We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend Condumel for your trip to Cozumel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Condumel Condobeach Apartments
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We recently spent eight nights at Condumel and enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again and would recommend it, however it may not be for everyone depending on what kind of vacation you are looking for. It is a “condo” but run more like a small hotel. There are eight units total, which made it small, quaint, and quiet. We were there in the off season (and arrived during a tropical wave storm) and were the only guests for the first five nights. The condos are spacious, with separate bed room, living area, full kitchen and full over-sized beautifully tiled bath. We liked it well enough to extend our stay - twice !
It is not an all inclusive which is why we stayed there. We made our own breakfast and lunch and went to town for supper. Condumel provides all guests some groceries. You only pay for what you open or use. The prices are about the same as the grocery store and convenient since we arrived tired and thirsty. Our fridge was stocked with milk, bread, butter, tiny bottles of mayo, mustard & ketchup, Dos Equis beer, coke, sugar, instant coffee, peanuts, eggs, mineral water, and flavored mineral water and several flavors of Jumex juices. (To give you an idea of cost – the beer was .70 cents each). There are also large bottles of white wine, vodka, run, tequila, and margarita mix in the cabinet.
The place is older, but in good condition and maintained very well. It has good patina. The maid service is top notch and probably one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed – no kidding. There are no separate “no smoking” rooms, which concerned us, but that was not an issue and we are fairly picky about this. The rooms were super clean and well ventilated. They have ceiling fans and a wall unit AC. Both the living area and bedroom have large screened/glass sliding doors that face the ocean which is a few feet away. We kept the windows open most of the time just for the incredible view. Each room has an in-closet safe deposit box. Condumel also provides a “security” guard at night. He is usually sits out front. They have a handy man that cleans the beach and rakes the sand everyday. Parking, if you get a car, is on the street, but that is not an issue as there is the “old main street”, now a residential road, next to the current primary road that runs in front of Condumel.
There is a man made private beach with shade palapas, lounge chairs, wood chairs, a hammock and a few palm trees. The beach is small as the place is called “iron shore” which is rocky shore that drops straight off into the water. (There are no real beaches anywhere on most of the west side of the island, but this is where all the hotels are as the east side water is much too rough to swim) The water at Condumel is a beautiful azure blue and from their “beach” it drops off to 10-12’ deep. There is excellent snorkeling right there and along the shore. They have a ladder to help you in and out and a diving board (which was removed for repair during our trip – which was okay – we jumped off the sea wall anyway). One thing we liked was that there were vacant lots on either side of Condumel, unlike the other more expensive places that are right next door to one another.
The manager is Sara (Sarita) and she was a great hostess and concierge. She provided directions, recommendations for tours and restaurants, and made tour/snorkel/rental car reservations for us when we needed help. She also gave us addresses to stores where true locals shop so we could avoid the tourist prices down town. Her advice was great and we were appreciative. She has a great book exchange in her office too.
Condumel is on the north side of the island and is the closest hotel/condo to the town of San Miguel (other than small non-beach downtown places). We walked there, or got a taxi for $5, before we rented our car. It’s about ½ mile to the edge of town (10 minutes) and about ¾ to one mile to the main plaza. There is a safe sidewalk most of the way. You have to walk pass the airforce base entrance and the military base entrance on the way. There is also a small grocery store (Sedena Grocery) nearby. The “Mega” store –which is like a new giant wal mart - is on the other side of town, and they will have everything you could possibly need and more. We shopped at Mega and they do take USD with a good conversion rate. Try the ice cream shop on the bottom floor of Mega!

Some things to note: Condumel has old plumbing, so No TP in the toilet – it goes in the waste basket, not our usual custom of flushing it. There are no room keys (which means you can’t lose it), but a push button combination on the front door. There is no glass in the windows on the east side – they are beautiful teak wood with screen and louvered windows – very easy to operate. They provide full sized bars of soap (Palmolive) but no lotion or shampoo/conditioner and no hair dryer. You will need to ask for both beach towels and wash cloths. The King bed does not have a box spring. It is on an attractive teak platform, so the bed is quite firm. You also have to pay in cash or with travelers checks. We had been concerned about mailing the deposit check in advance as we has never had to do that anywhere else, but it worked out fine. No worries there.

Because it is close to town, there is some traffic noise from the street, but it is not overly distracting. The north end hotel zone does not have much traffic. The marina is also close by, so you will have boat traffic out front – but never too close to the hotel shore. The boats are fun to watch, but keep in mind they are there, so don’t snorkel way off shore. Same with the cruise ship traffic. You will see them come and go, but they are far off shore. The airport is also close, so while sitting on your beach at Condumel you will experience some airport noise, but not too much. There just aren’t that many daily flights in and out.

Helpful hint about transportation from the airport:
When you arrive at the airport and need transportation to your hotel look for “Transportation Terrestre” booth. Transportation Terrestre are large white vans that run shuttles to the hotels. When you pass through Customs, go to your far right and look for their booth to buy the shuttle tickets. Completely ignore everyone else who tries to wave you over to their booth. Shuttle tickets are $8.00 USD per person and they pair you up with other tourists in your hotel zone that are going in the same direction. The other customer service guides, while looking authentic, are trying to scam you into timeshare and condo sales. We got caught for about a minute until we realized what they were up to. Don’t be fooled by their cheap car rentals and free deals. Once the Terrestre bus dropped us at Condumel, we settled in and appreciated the location and the basic services provided.

We think that Condumel is a much better value than the pricey all-inclusives. You fend for yourself at breakfast & lunch and then you get to experience all the great restaurants Cozumel has in the evenings. We enjoyed our visit and are checking our calendar to see how soon we can return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our second stay at the Condumel and it was as wonderful as our first visit. This is consistently the best place to stay on the island. Large and comfortable accommodations, attentive, friendly and helpful staff, sparkling clean throughout, fantastic views, private beach and patio area. The condo was perfectly appointed with a well stocked refrigerator, kitchen and bar. Prices are very reasonable. The condo lends itself well to scuba divers and has areas to rinse equipment, but is also perfect for the non-diver and has some of the best snorkeling off its private beach than we experienced anywhere else on the island. We saw colorful fish and turtles each time we snorkeled in our own back yard. The condo is attractive and well designed in every respect. The bedroom, living room kitchen and bathroom are all oversized and have an open feel. The bed was firm and very comfortable. We could have lived here full time! It was a wonderful visit and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treeski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We just returned from our third stay at Condumel. This property has everything we are looking for in a relaxing vacation. The snorkeling is great right off the walled beach area. It is located in the quieter north zone. Rooms are spotlessly clean. There is no pool, but we don't need one. There are no phones or televisions, but we don't want them. There is wireless internet access for those who want it. We feel perfectly safe at this property. The fridge is stocked with essentials for breakfast and snacks. You pay for what you use. Beer and pop are 70 cents each. There is an assortment of liquor and wine. What you use is replenished daily. The manager, Sara, is a gem, who will make any arrangements you request. Henny and Estella will happily take care of any laundry for you. I can't imagine us staying anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEMCADAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

10 days at Condumel was not enough. The views are enough to take your breath away until you realize there is a diving board and amazing snorkeling just feet from your bedroom. Service here is just great. The first night, I found the bed to be too hard for my taste. I asked the maid the next day if they had anything to make it softer and within 10 minutes, she had added a foam egg crate and remade the bed. Our unit was cleaned every morning (except Sunday). On one day, the maids did our laundry while we were away exploring the east side. We came home to it all folded neatly on the bed. All this for about $5-7 US. We even lost our safe key and management had everyone looking for it before calling in a locksmith to replace it. We were only charged $20.00.

We had breakfast and sometimes lunch every day overlooking the water. All this for around $100 a nite in the low season is too good to be true! The square is a 5 minute, $3 cab ride. Condumel is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T&DSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

My wife and I just got back from Cozumel after staying at Condumel, and can not say enough great things about it. First, the views of the water are spectacular. Our place had floor to ceiling windows along the entire bedroom and living room walls facing the ocean. We could watch the sunset from the condo (since they all face west), or go out on the patio and sit under the thatch umbrellas.

The condo was spotless, and the kitchen was appointed with all the necessities you need to cook your own meals (but don't forget to go out and enjoy the food in Mexico...we recommend Guido's downtown). The bathroom is gorgeous, with marble everywhere, and the stain and woodwork throught the place is spectacular. We've stayed at an all-inclusive resort in Cozumel before, and would never go back after staying at Condumel.

Finally, the staff at Cozumel are eager to help you. From the gardener, to the maids, to Sara in the main office, to Bill who owns the place and lives in one of the condos, they will all drop what they are doing to help you catch a cab, give you advice on travel plans around the island or to Playa, and will simply go out of their way to make sure you are treated like family. We just got back, and already miss them all.

Condumel is also positioned at probabably one of the best snorkel spots that you can access without a boat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This 8 unit condo is very simple. It is bare bones as far as art, books and there are no electronics. However, the private beach with diving board, a ladder for getting out of the crytal clear aquamarine water, soft sand, beach chairs and palms make up for any lack of artwork. Sara is a great guide for the area with reccommendations for restaurants, parking, events etc. Thr fridge is filled with XX Dos Equis, Coke, juices, milk, eggs and bread. You also have your pick of Rum, Tequila or Vodka. If you use any of these products, you just pay a small amount over grocery store prices. The place is clean and safe, just 1/2 mile from the north end of town. Don't expect entertainment, but if you wish to relax, snorkel, chill and get acquainted with the ocean - this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Condumel is exactly as advertised on its website. It has a quiet, relaxed atmosphere, and everyone who works there is very accommodating. Sara, the manager, (or "Sarita" as she is known on the isla) will help you with anything you need, and she will give you excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities on the island. You truly have your own beautiful beach, and the snorkeling right outside the condo is very good. We saw many different kinds of colorful fish, a yellow spotted stingray, and a baracuda. The staff will take care of your every need. Some staples are provided at very low costs: beer, cokes, water, juices, eggs, bread, butter, condiments, and even different liquors and some wine. Be sure to take your own beach towels.

We have been to Cozumel 5 times, but this was our first time not to stay at a resort. We absolutely loved the personal attention and laid-back atmosphere. From now on, Condumel will always be our home in Cozumel. We highly recommend it.

P.S. There was NO SWINE FLU in Cozumel or anywhere in the state of Quintana Roo. Start traveling again, people!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnorkieSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.9 km away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#29 of 52 in Cozumel
137 reviews
6.1 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 52 in Cozumel
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,950 reviews
7.5 km away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
5.2 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condumel Condobeach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condumel Condobeach Apartments

Address: Carretera Hotelera Norte s/n, Cozumel, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range: $179 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Condumel Condobeach Apartments Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing