We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
US$254
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$229
US$176
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa La Media Luna Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Coco Resort(Isla Mujeres)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$648
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$537
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
17
10
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
10
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesproviding shadeprivate beachgolf cartantschedrauiparadisecancunlinensisland
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

Our favorite spot on earth, visited several times. Romantic, private, amenities like a/c, wifi (in room!!) kitchen, amazing beach club a few feet away etc. You will not find a better place for your money in the world. Lupita, Marcus and family are a delight. Devastated to learn the lot is for sale and will likely be destroyed once purchased. Go while you can, it is a gem. A few hints:

1: bring an indoor bug spray, spray along the kitchen and bathroom when you arrive. It is an old building, water and food will bring ants in. But spraying day 1 eliminates that I've found.
2: bring a bug spray for yourself. This side of the island nearer to the swamp will destroy you in mosquitos starting around 4pm daily. Mosquito net for sleeping recommended - we purchased one on Amazon for $12 that only added to the ambiance of the room, while keeping mosquitos out while asleep.
3. Purchase charcoal and lighter fluid at Chedraui (on the island, don't shop on Cancun and try to bring stuff over) There is a grill on site
4. Rent a golf cart. No really, just do it.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Caitlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2017

My boyfriend and I took a golf cart around Isla Mujeres in the hopes of realising an affordable six week stay. We found the Su Casa board just outside their pretty front garden with a huge Banyan tree - they have two in fact… From the office, Lupita showed us around and we were awestruck by the beach: a wide and long expanse of soft sand and gentle water with beautiful palm trees. The pine trees sweep around back patios providing shade and and birds that sing throughout the day. There can’t be many beaches left with this kind of topographical landscape. There’s a bbq on the beach and a few small tables with straw umbrellas. We were lucky enough to enjoy a few quiet BBQ evenings with our Su Casa neighbours on the beach. We watched the pretty sunsets and after dark, the stars overhead and gently glimmering lights along the Cancun coastline across the bay.
There’s a chic beach club next door called Zama, where you can sit at the bar (my favourite: fresh chilli mohito) and eat affordable, freshly cooked local dishes. I loved the split-level pool and comfy beach furniture. They have an cute pet that roams free but no more plot spoilers… For your own supplies, try ‘Chedraui’ for excellent tomatoes, papayas, avocados and all else you can stock up on, including some great beachwear I wasn’t expecting to find. We loved heading downtown to Javi’s, for low-key music and free-range food and the wonderful ‘A Mar’ for super-fresh and innovative Peruvian food.
But I digress: Marcus and his family live on-site as caretakers at Su Casa: nicer people you won’t easily find which includes Lupita herself. Hugh and I will never forget the wonderful time we had on Isla and the welcome environment we found at Su Casa. As you may be able to tell we miss it, even after several months away.

Room Tip: Chose a beach-front beach cottage if you can
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KLA2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

If your looking for a place to relax and get away from the the downtown madness, you just found it. We spent 14 days here nice to have your own private beach. During the day you get a little noise from the beach clubs on either side, but not bad but at night it's really quiet.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2016

lovely place for a private quiet get away .private beach where you can lay back and relax with very few people around . There is air conditioner if you need but the breeze is so great we never use it .we will be coming here as long as it is available .We love Su Casa and anyone there.

Room Tip: Number 8 is the upper room with stairs but it is wonderful
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2016

When I say it's away from the insanity, Isla las Mujeres has become tourist-i-fied. It's busy, full of gringos (myself included) and while not as hectic or crazy as the Hotel Zone in Cancun, it's definitely a tourist destination.

Su Casa is very low key and quiet, not fancy in any sense of the word. The bungalows are one-room boxes with a patio facing the water (very nice), a modest kitchen, and very functional bathroom.

Things to know about when you book here.

The beds are a bit small and hard, so be sure you like sleeping close to your partner.

The plugs are all two prong, so if you have electronics to recharge, you will need a three-prong (grounded) to two prong ungrounded adapter (or you can borrow the one off the fridge or toaster oven).

The kitchen offers basics, but don't expect any pre-stock of coffee, tea, cream or sugar. You'll need to bring those or get them in the mercado in town (a 20-25 minute walk, or a three minute taxi ride).

The hotel offers no meals or beverages, though there are one or two hotels up and down the road from the bungalows that do.

Wifi (free) is a bit sporadic.

Finally, know where you're going. Su Casa is on the Sac Bajo, south of the ferry landing and Centro, and the people in the tourist office may not know where it is. A taxi ride is about 100 pesos, takes ten minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hfulghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews