We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
409
197
34
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
197
34
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat crewdive resortnight diveunlimited shore divingdive staffdive shopreef catnon diversgreat divetwilight divegreat place for diverstoad fishrinse tanksgear lockerssea horsesspecial of the daydays diving
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 667 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We where their 1/28/18 to 2/04/18 My friend lost his dive belt on a reef which was 15 lbs and a pink belt, the next boat diving was also from scuba club cozumel, found the belt.and turned weights in to the boat. my friend paid for the weights and belt $58.00 and when the second boat came in the dive shop denied getting the weights for 3 days and would not refund the money for the belt which was brought back to the boat. either had lied or kept the money. Poor service over $58.00. I normally come down with Dolphin dive club Sacramento Mike Johnson will know of this.dive shop ( 0) )

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zbnrumfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy M, Manager at Scuba Club Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

We did issue a $100 credit to your friend for the misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018

If you're traveling with a dive club/group - IOW have your own Dive Master and/or instructor with you - this is a good option. However, they are NOT set up to deal with individuals: don't match you up with a dive buddy, etc. It's more "mass production" type of dive accommodations: here's the boat; get your stuff onto/off of it; captain will get you to the site and dive master will lead the way, but that's about it.

Rooms are nice - large, comfortable, clean. Bed was comfortable for me - not too hard or soft. Note that, if you're on the street side, you do hear the hum of traffic noise. I felt safe in this hotel and in the neighborhood. No elevator.

Food is good and restaurant services are good. Front desk staff and concierge are nice/helpful. Three meals/day are included in the package pricing.

RE the package pricing = What they say and nothing more. Everything else is an upcharge. e.g. 2 boat dives/day = two-tank dive on same outing (either am or pm).

Room Tip: Looks like a great room on the 4th floor facing the bay - but there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louann_for
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy M, Manager at Scuba Club Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Sorry you felt left out while you were here. You are in charge of your own gear and getting on the boat that is assigned. We divide the people up into smaller groups of 6-8 divers per divemaster onboard the boat. This becomes your group and the Divemaster is there to assist you and you are welcome to dive with them as we dive as a group while drift diving. If you needed a private divemaster we could have arranged that but you would have needed to ask for it. Most of our individual divers usually end up making friends amoung the other guests and usually feel comfortable diving in the group. We hope that you'd give it another try someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

Gear rental is available on site. We had a great time. We saw stingrays, a spotted moray eel, puffer fish, crabs, and all kinds of beautiful fish. There is an easy stair acces into the ocean. The views are beautiful and the beach side hammocks are relaxing.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank electricman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy M, Manager at Scuba Club Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

Our beach diving isn't as impressive as the reefs we dive but..... Some of the best photos people take are right off our back yard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

SCUBA Club Cozumel is a nice older dive resort right on the ocean. The rooms & grounds are well cared for and most of the place has a good view of the ocean. There's a dive shop on site for rentals, tanks & EANx, as well as rinse tanks & lockers. Our boat crew (Reef Diver) & DM (Gieser) were great. They have a dock for their boats to pick up divers, but no procedure if there's weather. We had one day of rough seas, not too bad for diving, just too rough for them to get their boat in. So, the whole day was called. If you're hard-core & there only to dive it's rather upsetting. I've been to other dive resorts that keep their boats in a marina. On bad weather days instead of bringing the boats to us they brought in a bus & took us to the boat. The 'house reef' is unremarkable.

The diving was good, but not my kind of diving. The current was fast on most of the sites. I SCUBA for one reason, to see beautiful stuff, not fly by beautiful stuff. If you like to take it slow & have never done drift diving, you may want to go elsewhere, or go just for the experience. Some folks love it, I'm just not one of them. We met one fellow that had been back so many times he had over 100 dives there & another gal that has been there nine times.

The restaurant staff, especially the manager Mario & waiter Francisco, were very friendly & personable. There was one waiter that was unfriendly & un-personable, it felt like an imposition asking him for something. Most meals were average with one or two that were very good. My wife loved the coconut ice cream. Drinks are a little pricey considering it's Mexico, but that too is how it goes at tourist locations.

I would return, if the diving was different.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a real balcony / patio with a view of ocean. Be sure to ask for one if that's important to you.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcnwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy M, Manager at Scuba Club Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we welcome all comments and can learn from them. As for no proceedures for bad weather, we do have proceedures for all types of weather, unfortunately the Port Authorities decide if the port is open or closed. When closed diving is cancelled for all boats. Drift diving isn't for everyone, but I would tell you to give it another try as currents are not always fast, there are times when currents are almost nil and the current is normally very enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018

Had a great time at scuba club for the 24th year. The wait staff did a great job of taking care of everyone during a very busy week. The boat and dive staff did a great job of getting all of us to the dive sites, even when the weather was not the best. The rooms were clean and well kept. hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1920VJbrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy M, Manager at Scuba Club Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Thanks for the kind words, the two of you are an institution here at SCC and a Janury/Feb wouldn't be complete with out a visit from you. Stay well and hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews