We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic shop ”

Pepe Scuba Dive Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a PADI International Resort;located inside the Coral Princess Hotel.Open to the Public,offering 2 Tank Boat Dive trips,with pick up service from other locations.All levels-PADI Dive Certification Training,Snorkel trips,Night Diving,Equipment Rental.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Spent three days diving with these guys, we did a refresher course and then 4 dives. It's very convenient from the coral princess hotel as you can go straight in to the boat from there. All the times we were diving the groups were small and the dive sites we were brought to were all fantastic.

1  Thank roundtheworld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thank you for your comments.You have travelled a long way to visit us and dive and enjoy our beautiful Cozumel Island,its people and culture.Glad you had a nice experience.Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Mexico.Have a safe return home and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2015

We did five days of diving with them. It's very convenient to dive just out of the coral princess resort. We also saw some people diving out of downtown. They were picked and dropped off at the pier in downtown. Just be sure to ask if they will be mixing certified divers with other taking certification on the same boat. It happened once to us that we found out at the dive site that the Dm was going to be down at 100 feet with a father and a son certifying them as advanced and we were supposed to meet them later during the dive. There were strong current and suddenly we saw the son coming down out of nowhere, totally disoriented and falling into the depths out of the wall. Wasn't it for my dive buddy and I that we grabbed him and took him with us, God knows what might have happened. A few minutes later we found father and Dm taking selfies with the go pro totally unaware of the lost kid. Back into the boat we found out that father had only 9 logged dives and 15 year old son had 6 dive logged and they were being certified as advanced divers!! Back on the store we talked to the other dive master and requested to dive only with him for the remainder of the days. Valente was the good dive master that took us the rest of the days and Abdias the one with the incident.

3  Thank argie_adf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thank You for taking the time to express your comments.We do not always get it right but everyone at Pepe Scuba tries their best.The incident date was unfortunate as the currents were very fast and tricky.Divers showed their competence levels on prior dives but prior logged dives ,given to Instructor Abdias were not correct.As we dicussed after the dive, He should have used better judgement.Fortunately,we dive as a group and many THANKS to you and your Buddy for the assistance.Hope to see you again and Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I visited Cozumel this year, July 4-11. This was my second trip to Cozumel, and the second time I dove with Pepe's. I rated it 5 stars last year and they earned another 5 stars this year. I dove 6 morning dives and 1 night dive, and they were all amazing. We dove walls, swim- throughs, shallows' and the coral and marine life were varied and stunning every dive. For most of my dives the dive-master was a man named Abdias and you cannot find a more professional and conscientious person to dive with. At times, there were a couple of students with us, but Abdias managed to get his work done with them and still take care of everyone else. Nothing escapes his eyes, from the minuscule to the most reclusive. The other dive-master is a man named Valente who is also extremely capable. Frank, the owner, manages the shop and he is genial and very accommodating. Pepe's has two boats, and they carry small groups: the largest group I dove with had 9 people total. It is a full service dive shop and they offer dive instruction and certification. Matter of fact, there was one family who switched over from one of the other dive shops to Pepe's to complete their son's Open Water certification. Another couple cancelled their dives at another shop when they heard us talking about our dives during breakfast. Pepe's is located on site at the Coral Princess hotel, and the dive boat picks you up at the water's edge about twenty yards from the rear of the hotel. By the way, the Coral Princess is an excellent place to stay.

1  Thank John_Beaufort_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Hola Amigos:
It was a pleasure for us to have you diving with us.The crew at Pepe Scuba tries their best to make sure everyone has a worthwhile dive experience.Hope to see you again in the future.Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.Haappy Bubbles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Custom made to order scuba diving. On our first dive our dm-abadias asked us what kinds of animals we would like to see or haven't ever seen while diving. The list was rather long and would require having a few very chance encounters. After a week of dives, Abadias had found, and helped us photograph everything on the list.
On one of our dives some other scuba company had "forgotten" they still had divers down, and left. Our captain found the divers bobbing around, and radioed their boat to come back for them. We had a group of 12 divers of various age and experience, so we had divers surfacing all over the place at different times, and our captain always kept the boat within about 20 feet of us. Pepe scuba provided a once in a lifetime dive experience and accommodated our every need, wish, and desire from technical/safety needs, and physical limitations, to always going that xtra mile.

1  Thank Tgnswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thanks again for taking the time to comment and glad you had a pleasurable experience.With all the many divers on our beautiful reefs sometimes it is easy to have dive groups mix.We are fortunate here in Cozumel as our National Marine Park has various programs of information for all to enjoy our diving.Most of all us Dive Operators try to be very conscious and help out each other while out on the reefs.Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

They need more space. To packed or mixing student with experienced divers. Also no Nitrox at the Dive Shop (need one day anticipate to have it).

1  Thank cpostali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Hola Amigos:We are open and cater to all of levels of divers.Whenever posible we separate divers after we see how they dive.This day we had a mixed small group.The majority of Cozumel Dive shops do not fill tanks,we are serviced by one of the two large providers.Nitrox is readily available,but usually ordered the day before.If I recall we were able to take you diving on a walk up basis.Diving as you know is service related,so we try to opérate on an advance reservation basis,but many times,it is also on a space available basis for walk ins.Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comments.We can also arrange special private trips,prices vary depending on service requested.Hope to see you again.Regards Frank & Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepe Scuba Dive Shop also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pepe Scuba Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing