We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Bucaneros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bucaneros
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Québec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little family run hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My family has been staying at the Bucaneros for several years. We love it. From the friendly and familiar faces at the reception desk to the maids.The rooms are clean, the linens white and crisp, the continental breakfast provides good choice and a place to meet other guests. The service provided by everyone is so friendly and makes us feel welcome each year. The difference is that it is family-run since 1965 and they care. The location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and lots of good restaurants to choose from including an excellent restaurant in the hotel. I also stay here solo as woman and never feel I am in danger of any kind. This hotel is just what I want for my stay on Isla.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    148
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
60
150
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The reason I say that this is a great hotel for returning travelers is that if you have been to Isla before, then you already have "scouted" it out: You know where the great restaurants are, you know how close the beaches are, you have ridden around the island, etc. Most first timers want a beachfront hotel... which is great, but i don't mind a little walk.

So, if you are ok with the 5 minutes walk to the beach from the downtown area, Bucaneros is a great little hotel. It has all you really need in a room... clean, air conditioned, and convenient. Wi-fi in the room worked great for our phones and of course, the prices are very reasonable. If you are looking for a spa, or a pool bar, or things like that, this is not your place. If you just want a place to sleep and clean up after a day at the beach, it is very nice.

As for location it is directly across the street from Villa Rolandi's downtown restaurant on the main street, Hidalgo. It is a 5 minute walk to the islands main grocery store and a 5-10 minute walk to North Beach which is where all the beach bars, beach chairs and beds are. And all the wonderful restaurants of downtown (Qubano, Olivias, Amigos, Villa Rolandi, etc) are all just steps away. It is about a 5-10 minute walk from the ferry as well. No need for any transportation while you are on the island unless you are renting a golf cart for fun to explore the whole island.

We stayed in room 202 which had 2 beds, a nice sized bathroom and a little sitting area with a small fridge and a little dining room table. It also has a narrow but great balcony that looks over Hidalgo St. We did not notice any street noise at all, partially because we like the room cool at night and the A/C makes some noise and partially because we had the ceiling fans on high. Between the constant "white noise" of the fans and the A/C we didn't hear any street noise at all.

A note on the ceiling fans... they are solid metal blades and they spin really fast! I am 6'2" and I was convinced I was going to come back one evening a little tipsy and take my shirt off and lose an arm! It never happened, but by the end of the trip I was calling them the "death fans". So watch out for them! :)

Enjoy your trip to Isla Mujeres!

Room Tip: We liked Room 202, I did not really notice any of the other rooms but i THINK that rooms ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thegrizzatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a wonderful hotel, very clean and tidy, open air balconies on the front and back. Over the street you have two wonderful Restaurants on Hidalgo avenue and the price is very affordable at around $75 a night. Music wafts up until 11 pm to lull you to sleep. Loved, loved loved it.

Room Tip: 202 street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmied03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I just stayed five nights at the Bucaneros Hotel. Prices on Isla Mujeres have skyrocketed since I started going there in 1982. This is the first time I didn't stay at a hotel with a beach or ocean view, but since I'd just spent two months at a rented beach house in the Yucatan, I was okay to have a room without a view. I started in a $52 a night room on the 2nd floor (like an American third floor). Didn't like all the stair climbing, and since my room still wasn't made up at 3 pm when I needed a nap, I saw the door to room 103 was open, on the first floor. Light was streaming in from both windows, and the pale yellow walls made the whole room look warm and inviting. It was available, so I moved in within 10 minutes, and my rate went down to $42. I LOVED coming back throughout the day to my cozy little room (with air conditioning and WIFI so I could do Skype and talk to my family back home, plus check emails). The very nice bathroom was just steps from my comfy bed. The whole place was spotless, with nice furniture. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreezinginMinnesota2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We went with a large group of friends, and from the pictures we were pretty excited to see this place. We were put in a room on the third floor in the back, which we later dubbed as the "servants quarters". On any given day we were unsure if we would get towels, clean sheets or toilet paper. Some days they left 1 towel and 2 wash clothes, others it was no towel 1 wash cloth and 3 hand towels. The A/C was broke for the first two days and we froze the first night and were sweating the second night. None of the remotes worked. Wifi did not work on the third floor, had to go down to the lower levels. We rarely had enough hot water for my both my husband and I to take showers. Our room was not particularly clean by any means. Other rooms were more spacious and some people did not seem to have problems getting their amenities. Breakfast was minimal at best. The staff was not truly helpful, just kind of smiled and ignored you. Also, we were unaware that you had to take stairs to all floors which was hard on some of our friends who are older.

Choose wisely.

Room Tip: Lower floors and towards the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Hotel Bucaneros is a very impressive small hotel located in the center of everything. The rooms were very clean and very fine linens and towels. The breakfast was great and served in a nice dining room. Wi-Fi also very good. Great price and great staff. We highly recommend the Hotel Bucaneros.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longlakehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, staff is helpful. Convenient location in the center of everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtfr0mMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,316 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
237 reviews
0.7 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,100 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucaneros

Property: Hotel Bucaneros
Address: Calle Hidalgo # 11 | Manzana 14, Super Manzana 01, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bucaneros 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres on Avenida Hidalgo, the main pedestrian street, lies the Bucaneros Hotel & Suites. The hotel was created in 1989 by Mrs. Hilda Pérez Villalba, since then, this family run business offers which started with 4 rooms, (now has 17 enchanting rooms), all nicely decorated in a relaxing caribbean style & colours which will help you feel your vacation come true. You will be only 8 walking minutes away from the turquoise waters and white sands of famous North Beach. You'll have the best location on the island, very close to all shops, restaurants, cafés, internets, pharmacies, supermarket, mainsquare, jewelries, etc... A personal and professional attention from the owner family is most important to us to make you feel safe, appreciated and at home on Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bucaneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucaneros Hotel Isla Mujeres
Bucaneros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing