We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a unique home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amaranto Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a unique home away from home”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our first time on Cozumel. Friends of ours stayed at the Amaranto and we followed their recommendations. We were delighted with the place. With its beautiful, a unique home away from home, atmosphere complete with a spacious, rustic palm frond roof (with views to the outside that are accessible by a ladder) top tower suite. The fans in the room along with the ocean breeze from the windows kept the room cool. Our host Jorge paid close attention to detail and made sure we were happy and comfortable during our one week stay this February. Arranging for us a rental car on short notice and personally guiding us to a small restaurant for dinner after a long day of diving even giving recommendations on where to wash our clothes as we were diving and back-packing this trip. Manuela does a wonderful breakfast, even accommodating my very particular tastes. We are already looking for our winter diving trip for next year and if Cozumel stays on the short list, the Amaranto will be our FIRST choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    21
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
73
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is our second year to the Armaranto, and this year we upgraded to the third floor suite of the tower. It was spacious with lots of windows and I love the 'princess in a tower' feel of the round walls and conical roof. We were able to see the carnival fireworks from the lookout in the roof, accessible by a ladder.

As always our host Jorge was hospitable and generously let me use a snorkel mask for no charge when I lost mine to a large wave on the east side.

Manuela does a terrfic job with breakfast and cleaning - the coffee is really good and plentiful.

The fan kept the room very cool along with the ocean breeze from the windows.

We are already looking forward to returning next year and cannot imagine wanting to go anywhere else on this marvelous, friendly little island.

Jean.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maritimerjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Joreg, the owner, is a perfect rost! the bedrooms are very confortable and clean, I could spend a whole month living there...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariBernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

A friend stayed here a few years ago and recommended to my girlfriend and me. We wanted a relaxing vacation with a little bit of beach time, but nothing that was overly-touristy and made us feel like we'd never left the USA. Our bungalow was simple, but that's all we needed- it was essentially a place to sleep. Though having said that, the place is extremely charming, with curved white wall, thatch rooftops and a friendly dog to greet us at the gate every morning and night. Jorge was an excellent host, preparing us a tasty breakfast each morning and helping us with tips on how to get the most out of our time in Cozumel- the best place to snorkel, the best place to rent scooters (which is definitely the best way to get around the island- inexpensive and lots of fun), good restaurants, bars, etc. Amaranto is a short walk from the waterfront and lots of shops and restaurants, without being right in the middle of all the cruise ship hubbub. In short, if you stay here you can relax, enjoy the island vibe, and still get a solid dose of real Mexican culture.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here over a long weekend to snorkel, dive, and see a little more of the island than we'd seen on previous trips. For the price we paid (about $60 with breakfast) it was a good value.

The room we stayed in was a large palapa with a king-size bed, private bathroom with shower, and lots of amenities: A/C, ceiling fan, kitchen area with fridge, sink and microwave, a hammock, safe deposit box, reading selection, etc. The bed was very firm because it was just a mattress on top of a concrete slab. Also, the room let a lot of light in, so it was difficult to sleep past sunrise (about 6:30am). The shower had lots of pressure and hot water. No bath amenities were provided so bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and soap.

The breakfasts were just OK. Coffee and orange juice, small fruit plate, then the breakfast of the day which varied from eggs to two slices of french toast to three small quesadillas. It was decent, but there was definitely room to improve on the quality and presentation.

The owner Jorge was the best part of Amaranto. He was very helpful and friendly, and always around to answer questions. He was generous with bath towels and toilet paper, and helped us set up a rental car, which came and picked us up right at the B&B. He also pointed us towards a dive shop that rented us a wetsuit for $5 and then let us leave the wetsuit at the B&B, which was really convenient for us.

Like any hotel or B&B, it's all about your expectations. If you are expecting a five-star quality place then you will be disappointed. But if you want somewhere clean, affordable and comfortable then Amaranto fits the bill.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemdomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was our second time staying here. Our host, Jorge, was very accommodating. He gave advice as only a local can on where to go and what to do to make the best of our time. We wouldnt have known to look for the giant "pirate" grouper at Chakanab or where to go to see the blow holes on the east side. Those things arent mentioned in guide books. Manuela make us delicious breakfasts every morning, making it easy to get out of bed. We love this place and will definitely be back. We miss Nohotch (means "Big" in Mayan) the dog who lazily acknowledged our comings and goings. It all made for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollistonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We came to Cozumel for the Ironman event at the end of November 2011. Loved the little bed and breakfast, Jorge was a very gracious host and we meet others staying there from around the world. I'm glad we stayed here instead of some of the all inclusive that our friends stayed. We were able to try several wonderful restaurants and still save money vs. what the resorts cost and staying in town gives you a better feel of the life on Cozumel. The rooms are very unique & charming. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had the room at the end of the walk way , so it was the most private. Also, Jorge showed us the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheryl_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
1.0 km away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
498 reviews
5.5 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
373 reviews
0.3 km away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#4 of 25 in Cozumel
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaranto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaranto Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amaranto Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 5 sur # 321 | Calle 5 Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Palapas Amaranto)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaranto Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming accommodations in Cozumel Island, Mexico, downtown.The best Scuba Diving destination in the Caribbean!Experience a wonderful vacation in a small hotel with intimate atmosphere, surrounded by beautiful architecture,tastefully decorated rooms, and friendly customized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Amaranto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing