We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Merida”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suites del Sol

Suites del Sol
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suites del Sol
Ranked #55 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Naples, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value for Merida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I will have to repeat what other reviewers say. Nice, big apartments. Very good price. Could have been a bit cleaner on move in, but that was easily taken care of with a sweep out. Very helpful staff. Walking distance to downtown (we are in our 60s). Very safe walking, even after dark. Great advice from the owner about side trips...just ask her. We had a wonderful time with only two very slight negatives. First, we stayed during carnival...and the Paseo de Montejo (just one block away) was noisy and filled with loud bands until early morning....so, don't stay during Carnival !...Also, when we left we were charged a small standard cleaning fee...which is okay, but I wish they would have told us that up front...All in all I HIGHLY recommend Suites del Sol unless you need a pool or need luxury accomodations. For middle class and working folks who want an inexpensive month in Mexico it was great !

Room Tip: Rooms in the back MAY be a bit quieter...there are no rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    10
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
14
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed in suites del Sol for 9 weeks with a friend in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was large, well-equipped and cosy, and the staff friendly and helpful. Special thanks goes to the fantastic janitor for all his help after closing hours. The location is perfect, just a short walk from Paseo Montejo and the centro historico. The A/C in my bedroom was a bit noicy, but I got used to it after a while, and then it was no longer a problem. Another, more disturbing element was the school classes having phys.ed. in the concrete hall right outside my bedrom at 6-7 AM on weekdays. They were really loud, and even though I stayed in Merida for work matters and had to get up early, this was a bit too early, and is perhaps not a very desireable experience for people staying on vacation. I will ask for an apartment facing the street the next time I'm staying here, because I will be staying here on my next visit to Merida!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapatrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed the month of November and really enjoyed the ample size of the apartment. The location is great, half block from the Pasejo Montejo and few blocks form down town. We plan on going back later this year for more time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewismagaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

After reading the older reviews, I see a new review is badly needed. No this is not a hotel with a restaurant, fitness center, pool and fresh towels sculpted in interesting shapes like you will get in Playa del Carmen. It is an apartment hotel with a kitchen that allows you to prepare the food you and your family want, when you want and at whatever price point you want. If you don't feel like cooking, there are ample restaurants within a 15 minutes walk.
Some of the older reviews talked about bad bathrooms and even mice. I suspect there has been some renovation since then. We were just there and my only complaint with the bathroom is that the shower water can sometimes be too hot. Also the apartment was very clean: we did not see any pests of any kind.
The suite was very spacious just as the pictures indicate. The beds were very comfortable and the wifi and TV worked just fine.
The location is very nice since it is a block away from the very nice Paseo Montejo with quite adequate restaurants and safe bank machines. Also it is about a four block walk to the Walmart with a really well stocked grocery store and wine selection. Loved the fresh mangoes every day. It is about a 15 minute walk to what is happening downtown but it is nice to be that far away from the night life when it comes time to sleep. Taxis by the way usually run about $3 for a two mile ride and unlike Mexico City you can feel safe when you get in to one. Yes 58th street, on which the entrance is located, is very plain but that is the case with almost any street in the older part of Merida.
Even after paying about $50 for the electricity we used during the stay, we paid for a month what we would have paid for three nights at the Fiesta American. If you are only visiting Merida for 3 to 5 days, by all means find a hotel that pampers you and eat out every night. If you are going to stay, like most of the residents of Los Suites, for a longer stay, then it is hard to beat the value here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2trex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Suites del Sol is an excellent choice for long-term stays in Merida. It has friendly and excellent staff who can help with any issues or questions you may have about Merida from tourist information to practicalities such as post. The apartments and entire property are very clean and well maintained. We rented a one bedroom apartment which included: sitting area with TV, large dinning area, kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, fridge, large water cooler, utensils, plates and cups, bedroom with comfy good sized beds, bathroom with towels and hot shower, AC and good wi-fi connection. They also offer laundry and cleaning services for a minimal cost. The location can't be beat. One block from the more upscale Paseo Monetejo and just three blocks from the histroic Centro (we really love the food vendors at Santa Ana Market just 5-10 minutes walk). It is safe, clean, friendly - all in all an excellent value for one week or four months.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koopnburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is not a hotel - these are modest efficiency apartments. Would I stay here again? I wouldnt, but it does offer value for the very budget traveller or a family. These apts should not be listed under hotels but rateher alternative lodging. I would possibly give it a higher review (based on value) if it were not listed in the hotel section.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kichenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Merida is our Mexican Paris. And the Suites del Sol was perfect for exploring the city and the culture. Located in the prime area of the Montejo Paseo, it was a great spot for exploring the charms of this capital city in the Yucatan. The management was friendly and accommodating, we felt safe and secure, and the wonderful people that were vacationing there at the same time made it a great experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it is an added bonus to have a kitchen when you are on a long stay. Book us in for next year Thelmy - we didn't get enough of your Mexican hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmac_direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
9.2 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#60 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#56 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#57 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Suites Imperial
Suites Imperial
#88 of 103 in Merida
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
1.2 km away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#29 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites del Sol

Property: Suites del Sol
Address: Calle 58 No. 405 por 39 Y 41 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments for long and short term rental. We specialize in providing excellent service for business professionals on extended stay, people seeking relocation to the Yucatan or travelers looking for long term accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Suites del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing