We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel and rooms, friendly helpful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
1 review
“lovely hotel and rooms, friendly helpful staff, great location”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

owner was there to meet our every needs (including special care after a fall). good restaurant part of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    34
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
124
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights - room was nicely appointed, and the staff was always available to answer questions and provide information about the area. The only negative is that the beds are not too comfortable - stayed in a room with 2 twin beds, which were small, narrow and hard. Ate at the hotel for dinner one night and breakfast 2 am's. The staff, the food and the area were all 10's! I would stay again and perhaps try a room with a queen or king bed rather than two single beds.
The price was offered at a discount from the usual $180, which I would not have found value in. I think $180 is too high for this property.
I'd go back, but probably try another place, as there are plenty of choices in the area.

Room Tip: all of the rooms face a central courtyard - with an open air central area . very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were living in Progreso for a month and decided to visit Merida for the Saturday evening entertainment. Since the Hotel Casa San Angel was facing the park with the entertainment my husband and I, and two friends decided to eat in their dinning room. The hotel is beautiful and the gift shop was great. The dinner we had, I am sorry to say, was the worst we had in all the time we were in the Progreso, Merida area. The appetizers came at the same time as the dinner. Any well run dinning room knows that appetizers should come and be eaten before the main course is served. The dinners were of poor quality and my husbands food was stone cold. He sent it back and they did deducted it from our bill after we complained to the manager. The managers comment was that they had just hired a new cook. I would not call him a chef. Hotel should be aware that bad news travels fast amongst people that holiday long term in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I loved this hotel in Merida. As all the other descriptions tell you, this is the place
to stay! I want to emphasize the location, in both directions. Just outside of the historic
center, and thus away from the crowds, but just a short walk to the Plaza Grande; and
at the beginning of the Montejo boulevard for a stroll to the Museum and beyond. And what
a comfortable, beautiful building. The staff could just not be better.

Room Tip: Room in the back worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed 2 wonderful nights in this nicely situated hotel in Merida, just far enough from the zocalo that we could park on the street (although lot parking is available through the hotel) and close enough to be able to walk easily to fabulous restaurants, shops, museums and parks. The hotel has a grand atrium that provides a lush, comfortable and quiet escape from the city outside. The loggia's whimsically painted walls add to the pastoral beauty. The guest rooms are large, comfortable, and surprisingly quiet, especially considering that some are right on the street. The free WiFi doesn't extend into the rooms, but that's no problem since there's considerable comfortable seating on both levels just outside the rooms. The fine amenities in the room include a hammock to be slung between walls, where I fell asleep one night after sipping a glass of tequila. Other important features include a lovely restaurant, both in culinary and architectural terms, that serves a fabulous breakfast and makes use of an on-site bakery. The hotel also happens to house a government Fonart store, where we found local creations of quality and at prices that were far better than any other stores we found in Merida or elsewhere on our trip through the Yucatan (or in Quintana Roo). We would definitely stay here the nest time we travel to Merida.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Really cool place w open courtyard in center
Rooms on second floor surprisingly quiet thanks to thick walls and windows BIG PLUS!
Rooms nicely decorated and super clean .
The breakfast is fantastic
I especially like the open areas surrounding the open court yard on both floors with comfy sofas , interesting fixtures and plants etc
It's a winner.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpeaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 7 nights during Christmas week 2011 at the Hotel Casa San Angel. It was one of the most pleasant trips that we had ever been on.

We found the Hotel Casa San Angel to be exactly what had been shown on TA, beautiful in every way. The staff was wonderful and could not do enough to accomodate us.

The room was very clean. Water was triple filtered and did not experience any problems with the quality of the water. Bottled water was provided each day, but not to avoid the tap water, but to quench one's thrist during the day.

The hotel archeicture was very classic colonial spanish that has an open courtyard. There are chairs and counches on the first and second floor. Take advantage of these areas to rest or have a cat nap. Which reminds me that there are two beautiful kitties that greet you when you come down each day.

The reviews are true as this hotel is a gem. The location was perfect as it is located at the beginning of the Pase de Montejo, which tons of boutiques, shops, and restaurants.

There is a very strong show of the tourist police everywhere (not threatening though), which was very comforting since we were in a city that we had never been before. Motorists DO speed on the Paseo, so you do have to watch when you cross streets. Pedestrians crossing street that contain circles are quite a challenege.

In the middle of our visit, we spent one night away from the Hotel Casa San Angel at the Uxmal Hacienda adjacent to the Uxmal ruins; this is a must excursion. The trip can be arranged through Mayaland via a bus. The Hacienda is a very famous hotel and was quite nice; the pool was available to cool off and relax.

If you visit Merida, do not miss Uxmal and other surrounding Mayan ruins. We attended the Uxmal night light/sound show and returned the next day for more sightseeing of the ruins.

We found the restaurant at the Hacienda Uxmal hotel to be excellent; the meals and service were very good.

The Hotel Casa San Angel gift shop is much more than just a hotel gift shop, but contains numerous artesian things, which are beatutifully arranged. Take time to visit this treasure.

We found Merida overall to be lovely, the residents are warm and hospitable. Take the tour bus, watch your head if you are on the second tier of the bus due to low lying tree branches.

On Christmas Day even we went to WalMart that is located on the Paseo and experience the Christmas rush; quite lovely. We also went downtown on the same day and the Christmas rush shoppers were overwhelming, but still enjoyable and quite the experience. It reminded me of home with last minute Christmas shopping.

We look forward to another visit to Merida, and a return to the Hotel Casa San Angel.

Until we return, we will miss it, and Merida.

Hasta luego Merida and the Hotel Casa San Angel.

Room Tip: Requst a King size bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WV_M0untaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 km away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 km away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 km away
Boutique bytheMuseo
Boutique bytheMuseo
#26 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#20 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Property: Hotel Casa San Angel
Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#14 Family Hotel in Merida
#20 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing