We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depth of art is fantastic”

Nahualli Casa de los Artistas
Ranked #6 of 100 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In the heart of Merida's Historic Center, Casa Estudio was born and continues to grow. It has evolved into a place where contemporary visual art and the solemn elegance of colonial architecture converge, creating an environment at once original and distinguished for its extensive collection of beautiful and masterfully done paintings, sculpture. drawings and prints.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We visited several galleries and fell in love with Nahualli. This is a family of artist, but the work is not all on the same subject matter. The gallery is an old orphanage from many centuries past, which gives it a very open display arena. We like the work in multiple media from oils and charcols, to wood and bronze. Very Dali in some mannerism, which is where i personlly tend to lean. Do not miss this gallery.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank d'Amileau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"her daughter"
in 3 reviews
"bronze sculptures"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful space"
in 3 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"lovely paintings"
in 2 reviews
"favorite pieces"
in 2 reviews
"great art"
in 3 reviews
"mexican art"
in 3 reviews
"santa ana"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"abel"
in 26 reviews
"gallery"
in 43 reviews
"vasquez"
in 6 reviews
"artists"
in 44 reviews
"drawing"
in 11 reviews
"charcoal"
in 4 reviews
"emotions"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2018

I had the great fortune of going to Nahualli Casa de los Artistas for a school activity. (I did a Spanish immersion with Habla for a week.) We had the opportunity to meet Abel and learn about the gallery, and the pieces, in his words. Through our school activity, we went room to room with students selecting particular pieces in which to focus our attention. I was a great way to really absorb all of the art.
If I am ever back in Merida, I would pop in again.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We went as a group and had the chance to talk to the owner. It was very interesting. And you can see Mexican art with many layers! Definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Maps764870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This gallery visit was special! We were greeted by the owner/artist and it felt like we were being welcomed into his living room. He graciously answered our questions and shared stories about his life and culture that gave meaning to the art. Comfortable furniture invited us to spend time reflecting on the art and to relax while enjoying the beauty of the space.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank msblakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2018

This was my favorite of all the galleries that we visited in Merida. The artwork is just beautiful. I hoped to go back for a second look but didn't get around to it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank stayhappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nahualli Casa de los Artistas also viewed

 

Been to Nahualli Casa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing