We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our second trip to Iberostar Cozumel. Great weather, friendly staff, decent food, activities for all ages. No airport problems like at Cancun. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Small buildings with 4 or 5 rooms each. Doesn't really matter where you stay as it is not a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozencanuck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,044
    1,787
    632
    227
    112
See reviews for
1,443
1,769
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were at the Iberostar from the 4th to the 18th of February this year and we loved it! While we put a lot of planning into our honeymoon, going to the Iberostar was a last minute switch after seeing all the photos and reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms/buildings were quaint with their bright colors and rustic porches (we were in a second floor unit) and you felt like you had a lot of privacy due to all the beautiful vegitation surrounding them. Initially they were going to put us in a first floor room as they did not have any second floor rooms availabe (which is what we requested) and they would have to move us when one became available, but they found one before we even got down the path and we were able to settle in right away (Thank you Seamuy!). We stayed in 3313 close to the pool area and not far at all from the beach (always my favorite spot). The overall appearance of the resort was relaxing with lots of (not so wild) critters everywhere. The iguanas, parrots, peacocks, etc... added to the charm. For the main dinning area the buffet was pretty impressive with ever changing choices daily that included items such as tuna steak, chateau briand and mousaka, as well as standards that would please even the fussiest diners. The rooms were nice and while there could have been a little more storage, the overall appearance and comfort level was to our taste. I loved the marble floors and the walk in shower. The service overall was excellent and as we were there for 2 weeks, we were able to take advantage of 5 dinner reservations. The Mexican was my favorite and my husband's was the steakhouse. The beach and snorkeling were great and we knew going in that the coral was right there and that was one of the attractions that drew us to the Iberostart. It's also close enough to town to make a trip in relatively pain free (all though it's a little costly at $20 each way), and there was a lot of excursions and activities to take advantage of. We made our way to the show on the resort a number of times, and while it's not Vegas it was fun. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and they recognized it several times with song, champagne and orange juice and good cheer. For Valentines we went for a short walk down the beach to Albertos and had a romantic dinner by tikki torch on the beach (the lobster was excellent). The resort was built in 2000 and time, hurricanes and humidity appear to be the only things that are keeping the Iberostar from being a 5 start resort. Would we go back....definately!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are more exposed to the sun while the north side tended to be more sheltered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KANStaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, Congratulations again! On behalf of the Management and Staff we would like to thank you for sharing your heart-warming review with other travelers on Trip Advisor and for choosing Iberostar Cozumel for this special occasion (honeymoon, Valentine's day and birthday). How wonderful!
Your nice words motivate us to continue working hard to exceed our guests expectations.
We are glad to know, you came back home with such wonderfuf memories.

We look forward to seeing you again soon , it would be our great pleasure to create new memories with you.

Warmest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

just returned from the iberostar. have been there many times..
if you are looking for a great dive resort, this is the place
location....resort is the closest to the reefs which means shortest boat rides. it cost about $20 cab fare to get to town and about $25 to the airport.

dive operations...dressel divers runs the dive shop. they have good equipment and high quality dive masters. sometimes the boats get a little crowded so if you are a snob diver you should consider another shop.. overall this is a great op and one of the reasons we (and many others) return year after year.

food...i think the quality has improved some. there is plenty of variety..remember its an all inclusive and buffets so its not the ritz.

gym...adequate but limited

beach...great beach but rocky entrance to the ocean...plenty of shade and chairs..bar service at the beach...fantastic sunsets but why does the beach bar close before sunset ??

rooms...small with limited closet space..stocked mini fridge in the rooms..all have hammocks on the porch. taking a shower is an adventure at times and requires patience.

service...above average imo...front desk service and bell service very good..in the lobby there is a board with the names of the returning guests arriving that day..the board is full for a reason.

pool...too cold for me in feb but pool bar and plenty of chairs..kind of loud at times

overall i think this is a great resort especially for divers. each year we discuss going somewhere else but continue to return here becasue of the LOCATION, QUALITY AND VALUE.

Room Tip: buildings 11 and 12 are the best for divers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a terrific week at the Iberostar Cozumel for Feb 13-20.
Location was far from downtown - but we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Room was perfect size for 2 people. Probably would be a bit crowded for a family of 4. We are not divers but took advantage of the other recreational activities - sailing, kayaking, snorkeling.
Food was okay - good but not great. El Sarape, the Mexican Restuarant was the best. The Steak House was good - except for the steak. Buffets got a little tiring by the end of the week - but we enjoyed the fresh fruit and french fries on a daily basis.
The service was very good - nearly all of the staff was attentive and helpful.
The Star Friends ... the hired entertainers ... spent their days trying to entertain the guests. They were friendly and engaging. They would sing the song "Hey, Hey Baby - I wanna know if you'll be my girl" multiple times each day ... it got old after a while. Also, they would hoot frequently - "Woo-Woo" ... which also got annoying. All-in-all, however, they helped make the week fun.
Highly recommend the Iberostar Cozumel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a generous and complimentary review. It is indeed, so encouraging to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities but also with our service as well and friendly staff.

We certainly look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Like all Iberostar resorts the grounds are out of this world. They are lush, well manicured and very clean.The pool is a little small but remember the resort is small (304 rooms). We never had an issue getting chairs by the pool but like any resort you find your favorite spot and end up reserving them early. The beach is beautiful, lots of space and more than enough chairs. However, beach shoes are required to enter from beach or going from the pier alot easier. Remember your probably in Cozumel for the SCUBA diving or snorkeling (2nd largest reef in the world).

The rooms are smaller than most resorts i've been to but your in them to sleep. My only suggestion would be to add a dresser, and yes the beds are hard, but we never had a bad nights sleep. However pillows were a little to hard for our liking. That being said our maid (Rita) was awesome, always a stocked fridge, new towel art everyday and always clean...a few dollars goes along way.

The restaurants...Steak house was great, my wife had the tenderloin and you could cut it with a fork. The Mexican...when booking we looked at the menu and it was just Tacos,don't let that discourage you from booking because you never had Tacos like these (amazing).
Snack bar was good, always something to eat.
Buffet was alot better than expected, lots of fish,chicken,pork,beef,sea food and even lamb one night.

The drinks...I was a little disappointed with the margaritas at the pool bar, ended up drinking flamingo's instead,Nicholas was great. We did get great margaritas at the lobby bar, thanks Miguel and my wife said the banana daquiers and mojitos were amazing.

The star friends were probably the highlight of the week, pool games, beach games, dancing, talking with the guests and after that they do the shows at night. They work 14,15 hours a day and are always smiling.I know its part of the job but these guys are awesome. Thanks Victor,Eber,Diago,Frannsico,Mario and Allahandro.

The staff at this place are some of the nicest people we have met, they are professional and friendly,thanks for making our week that much more special.

One more thing,spend the 20$ to get to town,its beautiful, its fun and its cheaper to buy your souvenirs there.

I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8311,right next to pool,beach and snack bar and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Iberostar Cozumel. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore, it is an honour that you had a nice time with employees, we will especially compliment our star friends for their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your motivating and inspiring feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Cozumel again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed Feb 11-18 and have no complaints at all. I could go into the ususal stuff about the food, the hard beds, rocky beach, etc. but instead I would like to talk about some of the things I discovered while at the resort. First, all rooms have showers only, no tubs. So if you are in the mood for a good soak in your room after a day out, you are out of luck. BUT---there is a jacuzzi at the spa and it is open to anyone. However, you need to make a reservation for it. We had no problem booking the times and days that we wanted. It was always available. Next, there is no iron or ironing board in the room. You need to ask for them and they will be delivered at the time you request. They told us it was only for an hour since they are in short supply---but nobody ever came to get it. Our hair dryer worked fine, but it is a bit old fashioned---just a tube with an end on it---still worked fine. We stood in line to make our dinner reservations for the 2 allowed nights and dined at the Mexican one night and the steakhouse another. Mexican was entertaining---our waiter had three flaming entrees to prepare and present. We took a chance on the days that we did not have reservations and checked at the reservation desk mid=afternoon to see if we could get into one of the a la carte restaurants and were pleasantly surprised to hear "yes". So we had a second night at the steakhouse----we all decided the rib eye was by far the best choice. The ribs were ok, the sirloin not so flavorable, and the tenderloin was a bit tough but still tasted ok. Another evening we were able to get into the American restaurant, so 4 nights our of 7 we had a la carte. The other nights we were either off the property (definitely visit La Lobsteria for the finest meal ever!) or we ate at the buffet. Plenty of food for anyone to find something to satisfy them. There was a beach party one evening on and it was pretty much music, dancing, and drinking. It would be an improvement if they could add some type of dining experience on the beach----even if it was a bbq and buffet. The beach is beautiful---seems a shame to not use it more in the evening. We had emailed the resort prior to our arrival with a general request for location---mostly to be closer to the pool and close to the other couple we were traveling with. It was a pleasure to find that they had received the email and were happy to accommodate us. Rooms are pretty standard. My advice is to take a small plug in room freshener if you are bothered by the musty smell. We just know to expect it and that's how it is in the tropics. This is a fabulous property and runs very smoothly. We were pleased to see the general manager EVERY day walking around the property, talking to employees and visitors. Very approachable and open to anything we had to say----which was keep up the good work. If you select the Iberostar, you will get what you pay for and for us, a bit more than we expected. We felt safe there and enjoyed the locale, surroundings, food, and people. If you want a lot of activity and night life, select a place closer to town. Would I go back---in a heartbeat!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WIAnnabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Cozumel. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team who were very proud to hear your compliments. Furthermore, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the future. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance when you plan your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I arrived at the Iberostar Cozumel on February 3, and I have to say - the resort itself was absolutely beautiful. Upon checking into our rooms, my building was located right across from the dive shop (being a diver myself, this was extremely convenient for the 18 other divers I went with.)

The buffet was excellent, it was one of the best buffets I have ever been too. Every night they had a different theme night at the buffet which made up for the lack of a la cartes they offer. Speaking of the a la cartes there was the Steakhouse, the Mexican, and also the American. You were allowed two choices and we decided to go with the Steakhouse and the Mexican. The steakhouse was amazing, the meat was cooked to perfection and the vegetables were amazing. The Mexican restaurant was okay, I think we had better Mexican food on the excursion we went on.

The staff was always very friendly and attentive especially the day time bar tender in the main lobby. Everyone was always so anxious to make sure you were having a good time.

Even the Saturday, we threw a party at a friends beach front suite where they had their own private pool, we tipped the beach bar bartender 20.00 and he made sure for the next 5 hours we had constant drinks coming, and coming, including many shots of tequila.

If you're a diver, the diving is great. Although I didn't go on the trip to the Cenotes on the main land, 6 of our group did, and said they trip was well worth it and if you get the chance to do it, to take that chance and go.

The rooms were comfortable and nice, although some did have issues with the A/C I had no complaints. My room was always nice and cool and I always looked forward to curling into bed at night.

I would recommend this resort to anyone and everyone and I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samantha_ann89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Iberostar Cozumel. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore, it is an honor that you had a nice time with employees, we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

I can assure you that we will keep working and do our best to improve your next stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again and help in creating new memories.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
11.4 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
4.2 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
22.6 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
4.0 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Visit Us Inc., Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HRS, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing