We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Beach on Isla” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
detroit lakes mn
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Beach on Isla”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed at Ixchel for 4 nights in March. Nice, small hotel with an absolutely beautiful beach. Would stay here again just for the beach. If you are looking for that calm turquoise water with white sand, shallow water that you can just walk out and lay in the water - this is it. The hotel itself is nice but nothing special but over all no complaints either. Maybe if we had spent a little more on our room we may have a different experience as we had a room with no balcony. But there is a fridge and coffee maker in the room. The room was good size with a wonderful shower with lots of water pressure. Beds were hard. Staff was friendly but must say that the man at the info desk that helped up rent a golf cart was awesome, friendly and offered great advice. Sorry can't remember his name. Oh and the 2 for 1 drinks are not really 2 for 1 but buy one and get one at a reduced rate. Really? why even advertise 2 for 1. However, the mango margaritta was so good I got over the price. Isla is a nice, laid back little island with great restaurants and one of the best beaches in Mexico. We have stayed on Isla twice and would stay at Ixchel again just for the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    339
    86
    31
    20
See reviews for
386
551
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back. The people were amazing, kind, funny and helpful. The location is ideal. Can't wait for our next visit :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great Hotel, with excellent views and a great location- rooms are like small appts and suites. You are within walkin distance from all that's happening on Isla. I have stayed here several times and will return. Great beach, the only issue we had was the pool are only gets partial sun. But that is minor. Have fun !!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil0164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have been to Isla Mujeres several times in over 30 years and have stayed in and visited several Hotels on the Island. I am writing this as we sit in the Cancun airport on our return home after a 1 week stay at the Ixchel. So, here's my opinion:

The good news: The hotel is very clean, bright and the staff takes the extra steps to make your visit as pleasant as possible. Plus, you are on on the best beach on the Island (I think even better than the ones off Cancun). A nice (small) pool to take a refreshing plunge after a day on the beach plus you are on the edge of the town's main street with easy strolling to a variety of restaurants. Pretty fair rooms rates, too.

The bad news: .We had been guaranteed a room with a king bed but when my wife and I arrived they only had rooms with double beds available. The next day it took some real cajoling to get our correct room. Also, the beds and pillows were as hard and unforgiving as those in a college dorm. After a couple nights we finally complained and housekeeping layered on a 3" foam pad. Better, but... eh. Also our room(s) had a broken valuable safe, a non flushing toilet and the curtain rod fell off repeatedly. All of those items were fixed very quickly, but I would expect a better pre-inspection before placing guests.

All in all it has location, location, location and a very helpful friendly staff (ask for Mauricio). Just be prepared that the comfort level may not reach your expectations. Hey, I'd go back -- might bring my own pillow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClarkGriswold099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you get an ignorant self centered group anywhere in the hotel you will not sleep. The sound carries like they are in your room. Had a massage and it was ok nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I loved this hotel..It was our first trip to Isla Mujeres and we will hopefully have many more trips there..the bed was super comfortable..with a lot of pillows...the shower was newly tiled and was beautiful...the water pressure was awesome...(also the water pressure in the toilet!). The staff was terrific..so nice and would do anything for you..When you go to the beach area (the best beach in Isla..Norte Beach), they run over to you and ask where you want your beach chair and umbrella and they make you your own little space..no tip! Just part of the service...We had a microwave, small fridge, water supply and coffee maker..(every day housekeeping would leave a packet in our room..it contained enough coffee for 4 cups, creamer, artificial sweetener, sugar and stir stick). The laundry room was near us and was a little spendy but just having the option of washing our clothes was cool...oh there was also an iron and blow dryer in the room! Just an awesome place all in all!! PS we were a block away from the shopping and restaurant area...our hotel was peacefully quiet at night but if you wanted some nighttime excitement...it was right down the block!

Room Tip: We really liked the ground floor room that we had...it had a small patio outside the sliding glass w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorklerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls, mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are regular visitors to Isla Mujeres. After 15+ trips to the Island this was our first stay at Ixchel. A booking discount enticed us enough to try this property. This is truly a condo complex that runs like a hotel. The majority of units are privately owned. We had a 1 bedroom suite on the 6th floor in Phase 2 which is the larger of the two buildings. The views were fabulous and the unit itself was very nicely equipped. The grounds are well maintained. North Beach is the best and Ixchel has a prime spot on the beach. The easy access to town was also appreciated (seriously no more than 3-4 minute walk). We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed Ixchel. As noted by other reviewers the beds are a little hard. A foam top mattress took care of that problem. What really surpassed our expectations was the staff. They were helpful and clearly there to make your experience the best. Everyone went above and beyond. A beautiful property with a fantastic staff makes this a top choice! We are new fans of Ixchel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved our views from the 6th floor! Truly amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islatraveler3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 km away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.2 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.1 km away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 km away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 km away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing