We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to call home on your stay in Merida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice place to call home on your stay in Merida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Really cool place w open courtyard in center
Rooms on second floor surprisingly quiet thanks to thick walls and windows BIG PLUS!
Rooms nicely decorated and super clean .
The breakfast is fantastic
I especially like the open areas surrounding the open court yard on both floors with comfy sofas , interesting fixtures and plants etc
It's a winner.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpeaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    32
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
122
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 7 nights during Christmas week 2011 at the Hotel Casa San Angel. It was one of the most pleasant trips that we had ever been on.

We found the Hotel Casa San Angel to be exactly what had been shown on TA, beautiful in every way. The staff was wonderful and could not do enough to accomodate us.

The room was very clean. Water was triple filtered and did not experience any problems with the quality of the water. Bottled water was provided each day, but not to avoid the tap water, but to quench one's thrist during the day.

The hotel archeicture was very classic colonial spanish that has an open courtyard. There are chairs and counches on the first and second floor. Take advantage of these areas to rest or have a cat nap. Which reminds me that there are two beautiful kitties that greet you when you come down each day.

The reviews are true as this hotel is a gem. The location was perfect as it is located at the beginning of the Pase de Montejo, which tons of boutiques, shops, and restaurants.

There is a very strong show of the tourist police everywhere (not threatening though), which was very comforting since we were in a city that we had never been before. Motorists DO speed on the Paseo, so you do have to watch when you cross streets. Pedestrians crossing street that contain circles are quite a challenege.

In the middle of our visit, we spent one night away from the Hotel Casa San Angel at the Uxmal Hacienda adjacent to the Uxmal ruins; this is a must excursion. The trip can be arranged through Mayaland via a bus. The Hacienda is a very famous hotel and was quite nice; the pool was available to cool off and relax.

If you visit Merida, do not miss Uxmal and other surrounding Mayan ruins. We attended the Uxmal night light/sound show and returned the next day for more sightseeing of the ruins.

We found the restaurant at the Hacienda Uxmal hotel to be excellent; the meals and service were very good.

The Hotel Casa San Angel gift shop is much more than just a hotel gift shop, but contains numerous artesian things, which are beatutifully arranged. Take time to visit this treasure.

We found Merida overall to be lovely, the residents are warm and hospitable. Take the tour bus, watch your head if you are on the second tier of the bus due to low lying tree branches.

On Christmas Day even we went to WalMart that is located on the Paseo and experience the Christmas rush; quite lovely. We also went downtown on the same day and the Christmas rush shoppers were overwhelming, but still enjoyable and quite the experience. It reminded me of home with last minute Christmas shopping.

We look forward to another visit to Merida, and a return to the Hotel Casa San Angel.

Until we return, we will miss it, and Merida.

Hasta luego Merida and the Hotel Casa San Angel.

Room Tip: Requst a King size bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WV_M0untaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews and everything was true. It is truly a little gem in Merida.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKHK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I love this hotel. It is perfectly located at the quiet south-most end of the Paseo Montejo, so you can stroll up the Paseo or walk down towards the historic center. The hotel's construction was obviously a labor of love for the owner. Every detail has been attended to in the courtyard and in the rooms. The ventilation, the light, the showers, the furniture, the high ceilings, the bedding, the public seating - everything has been designed for the comfort of the guest.

And the operations of the hotel are superb as well. The staff is attentive and very friendly, and will not hesitate to offer assistance with booking whatever tour or solving whatever travel disaster you have gotten yourself into. The housekeeping is spotless. The restaurant is delicious. Tiger, the hotel cat, is bi-lingual.

You will enjoy every memory of your stay at Casa San Angel.

And lastly, just a note of assurance to those who have read too much about the unrest in Mexico - Yes, the Yucatan is safe.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulippx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

After 8 days at this charming spot we are sorry to be leaving. It is truly a gem, a first class experience at a very reasonable price. The open courtyard entryway is lovely, with its fountain and gardens, comfortable couches and convenient tables. The rooms are on the upper floor and overlook the courtyard, with more tables and couches and places to gather, chat, read and nap. Everything is spotless and perfectly tended by the warm, friendly staff. The people at the desk, Juan and Sara, helped us in every way. The elegant and gracious owner is on hand, accessible and attentive and ready to advise and assist. The food in the restaurant is great, and appears to be a destination among Merida diners, not just the hotel clientele. The shops are the best in Merida, with quality one-of-a kind items at reasonable prices. After long days at the Mayan historical sites, at the beaches, or just walking around town sightseeing and shopping, coming back to Casa San Angel was like coming home. The location is perfect--a manageable walk if you are heading downtown, but also the entryway to the beautiful Paseo Montejo, Merida's tree-lined boulevard of historic mansions and monuments, hotels and restaurants. We truly could not be more pleased.

Room Tip: We booked a standard which was more than adequate for the two of us--quiet, comfortable, beautifull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alishec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

All the wonderful things people have said in earlier reviews - the location, the comfort, the beauty, the two cats, the staff, etc. - are true, and then some! We picked this hotel because of some reviews in tripadvisor, but only after we carefully compared the hotel, its price, location, etc. with several others identified on this website, on other sites, and in our favorite travel books.

My partner and I are not novices in international travel. But we never expected to be so pleasantly surprised by what we ended up experiencing at Hotel Casa San Angel. Perhaps the most fascinating quality of this lovely casa is the lady who owns and runs it and all the heart she has put into creating it.

At our arrival, I was just commenting on the beautiful courtyard and the fundamentally colonial, yet unique way the place was decorated. The reception desk manager smiled and pointed toward a rather tall, slender, and elegant lady who was busy placing a house plant in a beautiful hand-painted vase and said: " That is the owner; this is all her work. Her name is Homa."

I was actually more surprised by the affectionate way he talked about her than anything else. I whispered to my partner, "this guy really likes his boss!" I quickly walked up to Homa and congratulated her on the beauty of the courtyard and the location of the hotel. She flashed a coy, but regal smile and warmly greeted me and my partner. Then we were showed to our beautiful, immaculate room, which had been cooled down for us.

Homa knows the magic of absolute delight and hospitality! What she does cannot be copied through a business formula. We managed to have breakfast with her one day. We asked her and she told us her life story. We learned how she has put the fruites of her fascinating life journey into this place. With no background in hospitality, she had purchased and transformed the ruins of two abandoned buildings into this lovely hotel, in the heart of the most historically significant part of Merida. She kept stressing that she did all this with the loving encouragement and support of her adult daughter and son. She lives on the premises and carefully oversees every detail. All of the delicious confectionaries baked in the restaurant are Homa's own recipes. No wonder why her restaurant has become a favorite gathering spot for many of the local families!

Mexico has always rewarded us with well-priced luxuries that are not easily affordable elsewhere. But our 5-day trip to Merida stood way out, mainly because of our special experience in Hotel Casa San Angel. Our time here has been magical. I full-heartedly recommend this hotel, particularly to those discriminating travelers who are looking for a very special treat at a very reasonable price for a truly memorable time.

HH

Room Tip: We liked a front room on the top floor, because of the nice view out into the street. We had absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We just returned from 5 days in Merida staying at the Casa San Angel. We found the hotel excellant. It is located about 1 block from the Paseo Montejo and about 6 blocks from the Plaza Major, about a 15 minute walk. The hotel is in a quiet location. We had a large, spacious room on the ground floor that had a very high ceiling and was artfully decorated with tiles and other furnishings. It had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and shower was great. The room had air conditioning and a fan that was also nice. The front dest staff spoke English and were very helpful. We would stay here again.
Doug

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 km away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 km away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 km away
Boutique bytheMuseo
Boutique bytheMuseo
#27 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Property: Hotel Casa San Angel
Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#14 Family Hotel in Merida
#20 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing