We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Coco Resort(Isla Mujeres)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$224
US$204
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
US$79
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel La Joya(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$598
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$801
US$520
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
971
386
100
36
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
386
100
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya norteixchel iithrough vrbothe penthousebedroom suitegolf cartfull kitchenocean frontstandard roombeautiful beachchairs and umbrellashot tubhidalgo streetbeach servicebest beach on the islandan umbrellarestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
1,119 - 1,124 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

we booked a standard ocean view room for $99 a night. the view was beautiful but the room was very small and expensive compared to other options on playa. the location was great, a very short walk to the main street and on a lovely stretch of sand on playa norte. the beds were very hard and not that comfortable, we loved the island but would probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Ixchel for a week in July. This hotel did not impress me at all. My biggest complaint is that the bed/pillows reeked of mildew! Needless to say i dreaded going to bed every night and eventually resorted to using my airplane pillow rather than using the provided
cushions. The bed was also very hard but i was expecting this from reading other ppls reviews. The beach outside of the hotel was unimpressive. They have huge black sandbags on the beach, i guess to prevent errosion? They looked liked beached whales; not the picture perfect view i was hoping for. Isla really is a lovely island and whale sharking was definitely a memorable experience (thanks to Tony). We rented a scooter twice and really enjoyed driving around the island. We stopped at Zuma resort and it was beautiful! Free access if you buy drinks/food. The Garrafon was highly overrated and not worth it--so save your money! I had such high hopes for this hotel, but just ended up really dissappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We just returned from our second stay at Ixchel on Isla de Mujeres. It is a impeccably maintained condo complex directly on the prettiest beach on the island. The location and amenties aside, I was also struck again by the warmth and the consciousness of the staff at Ixchel. This is a great spot for a laid-back beach vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTraveller980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We returned to Isla Mujeres and Ixchel for Christmas this year after a wonderful experience last year. My entire family--parents, siblings, husband, brother-in-law, and young daughter--really have a great time in Isla Mujeres.

I would recommend this hotel to any sort of travel group--young, old, single, family, etc--as the location and the service cannot be beat. However, we had a very subpar experience with the property management company, Rivera Properties, that now runs the penthouse unit #501/502 we stayed in again this year. Apparently the owners of the unit have opted out of the Ixchel management, meaning that the condo we were in was not part of the pool, so were very unfortunately privy to the substandard service of Rivera Properties and the three employees they have trying to run 6 separate units at Ixchel. We had to ask multiple times for ANYTHING - including refills of our purified water jugs! On as island where the water is not potable. That is totally inexcusable and it's just one of many glitches that were frustrating during our 10 day visit.

My sister, brother, and their significant others stayed in a room (Unit 105/106) that is, in fact, run by Ixchel and the service they received was infinitely better than what we received in our room. Ixchel's fabulous service makes Rivera Management look even more mediocre. And we were paying the same amount for our room/amenities as every other guest!

I will definitely return to Ixchel, but I will not stay in a unit that is run by anyone other than Ixchel staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ziggy1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel/condo. The staff is great. The location can't be beat. Luz Lopez, the manager, was especially helpful when one of my sons left his backpack at the hotel. Ms. Lopez personally delivered the backpack to us at our final hotel location in Cancun.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougCapHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews