We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture, great breakfast and accommodations at a killer value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaranto Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture, great breakfast and accommodations at a killer value”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was our second time staying here. Our host, Jorge, was very accommodating. He gave advice as only a local can on where to go and what to do to make the best of our time. We wouldnt have known to look for the giant "pirate" grouper at Chakanab or where to go to see the blow holes on the east side. Those things arent mentioned in guide books. Manuela make us delicious breakfasts every morning, making it easy to get out of bed. We love this place and will definitely be back. We miss Nohotch (means "Big" in Mayan) the dog who lazily acknowledged our comings and goings. It all made for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollistonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    21
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
73
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We came to Cozumel for the Ironman event at the end of November 2011. Loved the little bed and breakfast, Jorge was a very gracious host and we meet others staying there from around the world. I'm glad we stayed here instead of some of the all inclusive that our friends stayed. We were able to try several wonderful restaurants and still save money vs. what the resorts cost and staying in town gives you a better feel of the life on Cozumel. The rooms are very unique & charming. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had the room at the end of the walk way , so it was the most private. Also, Jorge showed us the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheryl_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Amaranto was great! Tucked away down a side street away from the busy main road and cruise ships. But still within easy walking distance of anything you may need. Very friendly owner, Jorge, who will help you out with anything you may need. A great place to meet other travellers or chill and read by the cool pool.
Had a wonderful stay at an amazing price! Our room was huge! Great little kitchenette and bathroom. Very clean. We recommend it in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Book ahead online because he has limited space and fills up quick! Bring your own snorkel gear out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Budget doesn't have to mean rubbish, Amaranto is more than just a good value bed and stop off, it's potentially a memorable part of your trip.

So the website and the guide book recommendations tell you the place is worth a look, here's why it's worth a stay.

If you call or email the proprietors, local owner and architect Jorge and his lovely Spanish wife they couldn't be more helpful. Rapid responses, all the help you could need to get to them and around, even offers of pickup. That's a reservation service that shames the 4 Seasons.

Next up is the location, 3 mins walk from the lovely Cozumel seafront, 10 from the ferry or town centre. Well placed within easy walks, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

Then you arrive and see the curious thatched roof roundhouse, standing out on an unremarkable street.

You sneak through the gate, past the big lazy old dog into a breakfast room kitchen salon. It's very domestic, basic fresh facilities that serve up basic freshly cooked breakfasts. But also a place to talk to your smiling and charming hosts. They'll tell you all you need about the island, Mexico, or Spain. Genuinely nice, interesting people who live fun international lives, personally designed the B&B and obviously want all their guests to enjoy Cozumel. You instantly get the feeling nothing would be too much trouble.

After you finish chatting and check in, the rooms are full of character, spacious and airy. More thatched roundhouses, lots of space, basic facilities, hammocks and a nice colonial feel.

So there's nothing fancy but the conversation and the zest for ambitious "home" design, there's nothing overdone or fake. Nothing boring or run of the mill. Overall a place, people and location to remember, and all good. Have a good think about the last place you stayed in that you could say that about. And here for less than £40 a night for 2.

Superduper

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TigerTim76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed there in March 2008.
At that time I didn't think about writing a review, but due to the fact that I am back from my last vacation I decided to positively comments this accomodation, too.
Jorge was amazingly kind with the 2 of us.
We had to add one or 2 nights staying and due to some misunderstandings we had, he found us a solution.
We stayed in another room in a place he was renovating and then we moved to Amaranto.
Wonderful bungalow, excentely furnished and decorated.
I personally loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersAngelsTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Wow...I was so impressed with this B&B! Jorge was amazing; so friendly, warm and lowkey. He offered suggestions re: beach, car rental, scuba and snorkeling for us, and they all turned out to be excellent.

Three friends and I stayed in the penthouse. What a unique room! The watchtower at the top was so cute. On the first night, someone was doing construction (apparently illegally) across the street, so it was hard to sleep. We told Jorge and he called the police and gave us earplugs!

The best thing about this place is the breakfast. Oh man I was so full off of it every day, and it was so tasty! Also, free water is an extra bonus.

Of all the hotels in Cozumel, this location is certainly not the best. But there are no beaches right in the city, so either you stay at a beachfront resort, or at any other hotel, have to take a cab to a beach club or something. But anything in the town itself is walkable from Amaranto. The location was hardly an impediment to an excellent trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The place is charming and Jorge is so nice ! (it's the 4th time we come in Amaranto)
Thanks to Jorge we spend a great time in Cozumel. He made us discover nice places (restaurants, snorkling spots, etc.). He even went snorkling with us ! With his knowledge of the spots and his taste for apnea, he showed us many fishes we won't have found ourselves. Much more fun than with a snorkling tour where you don't have time to stop a while to see some fishes closer.
Moreover, we meet nice people there and spent time with them talking in the jakuzi/swinning pool, the evening after a pleasant day in the sea.
For sure, we'll come back !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerveBdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
0.3 km away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
381 reviews
5.5 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
249 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaranto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaranto Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amaranto Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 5 sur # 321 | Calle 5 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Palapas Amaranto)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaranto Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming accommodations in Cozumel Island, Mexico, downtown.The best Scuba Diving destination in the Caribbean!Experience a wonderful vacation in a small hotel with intimate atmosphere, surrounded by beautiful architecture,tastefully decorated rooms, and friendly customized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amaranto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing