We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is our third time staying at Ixchel. The first and second time we stayed in phase 2 (the west side of the hotel). The pool at phase 2 is heated a little bit warmer than the one at Phase 1 and the beds are harder in Phase 2 (like a slab of concrete) even with an egg topper on them. This year we stayed on the Phase 1 side ground floor, beach front units (110/109). It was great! The kids could just walk out the door to the pool or the beach and we could see them from the windows or while we were sitting on the patio. The kitchen was well stocked and the full-size range and oven were a plus. We cooked dinner in a few nights. The beach and swimming are wonderful on Playa Norte. The water is warm and clear.

Around the Island:

On Hildalgo Street we ate at Compadres (use to be Bucaneros) 3 times. They have good food and excellent service!

There is an awesome Italia Ice-cream (gelato) shop off Hildalgo on your way back to the hotel. The guy has been there for years and his gelato is "to die for".

Also, on Hildaglo Street on the right hand side as you are coming from the hotel there is great restaurant next to a clothing store and there is an alley that runs between them, and across the street is a Padi dive shop. The chef there is really talented. All the dishes had lots of flavor and were great! (Sorry can't remember the name).

Some of the best fish tacos ever are found at Velasquez. It is on the beach on Avenue Rueda Medina

For your grocery shopping needs there is a BIG supermercado in town (not on Hildalgo Street) called Chedraui (spelling?). You will have to rent a golf cart or take a taxi to get there. Well worth the trip.

We love Isla Mujeres! We had stayed in Cancun and Cozumel before we found Isla and we will never go back to the others!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidisue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    346
    87
    31
    21
See reviews for
397
566
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

First let me say Isla is AMAZING - we picked it for our destination wedding because we wanted amazing beaches without paying the cost to travel to the Bahamas - Ixchel has the best beach on the island - we went Sept 21 for 7 days which is considered low season and it was incredible - The hotel was great - we had the pent house suite as we had a big group staying at the hotel so we got a great deal.

The hotel are actually condos that people rent out through the hotel. Each unit it diffrent but they all have a kitchen which will allow you to pack a cooler - have drinks and make sandwhiches if you choose to save money. Also the island is small so the hotel sits in the heart of the down town area - the town is dead after 10pm. Only two or 3 bars that are open for late night fun. The island is definetly not a party island - go to Cancun for that.

I highly recommend staying here - they are great and we had a blast - you cant go wrong with the location and price. This is not an all inclusive hotel and i highly recommend NOT doing all inslusive the island is perfect to walk around or rent a golf cart and explore.. very safe and friendly. I wouldnt have changed a thing.. we will be going back and all of our friends said it was the best vacation/ wedding they have been too

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imenen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night at the Ixchel last week, and I want to give it another chance. Its a great property, located in the middle of the best beach on the island. The views are extensive and the buildings are quite clean and lovely. we only gave them 24 hours notice that we needed a room and they only had a couple left, so I wasn't surprised that our room wasn't as great as we'd hoped. We were able to tour one of the penthouse suites, though, and I think that next year we are going to try to get one.
If you do stay there, request a room in Phase One, or the east tower, the rooms are family owned condos and looked cared for.
Things I didn't like about the hotel, there are no hot tubs or jacuzzis by the pool. The pools don't get much sun in the mornings because of the shade, and they have a very small deck area. Other than that, we will probably book here next year.

Room Tip: Request a room in the east tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ok so let's get the ugly part of this review out of the way because the postitives will outweigh the negatives! Stayed in Unit #507 & #508 in West Tower (Phase2) and the beds were made for Fred Flinstone apparently. Begged over 3 days at front desk for an additional 'Egg Crate' topper and they swore there were no spares. 1st night hips & ribs were so sore from that bed I was ready to move to another hotel! They added 2 Blankets underneath to help and as long as we slept on our backs we were fine. Not comfy-but just fine. The Units sparse furnishings were tired, some chair covers were stained, there was no dresser in either bedroom so we had to keep suitcase out which was LAME and the kitchen equip was just OK and some stuff needed to be rewashed (ick). Now the good stuff....the view was incredible, the balconey was very generous and location on the North Beach Fantastic. The pools were clean and very warm. Staff were very friendly and while we were there we looked at other units which DID have great beds, were nicely furnished and kitchens equipped very nicely so there are some good units there. It's well worth the money if you get a decent unit but I would avoid #507 & #508 unless they seriously overhaul it.

Room Tip: Rooms in West Tower (Phase 2) that were perfect; 609 & 610 and 407 & 408.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is the 10th time we’ve been to the Riviera Maya in the past 5 years, but our first time to Isla Mujeres. I have to say this location was, by far, one of the best Mexico experiences I’ve had thus far.

Feb 2012 my husband and I stayed in the bottom floor Beach Front unit (109/110) in Xchel 1. We were traveling with another couple that we travel with often, so we rented both 109 & 110 which basically is a 2 bedroom condo.
The Ixchel units are individually owned and are decorated and supplied differently according to the owners taste. Although the units are owned individually, Ixchel is ran like a hotel/resort, with a friendly front desk, maid service, bar/restaurant, spa, etc.

The Ixchel 1, ground floor Beach Front unit (109/110) was literally like being at home - the owners thought of everything! The kitchen is fully stocked, with everything from a lime squeezer to cutting board, to coffee filters, you name it. If you are traveling with family, and plan on cooking and eating-in, then you will want for nothing. They even had an umbrella, matches, wonderful pots and pans, and even travel mugs (for your morning coffee and beach walking), you name it, they thought of everything.

The décor has been completely upgraded with stunning vessel sinks in the bathrooms, stainless steel appliances, professional gas stove, and flat screen televisions. Ok, now, onto the best part. The ground floor Beach Front unit has a wrap around patio with stunning views out to the turquoise ocean on one side and wonderfully manicured landscaped view to the infinity pool on the other side. The owners have beautiful teak patio furniture (2 padded chaise lounge chairs, 4 Adirondack chairs, and 2 tall bistro tables with 4 accompanying chairs). Mornings on the patio with coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt are my favorite times. Watching the Ixchel staff setting up the beach chairs and umbrellas, and the sun coming up on the turquoise water is the most relaxing time of the day for me, and you could not ask for a better place to experience that, than on this patio. By the way, not only are the mornings spectacular, but the sunsets can be seen from sitting right there as well.

You are literally steps, steps from the white powdery sand and this unit is a perfect location if you need to run back to the condo for a beverage refill, or for more money to purchase something, or a bathroom run.
Unit 109/110 has a built in safe in each bedroom that is large enough to fit a laptop. We have stayed in several All-Inclusive’s and the safes are normally so small, all you can fit is a wallet and your passport. These safes are roomy, and you can change the combination as many times as you like, if that is what makes you feel comfortable (but we had no worries what-so-ever here). This particular Unit has Wi-Fi and we had perfect connectivity so we could stay in touch with our kids back at home via nightly emails.

The front desk will arrange a golf cart rental for you, so all you need to do is tell them when you want it, and they will accommodate. We called for a bag of ice one night and someone was knocking on our door literally in 3 minutes or even less!

Be sure to bring a little market bag with you, as every day we walked to the Market or to the grocery store (across from the Catholic Church) and brought back fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice from the Mercado, and from the grocery store, we would buy eggs, cheese, bread, yogurt, chips, beer, and snacks.

The beach at Ixchel is stunning. Water is calm and is probably at least 4 colors of turquoise, the sand is powdered sugar soft and the entry to the water is rock-free (which is very very important to us).

If you chose to inquire about this particular ground floor Beach Front unit (109/110), VRBO (114905) is where the owners have their listing. Cindy Smith, will arrange airport transportation for you, if you wish, and will recommend her favorite restaurants. She is very accommodating and will answer all your questions, trust me, I had numerous. She also can arrange rental on other units in Ixchel as well, just in case her unit is already rented out for your requested dates.

Isla Mujeres and Ixchel is really a perfect location for those who still like a small tourist feel, along with a comfortable and safe Mexican culture feel as well (after all, isn’t that why you traveled to Mexico to experience their culture?) So basically you don’t have the crowded, over touristy Cancun/Playa feel – because Isla Mujeres gives you just the right amount of tourists (not too many) to make it feel like you’ve stumbled upon paradise where not many people know about it – mixed in with elbowing with the locals and shopping at their grocery store and watching the children playing on the streets with their tops and home-made toys. It makes you feel like you live there, with the comfort of a quiet, safe, resort feel, that has all the accommodations of home. It’s the best of both worlds really.

A fun suggestion is to walk down Hidalgo at night to the end where the Catholic Church is and shop at the grocery store, maybe attend a Sunday evening Mass with the locals, and then watch the nightly basketball game at the Municipal area right next to the Church. We sat and cheered on one of the teams in English and they seemed to really get pumped up. It was so fun watching them play (they were very good by the way) . Don’t forget to get a Flauta or a taco from the locals who set up their stands in front of the grocery store.

I will recommend Ixchel to any and everyone I know who might be planning a vacation. The location on North Beach is Premium, the closeness to restaurants, shopping, grocery and fruit stand (Mercado) is literally a 4 minute stroll, and you simply cannot ask for a better location for a place to stay. We highly recommend the Beach Front Unit 110/109 but if it’s not available, you really will not make a mistake staying at Ixchel.

Room Tip: We utterly loved Unit 109/110 Beach Front ground floor. It was the best location, perfect views, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SallyLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have stayed on Isla for many years. This was our first time @ Ixchel. We found the facilities above average. We had a standard room in Phase II or the West Bldg and we knew we wouldn't have a balcony, which was my husband's primary complaint.

Room was neat and clean, sparsely decorated; lacked a bit in clothing storage space, (but then we were there for 12 days and likely overpacked, at least I know I did!)

The shower was the best I've experienced on the island, always PLENTY of HOT water and in full force!

We had a fabulous housekeeper, Angel who kept us fully stocked with fluffy, soft, whiter than white towels daily! I had requested a table be brought to my room for my 'stuff' and was accommodated immediately! Beds definitely hard, but that seems to be case on all beds in mexico!

I was able to head to the gym many mornings without a wait on my fav machines.

We had our choice of beach chairs every morning as we went down early to 'claim' them. Beach servers (Arturio and Alex both from Kayak) were very attentive to our needs from both Kayak and Chimbos.

Check in/Check out was easy, smooth and efficient.

Jabez and Stephanie were awesome at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QTPieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Are trip upon arrival did not start out well. I have been to Isla many times and have brought medical supplies to the Red Cross on the island in the past. This trip was to be for my family and there was seven of us. I had requested adjoining rooms an ocean front views prior to our arrival, when we arrived they placed us in one suite and one standard room far away from each other. The person at the desk was not friendly this particular night and the hotel manager, Luz, began to help us and she made the rest of our eight days perfect. My thanks to her. The hotel had a great cleaning staff, we happened to have Alex and he did an incredible job of cleaning. Also for 75 dollars we contacted USA transfer to meet us at the airport and to take us to the ferry, and they picked us up at the ferry for our return right on time! It was a fabulous trip. Olivias greek restaurant also had great food and service. One of our best times was attending a baseball game in town, they had a fabulous fun brass band and locals who enjoyed their team!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avery555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for your arrival inconveniences. Our goal is to deliver the best possible experience at all times. We are glad that Luz took action on this and turned it into a positive mood. We look forward to hosting you and your family once again. All the best!

Ixchel Beach Hotel, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.2 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.1 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 km away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
6.2 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing