We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IslaMar Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
IslaMar Vacation Villas
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Islamar was a great "base camp" for us to explore the island. Clean and nicely located close to town for walking to dinners etc. only complaint was wifi required a trip downstairs to poolside for access....they were even nice enough to provide us with goods for an amazing new yrs celebration! Would recommend for sure

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We just returned from a spring vacation in Cozumel and we were ecstatic to return to Islamar Villas. Last fall the entire complex was remodeled and it was impressive, but after a few months of the garden growing back and Sherri being able to add some decorative touches to the inside of the villas the result is stunning. We are so at home there, and the staff is always available. Islamar is easy to reach from town or the airport and is centrally located to almost everything in town for easy walking. The compound is private and very quiet in the evening. Amazingly the prices haven't increased in many years, so this is a great value for your vacation dollar!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seansand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
des moines, iowa usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Wow! What a great remodel! Not that there was anything wrong before, but I LOVE the new bathroom! And of course, the new outside, the new tile, the new countertops. There are also new kitchen utensils and new cooking pans. As always, this is the place for us. The people we spent most of our time with were scattered around various areas in Cozumel. Several of them had problems with their accommodations (and two of the couples actually had to move because of the poor accommodations!) To me, that is not a vacation! This is our 17th year in Cozumel (the last six or seven at IslaMar). There is not another place we want to stay. We have both decided we will be spending our Winters here when we retire (and hopefully staying at IslaMar!)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbrownie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

This was a geat place to stay - everything was there to make our visit as pleasant as possible. Downtown was an easy and safe 20 minute stroll with neighborhood restaurants within a few blocks.
It was really nice to be away from the hussle and bussle. We had a rental car for the week and there was parking on the street right outside. The apartment was spacious and cleaned every day, the bed big and comfortable with a lovely pool to cool off in right outside the door. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just returned from a quick Cozumel dive getaway that was absolutely fabulous at Sherri’s newly remodeled IslaMar Villas. We received an email from Sherri in July advising she had just finished the extensive remodeling project at IslaMar and would love for us to come down and give her some feedback on the results. We could hardly turn down her offer of a 50% discount for being long time, valued customers. When is the last time a business contacted YOU and showed their appreciation with that kind of discount?! Well, we travel a lot and it’s never happened to us, so after finding some good airfare direct to Cozumel, off we went to check out Sherri’s “new” IslaMar Villas.

Oh my goodness ~ were we ever surprised!! IslaMar has been our perfect little hideaway now for a long time so we had no idea how Sherri might improve things but she most certainly did! We had no idea just how extensive the changes would be with the economy so slow and such but this was no “paint and paper” remodel that’s for sure! Sherri simply remade the villas all anew again ~ completely refurbishing the pool, common area walkways and porches as well as remodeling a 2br/2bath villa into 2 separate 1br/1bath villas. An exterior stairway to the upstairs villas was completely relocated in order to expand the garden area and a new large private porch was added for the studio villa. Inside the villas, Sherri installed all new flooring, put granite in the kitchenettes and completely redid all of the bathrooms! The bathrooms now have Price Pfister fixtures and beautiful hand carved stone basin sinks. It’s just incredible how beautiful each villa is with Sherri’s calming decorative touches added. We just had no idea that our gem of a hideaway could be made even better but it most definitely has!

We always enjoy our stay at IslaMar with Sherri and this was no exception. The IslaMar staff is always friendly, smiling and ready to help with whatever guests need and we love staying in a neighborhood with regular people all around. Our villa is always spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchens are ALL ELECTRIC…no funky gas stoves to play with…and nice dishes/pots/pans are all provided. There are hammocks and chairs on the porches as well as BBQ grills outside so we enjoy just being IslaMar as much as anything we “do” on the island! Cozumel is such a small place and easy to get around that there’s just no reason to stay up in the high priced tourist zone hotels where no one knows your name! Sherri and her staff make us feel like family every time we’re there and the other guests we have met over the years have all been wonderful adventurers like us!

Congratulations to Sherri on somehow managing to make IslaMar Villas even better! We love knowing that we’ll never have to stay in a “different” place again in Cozumel! IslaMar Villas will always be home to us!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seansand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Yet another wonderful trip using Cozumelinsider's package--good diving and a very comfortable stay at Islamar. This place remains one of the best deals around for anyone going to Cozumel who would like to go outside the tourist hotel scene--quiet, comfortable apartments in a nice, secure compound with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We recently returned from our 11th trip to Cozumel and our 8th stay at IslaMar Villas and I'm pleased to report that, once again, we enjoyed the island and our accommodations. And, this year, we were treated to a newly remodeled IslaMar. The buildings now have beautiful archways. The staircase has been reconfigured to increase the space in the courtyard. The pool is retiled and expanded. The rooms are newly tiled, with granite countertops in the kitchen and a completely remodeled and modernized bathroom. Beautiful!

IslaMar Villas continues to be our number one choice in accommodations when we go to Cozumel. We love the "homeyness" of the suites. And we greatly appreciate the cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnGirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
3.6 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.0 km away
The Explorean
The Explorean
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IslaMar Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IslaMar Vacation Villas

Property: IslaMar Vacation Villas
Address: Avenida 55 Avenida sur # 316-332 | Between Calle 3 Sur & Morelos, Cozumel 77640, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1998, owner Sherri Davis & staff personally take care of all guests on a daily basis. Six spacious, comfortable villas are situated around a relaxing tropical garden, pool, waterfall & jacuzzi area with hammocks. Villas are nonsmoking and have king beds, A/C, TV/Cable/DVD, free Wi-Fi, kitchens with dishes and porches. Located in a regular neighborhood behind the downtown tourist zone, many “locals” eateries, a park & neighborhood grocery are just around the corner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing