We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Peaceful, Comfortable, Clean and Inspiring!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa el Pio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa el Pio
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful, Comfortable, Clean and Inspiring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was our second visit to the island and second stay at Casa el Pio. We returned this year to celebrate the New Year Holiday as we had such a good time last year when we were here. The local people are so fabulously celebratory this time of year, it is good energy =) Many of the locals make it to 8am (the band plays from midnight - 8am), we haven't made it this far but it is our goal!

We absolutely love Casa el Pio, I want a home that feels just like this place someday! It is so peaceful. Although, it is just on the outskirts of downtown, it is very quiet and private here. The walls are very thick, so you don't get noise from neighbors but if you keep your windows open, you'll hear the crashing tides of the east beach (best in room #3!!).

If you are a musician, you will love it here. The acoustics are fantastic -- and you know you aren't bugging anyone if you play in your room because of the thickness of walls.

Casa el Pio is super clean and the minimalistic design allows you to really clear your mind while you relax. The beds are very comfortable from what I've experienced in Mexico. Pillows are good, too. The AC works really well if you travel on a hot week. Water pressure and hot water good. There is purified water available in the common area. There is a small pool, not for swimming really -- probably better to sit in to cool off if it ever got really hot...or just for looks? Not really sure, about the size of a hot tub. It used to be a cistern, I think.

Last year, there was a different couple running the place -- this year it was a woman named Jill who was extremely pleasant and very helpful. She pointed us in the direction of two of our favorite meals. It seems that the owners must take great pride in their staff as they are all wonderful and seem very happy.

I would recommend using your Spanish when travelling to Isla Mujeres -- not that you have to -- but it goes a long way with the locals. I feel this way with all Mexico, though. It is respectful. This is a good place to practice it, too because most people are very friendly and patient. In the downtown area, you can get away with mostly English but we like to venture out a bit.

Restuarants to try: El Charco (our all time favorite, located in La Gloria neighborhood -- try alambres, chicken soup, empanadas and/or tortas), Loncheria Alexia y Geovanny (close to downtown near youth hostel -- great tacos & guacamole), Bally Hoo (near the ferry port -- excellent fish tacos & ceviche), I can't remember the name of this other lunch place in the La Gloria neighborhood but it has a blue awning and the BEST quesadillas, Pita Amore (near downtown, kind of behind the basketball court and north a bit -- oh my god, best pitas, flavors are amazing!), Elements of the Island (toward north beach -- fabulous organic breakfast, homemade breads and jams, good eggs & coffee --- yum!).

If you do stay here, there are books available to read about the history of the place (neat story) and recommendations for food and activities in your room. There is also a notebook where you can write about your stay (fun to read through).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
126
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Casa El Pio is a great place to stay! The rooms are beautiful, everything is very close and the staff are very helpful!

We returned to the Island after 4 years and were glad we decided to stay at Casa El Pio. For the price you pay you get a lovely room, hotel service and hot water.

Jill is an asset to the Casa, she was so helpful and always went over and beyond- we went to Cuba after staying here and my partner had his surfboard, she was happy to mind it for us whilst we were away for 2 weeks.... We wouldn't have survived Cuba without you :)

Thanks for making our trip so great. If you book here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Names_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had a small hiccup on arrival. Jill wasn't expecting us and even though we had booked a month or so in advance could not find our reservation. In fact if a kind local named Nina hadn't of phoned Jill for us we may not of had a bed that night. Having said all of this, once we did find Jill she checked us in and apologized and even ran down to the corner store for cold beers as the room wasnt properly made up for us when we arrived.

I get the feeling that this sort of thing just happens on the island, and as Jill says everything works out the way it should in the end.

The island itself is magical and when I return I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Reading through the guest book it's clear owner Hillary takes feedback seriously. Every suggestion from previous guests has beenacted on, from better locks on the doors to full length mirrors in the room.

Loved this place. Nothing beats watching the moon on the water from Room 3 at night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

The hotel is really close to the ferry and just on the edge of the city centre. You can walk to the closest beach in 5 minutes and to "playa del norte" in no more than 10.
Service was excellent. Jill (manager on duty) was extremely helpful and managed to please even my wife (that has a bit of a rep for being high maintenance ;-))). Also very clean and plenty of hot water.
If we could we would go a back straight away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Bacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed for the week at Casa El Pio and everything about it was perfect!! The rooms are large and bright, the upstairs looks right out to the water and the downstairs rooms enjoy a quiet little courtyard. The location could not be more convenient, a short walk to the Ferry, Playa Norte, and the whole little downtown of the Isla. Jill is awesome, knows all sorts of great things to do, where to eat, & where to drink!! Highly Recommend.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank India F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a great 4-night stay at Casa el Pio over Thanksgiving weekend. We found the photos and descriptions on the website to be accurate, but what couldn't be conveyed is the perfect location, feeling of security and comfort, helpfulness from Jill and overall atmosphere of this little gem. "Walking distance" to the beach/downtown is an underestimate. We had less than a 5 minute walk to the beach, golf cart rentals, fantastic restaurants and good shops. We felt very safe on the second floor of the hotel, took advantage of the free water cooler and enjoyed the room's AC. The internet connection didn't work in our room but it was a treat to sit on the terrace on the first floor when we needed to connect to the outside world. Jill provided wonderful recommendations, including restaurants and definitely the best golf cart rental shop on the island. This is NOT a resort, which is what I prefer. If that sounds like your kind of place, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 3 had a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTWMeghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Pick this hotel! Casa El Pio has everything you are looking for in a hotel on Isla Mujeres! It is close to the main street, near a Super Market and a short stroll to the beach. Jill, who is the caretaker of the hotel, is really helpful in making connections on the island and she is a great resource that can be tapped. Don't overlook this hotel! It is a great find!

Room Tip: Pick Room 3 which gives you a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.7 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.6 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa el Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa el Pio

Property: Casa el Pio
Address: Av Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa El Pio, a small hotel located just off the town square in the center of Isla Mujeres' downtown district. The island's best beaches, food and shopping are all just a few steps away. Casa El Pio is clean, cute and modern. Amenities include a courtyard pool, free Wi-Fi access and beach tote with towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa El Pio Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing