We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“second trip to Casa Colonial, feels like a second home!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Colonial
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“second trip to Casa Colonial, feels like a second home!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our second stay at Casa Colonial, and it was just as wonderful as our first stay, over a year ago. The villas are spacious, charming, comfortable, safe, and so welcoming. Sarah, one of the owners, has become a fast friend and is wonderful in every way, helpful in making travel arrangements, restaurant suggestions, giving us interesting tidbits of information about Cozumel and life in Mexico. It really is such a wonderful place to go to get away from it all and yet have such easy access to all the wonderful things available in Cozumel! We had a wonderful time, and plan to return, many many times!

Many thanks to Sarah and Bob and Casa Colonial!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife, Marla, and I just returned form two weeks at Casa Colonial. We have been vacationing in Cozumel for many years. I found Casa Colonial by accident on a web search in 2000 when Bob and Sarah opened for business. From our very first visit “Bob and Sarah” made us feel at home. From the first time there we always felt safe in the area and the property is always in beautiful condition upon arrival. We visit at least once a year and over the years they have upgraded the amenities year after year. Compared to other locations on the island Casa Colonial is always ahead of the curve!! Sarah always updates us with what’s new and gives us the right information on all local spots. We always love seeing all the turtles in the garden not to mention the “iguanas”! We love going to the “Lobster House” on each visit for the “best lobster anywhere”! Also enjoy the pleasure of visiting another restaurant nearby called “El Pique”! No matter where else we may travel, Marla and I are ALWAYS looking forward to our next vacation at “Casa Colonial”! Thanks for everything Bob and Sarah

Room Tip: All four villas are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagram, Afghanistan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This low-key resort is a small walled-in property with a security gate at the entrance. You only have access if you have a key. There are only 4, 2-bedroom villas surrounding a garden and pool area. It is a very quaint and quiet area. Sarah was very hospitable and was full of information. She gave us a thorough orientation to the island and the best places to eat and shop. The Villas are simply awesome in feel and amenities. The garden and pool area are a nice touch with Iguanas and turtles as local residents. It is in a prime location as nothing is too far away, even to walk. Sarah was so nice as to allow us to switch units as the other had a tub. If you are looking for something more personal and non-commercial you cannot go wrong here. And if you are completely new to the island and Mexico, Sarah will tell you all you need to know, complete with a custom map of the island. I highly recommend Casa Colonial as a place to stay!

Room Tip: All units are the same except for tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tega Cay, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Spent a week at Casa in mid-April with two other couples. Had been there five years earlier with the same folks. The property is comprised of four, two bedroom/bath units, situated around a pool and garden, all of which is within a walled enclosure with a locking gate. The units include a kitchen, living and dining room, the bedrooms are spacious. The water is clean and drinkable right out of the tap. The property is very well taken care of, with maid service daily. The owners frequently stop in to check on you and they are both knowledgeable and very very nice folks (Americans). We did a little diving, got massages, explored the island and otherwise depleted the tequila supply on the island. We plan to return, it's our go-to place in Coz.

Room Tip: Really no difference between the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevnpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

This is just one of many stays we have had at Casa Colonial. Robert,Sarah and their son Bradley are the perfect hosts. From the time you enter the hacienda doors, it's all about YOU! They know what is good and what isn't. Not only is it very romantic, but very functional for multiple guests. Use Sara to book local attractions. The fishing guide service they use is absolutely outstanding. We've never come back without dinner!
The critters are great. An army of turtles greet you every morning and the big green iquana likes to visit often. Muchas Gracias to Maria, also. She keeps it spotless!
See you next year
Carl,Marsha & Michelle

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Just got back from a 9 day stay at Casa Colonial with 3 friends. We absolutely loved it and were so sad to leave!

Location is wonderful. 10-15 minute easy walk to main square, which gave us the perfect chance to explore the town. We picked a new street to walk down every day and loved finding new tiny restaurants, shops, and homes with beautiful Virgin of Guadalupe altars. No tourists in our neighborhood--it felt like we lived there! Perfectly safe even late at night.

Having a kitchen saved us tons of money. We stopped by the nearby supermarket every couple of days so that we could have beer, snacks, and fresh fruit available whenever we wanted. Every morning we would soak up sunshine in the courtyard with pastries and coffee.

Sarah is hilarious and a great resource. We loved her hand-made map of local restaurants and carried it everywhere we went. No matter how obscure our questions were, she was always ready to call around and find an answer for us. She greeted us with ice-cold beers on arrival and had her gardener cut down fresh coconuts for us to drink.

Like others have said, the villas are spacious and comfortable, with beautiful open design throughout. We loved having a pool available 24/7 for lounging or midnight swims. And I was amazed at the free phone service to the US and free internet.

On the weekends sometimes there can be some street noise (bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper), but overall we slept better than we have in years!

I would highly recommend Casa Colonial to anyone who is excited about leaving the tourist track and seeing daily life in Cozumel. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varlathebrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

My husband and I own a Caribbean resort and so when we go on holiday we are picky travelers, we are not high maintenance, but we do expect great service and Casa Colonial and owners, Sarah and Bob, exceeded all our expectations. The 4-villa hotel is at a perfect location, within walking distance to town, but in a quiet neighborhood in a gorgeous, luxurious setting, including a beautiful pool, and landscaped courtyard, which was a great place to relax after exploring the island. They provided a very detailed map with all their favorite spots for restaurants, shopping, diving and things to explore on the island. They set up a rental car for us and put us in contact with an excellent dive shop to take us out on our own personal dive. The villas were spacious, charming, comfortable and clean. We felt very safe, very pampered and had the time of our lives. Sarah and Bob went out of their way to make our stay with them a perfect holiday, one we hope to repeat and will recommend to many. This is a wonderful alternative to an all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
1.3 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,468 reviews
11.8 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#15 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
8.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial

Property: Casa Colonial
Address: Av. 35 Entre 8 Y 10 #420, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Colonial brings you the richness of authentic Mexican style not found in most hotels and vacation rentals. Experience the feeling of being transported back in time to a small quaint Mexican village, with one major difference; you are in a resort in the heart of San Miguel, Cozumel. Every view will let you know that you are in Mexico, with all of its architectural history and distinctive design elements. Everything from the original Colonial art work to the hand crafted furniture will give you the feeling that you are on vacation in old Colonial Mexico! Casa Colonial is 4 villas surrounded by a privacy wall. An extra large and lush tropical garden surround the pool and Jacuzzi. Each villa is uniquely designed and has two bedrooms and two and one half baths and sleeps up to 5 comfortably in each villa. We specialize in groups of family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Casa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing