review. It is indeed, so encouraging to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities but also with our service as well and friendly staff.

We certainly look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Like all Iberostar resorts the grounds are out of this world. They are lush, well manicured and very clean.The pool is a little small but remember the resort is small (304 rooms). We never had an issue getting chairs by the pool but like any resort you find your favorite spot and end up reserving them early. The beach is beautiful, lots of space and more than enough chairs. However, beach shoes are required to enter from beach or going from the pier alot easier. Remember your probably in Cozumel for the SCUBA diving or snorkeling (2nd largest reef in the world).

The rooms are smaller than most resorts i've been to but your in them to sleep. My only suggestion would be to add a dresser, and yes the beds are hard, but we never had a bad nights sleep. However pillows were a little to hard for our liking. That being said our maid (Rita) was awesome, always a stocked fridge, new towel art everyday and always clean...a few dollars goes along way.

The restaurants...Steak house was great, my wife had the tenderloin and you could cut it with a fork. The Mexican...when booking we looked at the menu and it was just Tacos,don't let that discourage you from booking because you never had Tacos like these (amazing).
Snack bar was good, always something to eat.
Buffet was alot better than expected, lots of fish,chicken,pork,beef,sea food and even lamb one night.

The drinks...I was a little disappointed with the margaritas at the pool bar, ended up drinking flamingo's instead,Nicholas was great. We did get great margaritas at the lobby bar, thanks Miguel and my wife said the banana daquiers and mojitos were amazing.

The star friends were probably the highlight of the week, pool games, beach games, dancing, talking with the guests and after that they do the shows at night. They work 14,15 hours a day and are always smiling.I know its part of the job but these guys are awesome. Thanks Victor,Eber,Diago,Frannsico,Mario and Allahandro.

The staff at this place are some of the nicest people we have met, they are professional and friendly,thanks for making our week that much more special.

One more thing,spend the 20$ to get to town,its beautiful, its fun and its cheaper to buy your souvenirs there.

I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8311,right next to pool,beach and snack bar and not noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Iberostar Cozumel. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore, it is an honour that you had a nice time with employees, we will especially compliment our star friends for their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your motivating and inspiring feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Cozumel again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed Feb 11-18 and have no complaints at all. I could go into the ususal stuff about the food, the hard beds, rocky beach, etc. but instead I would like to talk about some of the things I discovered while at the resort. First, all rooms have showers only, no tubs. So if you are in the mood for a good soak in your room after a day out, you are out of luck. BUT---there is a jacuzzi at the spa and it is open to anyone. However, you need to make a reservation for it. We had no problem booking the times and days that we wanted. It was always available. Next, there is no iron or ironing board in the room. You need to ask for them and they will be delivered at the time you request. They told us it was only for an hour since they are in short supply---but nobody ever came to get it. Our hair dryer worked fine, but it is a bit old fashioned---just a tube with an end on it---still worked fine. We stood in line to make our dinner reservations for the 2 allowed nights and dined at the Mexican one night and the steakhouse another. Mexican was entertaining---our waiter had three flaming entrees to prepare and present. We took a chance on the days that we did not have reservations and checked at the reservation desk mid=afternoon to see if we could get into one of the a la carte restaurants and were pleasantly surprised to hear "yes". So we had a second night at the steakhouse----we all decided the rib eye was by far the best choice. The ribs were ok, the sirloin not so flavorable, and the tenderloin was a bit tough but still tasted ok. Another evening we were able to get into the American restaurant, so 4 nights our of 7 we had a la carte. The other nights we were either off the property (definitely visit La Lobsteria for the finest meal ever!) or we ate at the buffet. Plenty of food for anyone to find something to satisfy them. There was a beach party one evening on and it was pretty much music, dancing, and drinking. It would be an improvement if they could add some type of dining experience on the beach----even if it was a bbq and buffet. The beach is beautiful---seems a shame to not use it more in the evening. We had emailed the resort prior to our arrival with a general request for location---mostly to be closer to the pool and close to the other couple we were traveling with. It was a pleasure to find that they had received the email and were happy to accommodate us. Rooms are pretty standard. My advice is to take a small plug in room freshener if you are bothered by the musty smell. We just know to expect it and that's how it is in the tropics. This is a fabulous property and runs very smoothly. We were pleased to see the general manager EVERY day walking around the property, talking to employees and visitors. Very approachable and open to anything we had to say----which was keep up the good work. If you select the Iberostar, you will get what you pay for and for us, a bit more than we expected. We felt safe there and enjoyed the locale, surroundings, food, and people. If you want a lot of activity and night life, select a place closer to town. Would I go back---in a heartbeat!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WIAnnabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Cozumel. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team who were very proud to hear your compliments. Furthermore, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the future. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance when you plan your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews