We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,172)
Filter reviews
2,172 results
Traveller rating
1,009
655
305
116
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,009
655
305
116
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed babieca dive center activities director cruise ship one bedroom suite tower rooms hot tub beach area day pass fish the general manager juan carlos all inclusive plan the wait staff all inclusive package time share timeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 2,172 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2018

Very good service from all staff. We were supposed to have a large room but it was not available when we arrived. When it became available it was too much trouble to re-pack and move. I slept on an uncomfortable fold out sofa the entire week. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joy80mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time in sharing your kind review through TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay during your last visit to El Cid La Ceiba Beach and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the service form our staff.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience occurred with your room reservation and for the uncomfortable nights during your stay, we will make sure to reinforce with our entire staff any deviation in our service in order to offer you a better service in your next visit.

We look forward to have the opportunity to greet you again in a near future,pleae don´t hesitate to contact us in cae of future assitance.

Sicerely,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

The place was gorgeous and my mother and I had a fabulous time. The thing that originally sold me was the HOT TUB BAR, and it was pretty stinking cool. Especially right next to the ocean. The one issue was that it could have been a few degrees warmer. Almost every time I was in (which was pretty much everyday) other people commented about how it could be a tad warmer. That being said it wasn't cold enough to be too distracting or uncomfortable. The rooms looked almost exactly like the pictures and seem to have been recently updated, aka stylish with fuzzy rugs. My mother thought the bed was a tad soft, but I thought it was really stinking comfortable. Also the pullout couch was a memory foam and I loved it. The pictures didn't show a sandy beach, but there was a smaller one that was actually pretty cool. Also the snorkeling right at the resort was remarkably impressive. And everyday the staff made these super-cool towel animals which always made us smile. The downsides were the AC in the main room was loud (though I never called to have it looked at so that could have been fixed). The one awkward thing we noticed was that the evening turn down staff were using our toilets and not flushing. We both initially thought we had just forgot, but we realized that it was a pattern and we didn't really feel comfortable bringing it up. Maybe we were supposed to tip twice a day and they were upset? We weren't sure, but it wasn't terrible, just weird. Also I thought the food was pretty great (esp the breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and made to order omelettes and crepes), but my mother has food allergies and found it a little challenging (that being said she's my mom so please also that that with a grain of salt.) The last issue was that they said they had a daily schedule of fun activities on site (bingo, water aerobics etc) but apparently some days they just didn't have any. However that just meant more time for sunning on their great deck and sitting in the hot tub bar (did I mention how fantabulous that was?) All in all the resort was pretty amazeballs and I would absolutely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Dear Guest,

Than you very much for taking the time to sharing your review in base to your recent visit to El Cid La Ceiba Beach.

We are satisfied to realize under your comments that you spent a wonderful time during your vacation at our resort and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our beach, services, facilities, room accommodations and the amenities at the room (Towel decoration).
Your positive comments make us feel so happy and proud because we had the opportunity to meet your expectations.

With the same enthusiasm, we receive your feedback in relation to the bad functioning of the AC in your room and about the uncomfortable situation during the turndown service. Please receive our sincerest apologies for these inconveniences we can assure you that we already are taking the necessary actions as well as penalties to avoid this conduct in order to keep offering the best quality of service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. And please don´t hesitate to contact us in case of any assistance we will be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

the room was very comfortable, the resort clean, the staff did a very good job at every position. Food was okay for breakfast but I would not do the all inclusive. The bar drinks were fine and bottled beer is national brand bottled beer. Any issues we had were dealt with quickly and the staff did all they could to make our stay comfortable. However....
This resort is not a destination resort... meaning we would not go there with the intent of staying at the resort. La Ceiba makes for a good base from where to explore but a vehicle is a necessity. Diving tours are available at the resort and locally along the strip and there is a nice public beach within short driving distance. There is NO beach at the resort and the view is not of a tropical paradise with aqua colored water and white sand. The view is dominated by a Cruise ship dock and ships..... when in port.
We give the resort staff kudos for helpfulness, friendliness and effort but we found the resorts location and amenities lacking at best.
I'm glad I went to La Ceiba to see the resort but we will not go back to this resort for our next 'beach' vacation

Room Tip: upper floors of the tower will have the nicer view. The three story building rooms were nice but cruise ships dominated the view.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hottratt1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We don´t have enough words to thank you for all your kind comments about our resort and for the service form our staff, all your positive comments make us feel so proud of each member of our team, as we can realize that their kindness, effort and culture of service as you commented create on each of our guests a positive and pleasant memory.

It is a shame to hear that you don´t consider come back to our resort, but hopefully, we could have another opportunity to greet you in the future. We will always to your service and glad to serve you.

Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Vacation Friday, February 2nd. to Friday, February 9th. 2018

This was our first visit to Cozumel, we decided to stay at the El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel. We booked a Sun Country vacation for 7 days, 8 nights. We were in room 1232 on the top floor, this room was very clean and well kept. Even though there were cruise ships parked VERY close daily, it was the "International Cruise Terminal", we enjoyed the view and activity. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful, possible one of the friendliest we've encountered traveling to Mexico for several years. Although the pool and the man-made beach are very small, we never had an issue finding a spot to relax.

Cab fares from the El Cid to Downtown are $8.00 one way, this gets expensive traveling back and forth daily. The restaurant’s in town are mostly overpriced, we found a couple that were good and cheap, but for the most part overpriced.

We ate the buffet breakfast daily at the hotel restaurant, very reasonably priced $10.50 each, with a decent selection of food and friendly waiters. You could request omelets, waffles, French toast made by the chef, or dine from the buffet line.

The only issue I have with this hotel is there's no gym. There's a room with a couple of tread mills, a bench, one adjustable stack of weights, some plates with no bar, in a room the size of a closet with no view. Not a Gym at all!

Room Tip: Room in the tower, high up.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Mr. Gorrie,

It is a great pleasure to have the opportunity to read your comments on this platform.

We are very satisfied to hear that your recent stay at our resort was very pleasant and comfortable and that you also had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities, services and the most important the warmth of our staff.

Your positive comments motivate us to keep doing our best effort and keep creating positive experiences for each of our guests because the satisfaction of our guest it is our satisfaction too.

We hope to have the opportunity to greet you again in the future.

Cordially,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018

This was the worst all inclusive I've ever been to. The food was disgusting and mostly inedible. My friend was served the worst margarita she's ever had. It was like it was tequila and watered down pinesol. It's not an "all inclusive" when you have to be careful of what food and drink you order as to not incur an additional charge. The wifi was unreasonable expensive, and they charged for bottled water in the room which is particularly offensive. Overall, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank christinegraceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS3, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

Dear Mrs. Hutcheson,

Beforehand, I would like to thank you for sharing your past experience through this website.

For us, it is a shame to hear that you had an uncomfortable and unpleasant stay during your holidays at our resort.

The value that your feedback represent for us it is very important because it is with your comments that we are able to keep the service that always distinguished to our resort.

We would like to share with you that the process of food and beverages preparation, is carried out under a strict quality standard that allows guaranteeing the quality of our drinks and meals, but nevertheless, we will make sure that this procedure is being carried out properly in all our bars and kitchens in order to improve any deficit or deviation in the service.

We certainly understand that this and the rest of the occurred inconveniences mentioned during your stay leave a displeasure memories on each of you. But we can assure you that the service offered in our facilities has a high-quality level.

Our committed to our guests is unbreakable and our mission is to make our guest happy offering them a stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope to have a second opportunity to serve as you deserve and disappear this unpleasant experience in the future.

I will be always to your service.

Sincerely,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews