We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully appointed rooms on the beach with free chairs but it can get loud due to marble tile hallways.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed rooms on the beach with free chairs but it can get loud due to marble tile hallways.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you get an ignorant self centered group anywhere in the hotel you will not sleep. The sound carries like they are in your room. Had a massage and it was ok nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    346
    87
    31
    21
See reviews for
398
566
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I loved this hotel..It was our first trip to Isla Mujeres and we will hopefully have many more trips there..the bed was super comfortable..with a lot of pillows...the shower was newly tiled and was beautiful...the water pressure was awesome...(also the water pressure in the toilet!). The staff was terrific..so nice and would do anything for you..When you go to the beach area (the best beach in Isla..Norte Beach), they run over to you and ask where you want your beach chair and umbrella and they make you your own little space..no tip! Just part of the service...We had a microwave, small fridge, water supply and coffee maker..(every day housekeeping would leave a packet in our room..it contained enough coffee for 4 cups, creamer, artificial sweetener, sugar and stir stick). The laundry room was near us and was a little spendy but just having the option of washing our clothes was cool...oh there was also an iron and blow dryer in the room! Just an awesome place all in all!! PS we were a block away from the shopping and restaurant area...our hotel was peacefully quiet at night but if you wanted some nighttime excitement...it was right down the block!

Room Tip: We really liked the ground floor room that we had...it had a small patio outside the sliding glass w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorklerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls, mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are regular visitors to Isla Mujeres. After 15+ trips to the Island this was our first stay at Ixchel. A booking discount enticed us enough to try this property. This is truly a condo complex that runs like a hotel. The majority of units are privately owned. We had a 1 bedroom suite on the 6th floor in Phase 2 which is the larger of the two buildings. The views were fabulous and the unit itself was very nicely equipped. The grounds are well maintained. North Beach is the best and Ixchel has a prime spot on the beach. The easy access to town was also appreciated (seriously no more than 3-4 minute walk). We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed Ixchel. As noted by other reviewers the beds are a little hard. A foam top mattress took care of that problem. What really surpassed our expectations was the staff. They were helpful and clearly there to make your experience the best. Everyone went above and beyond. A beautiful property with a fantastic staff makes this a top choice! We are new fans of Ixchel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved our views from the 6th floor! Truly amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islatraveler3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have stayed there for 2 separate week-long trips. Cannot recall which unit. The staff were very warm and helpful. The hotel is beautiful. Great pool. Beach area is lovely, with soft white sand and warm, aqua blue water. Short walk to downtown shops and restaurants. If I go again would like to stay in a ground floor unit to have even easier access to beach and pool.

Room Tip: ground floor unit will have easy access to beach/pool; one of the buildings' pools is more in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I spent four wonderful nights at the Ixchel Beach Hotel last year, over the 4th of July weekend. We had never been to Isla Mujeres, but it sounded like a good place for a quick beach getaway, with easy access by direct flight to Cancun, and the kind of laid back ambiance we prefer over the high-rise world of better-known and flashier resorts.
We were able to find enough information on Trip Advisor to make the transfer from the airport to the ferry dock and back again quick and easy (we pre-booked with USA Transfers to and from the UltraMar terminal), and began learning our way around town during the brief and easy walk from the ferry dock to the Ixchel Beach Hotel.
The hotel's location is perfect. It's an easy walk into town, where there are lots of restaurants along the waterfront and side streets, restaurants and beach bars in both directions along the beach from the hotel, and a perfect section of Playa Norte right in front of the hotel with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas dedicated to the use of the hotel guests. Leaving the hotel, you can walk straight down Avenida Miguel Hidalgo and, in a couple of blocks, you're right in the middle of the main Isla Mujeres commercial and restaurant district.
We had an oceanfront suite, and it was perfect. Huge wrap-around balcony, and more amenities than anyone could possibly utilize during such a brief stay. Because it's a question I have before every trip, I'll note that there is free wi-fi in all the rooms. These are condos, so the decorating is dependent on the preferences of each room's owner, but it's the beach, the water, the bars, the restaurants, and the other attractions of Isla Mujeres that matter, not the art hanging on the walls. Most of our waking hours were spent outside, on the beach, around the island, or on our balcony, anyway; yours will be, too.
My wife and I are scuba divers, and I was intrigued by the reviews I'd read of the whale shark excursions. We did book one of the trips, which are government regulated and limited to snorkeling, not scuba, and in my opinion, it's not worth the time or the money. There's very little opportunity (maybe I should say none) to interact in any way with the whale sharks, so the best you'll be able to take away from the experience is the knowledge that you saw some of these great fish from up close in their environment. Still, it was a pleasant way to spend a big part of one day on Isla Mujeres.
Did I mention that the staff at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful? Well, they were, as were the very tourist-friendly staff at all of the restaurants we tried. That only added to our enjoyment. We'll definitely go be back to Isla Mujeres someday, and when we do, you'll definitely find us at the Ixchel Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savvy_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first trip to Isla Mujeres. We've traveled all over Mexico and we are so glad to have found this gem of an island. We had a wonderful stay and loved the Ixchel Beach hotel. The location can't be beat. The beach area is lovely, the pools are warm and relaxing.The employees at the hotel are so great. Giovanni at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Mauricio was terrific! He answered all of our questions, arranged our golf cart expedition for the day and made our stay memorable. We stayed for a week and before we left we were discussing when we could come back. Our standard room was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the pools and beach area from the fifth floor window. The hotel has a small gym that we used and appreciated. A traveler can't go wrong staying at Ixchel.

Room Tip: We had room (2) 502 and loved it, It has a great view of the pools and beach. Two double beds,no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BookFaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to Isla Mujeres and stayed at Ixchel in unit 2-310 from March 10 to March 19. We have stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel each of the five times we have traveled to Isla and every experience has been excellent. Unit 2-310 is an ocean front unit with a wrap around balcony allowing for both sun and shade most times of the day. The unit was well furnished with comfortable chairs for sitting and reading in the living room and plenty of storage in the bedroom. The bed was not as comfortable as beds in some of the other units in which we have stayed (2-709, 2-410). The balcony has two tables and eight chairs along with two loungers. We did not make use of many of the services at Ixchel because we are familiar with the island and like to explore on our own. However, we did have a problem with the lights not working on our first evening and the issue was promptly taken care of. All of the staff at Ixchel were friendly and helpful. Joel, one of the staff on the beach, was always there to great us in the morning and get us set up on beach chairs with an umbrella. The restaurant at the hotel, Kalak, served breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfasts were good and the service was excellent. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant, but we did order food and drink on the beach. Arturo and Alex, two of the waiters who served the beach are worthy of mention. Both were polite and prompt with their service and checked regularly to see if we needed anything, without being pushy or intrusive. The Kalak ceviche is made with mango and cucumber, in addition to the seafood, and was excellent! Sergio, who runs Kalak and Rooster (on Hidalgo) offered a cooking class at Kalak. This was very interesting. He demonstrated the preparation of ceviche, chicken satay, and salad with Guava dressing. All of the food he prepared was excellent. If you are staying at Ixchel, I highly recommend his cooking class. One evening, the palapa between the two buildings at Ixchel played music very loud and late, however, the Ixchel staff informed us of this in advance. The music did not keep us awake at night. Chimbo's, the palapa to the east did not play music at night this year.
During our nine days we tried many different restaurants. Highlights included Minino's for ceviche, shrimp tacos, and fillet ajillo (the mango daiquiri is delicious), Mama Rosa for pastas and mojitos, and Faynes for the pork loin and the grouper with shrimp in Meunier sauce. Our waiter, Alex, put on quite a show preparing Mayan coffee for us. It was an excellent way to end the dinner. Other restaurants we tried included Lola Valentina, Amigos, La Bruja, Brisas Grill, Brisa Mexicana, Sancachos, Qubano, Rooster, Jax, and Social Justica. The cuban sandwich and the toston at Qubano were excellent, as were the eggs benedict at Rooster, and the chile relleno at Amigos.
Snorkeling at Garrafon de Castilla was fine, but we did not see as many fish as we had on previous visits. We arranged for a snorkeling trip to El Farito and Sac Bajo with Willy Ortiz. Willy met us on the beach in front of the hotel with a boat and a snorkel guide, Pablo. We saw many varieties of fish at both sites. I recommend Willy Ortiz.
Overall, the experience at Ixchel Beach Hotel was excellent and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin6of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.2 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.1 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 km away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
6.2 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing