We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book us for next year!”
Review of Suites del Sol

Suites del Sol
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suites del Sol
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Merida is our Mexican Paris. And the Suites del Sol was perfect for exploring the city and the culture. Located in the prime area of the Montejo Paseo, it was a great spot for exploring the charms of this capital city in the Yucatan. The management was friendly and accommodating, we felt safe and secure, and the wonderful people that were vacationing there at the same time made it a great experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it is an added bonus to have a kitchen when you are on a long stay. Book us in for next year Thelmy - we didn't get enough of your Mexican hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmac_direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2010

Thank you so much for your help and advice while staying here in Merida. Margaret and I really appreciated all the local information a new visitor needs: where to catch the bus to Progreso (no need to go downtown to the bus station!) - which are the good tour guides for the pyramids - ordering taxis etc.

The location? Well, as soon as we got our bearings in beautiful Merida we realised that Santa Ana is the top spot and Paseo Montejo, the next street, is the Champs Elise of Merida. Probably why all the banks are there. Very quiet area and just a short walk downtown to all the busy and exciting plazas with their music, dancing the Cha Cha Cha, and local food.

Tacos at 6 pesos? Refrescos at 9 pesos? That is very good value!

The apartment is big and the kitchen has most of the pots and pans you need. It's fun working out how to cook the local food. Two big beds in each room and huge closets for clothing etc. A small balcony. Good air conditioning.

No sun terrace, but maybe an addition on one of the lower roofs at the back -- an idea for the future?

Thanks once again,

Peter and Margaret Hobday, Cornwall, England, 9 March 2010

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petehob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

There is no way to beat Suites del Sol. The locations is perfect: next to the best, but with plenty of separation to recharge your batteries after a full of fun day. No ifs or buts when it comes to accept children. Plenty of room to entertain family and friends visiting. Everything you could possibly need to use in the kitchen: crucial when travelling with family, especially kids. The right price, fair and well deserved, with all the service and attention that you get. But more than anything: the people: Eleuterio, Mariano. German, Thelmy, and everybody in this hotel are commited to do their best every single day they show up to work. Their smiles, help and understanding are amazing. This was our third stay, and each time it gets better than the last. God bless you, Suites del Sol guys, you rock!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YucaTexIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Suites del Sol is much more than just an apartment. It is a home away from home. It is clean, large rooms in the 2 bedroom, great location, and above all a wonderful management and staff. Thelmy, Poncho, Herman and Mariano took care of us like family. They were never too busy to have a conversation about your adventures for the day. Even the night watchman, Mariano? waited at the front door after hours to greet you with a " Buenos Noches ".We cannot say enough about the friendliness and hospitality of Suites del Sol. We would definitely return and recommend it to others.Ginny and Bob Mulack Chicago, Illinois usa

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

For anyone wanting attractive, reasonably priced and well located apartment/condo accommodation in Merida, we would highly recommend the Suites Del Sol, which we have stayed at twice in the past year. Our two bedroom apartments have been very large and airy and well equipped for all our needs during our month long stays. Suites Del Sol is family run, and daughters Thelmy and Vanessa speak English and are extremely helpful arranging taxis and tours. When we didn't have a frying pan, Thelmy who has a wicked sense of humour, bought us a new one immediately.

Suites del Sol is one block off the Paseo de Montejo and located within walking distance of the Santa Ana market and Walmart (about 15 minutes in each direction), and two blocks from the Canton Palace (archaeology museum), which we found very handy not having a car.

Suites Del Sol is certainly excellent value for the money and we will be returning again in December.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank canadianpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

I stayed at Suites del Sol in December of 2006 and March/April 2007 while working in the region. This is an excellent option for business travellers. The apartments are fully furnished, comfortable, with a full kitchen and modern appliances. No need to bring or buy anything besides your food. There is ample parking. Wifi throughout the building. Banks, internet cafes, grocery stores, laundry, etc. all within walking distance. It was easy to arrange for the apartment to get cleaned and bottled water to be delivered to the apartment. A landline telephone is available to each apartment - receiving calls and outgoing local calls are free. And the owners/staff were ready and willing to answer any questions. You have instant friends in a new city. The bathrooms could use a makeover, but they work just fine. If you are looking to vacation in Merida, and love the comforts of a luxury hotel (there is no pool nor breathtaking view), then Suites is probably not for you. However, if you are a business traveller, it has everything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LaGataBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed at Suites del Sol for six weeks starting in January, 2007. It's a clean, comfortable, well kept apartment/hotel within walking distance of major attractions. The mangement of the hotel does an exceptional job of being responsive to their residents, both in solving problems in the building and helping with getting around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mbp89us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#63 of 106 in Merida
29 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Holly
Hotel Holly
#76 of 106 in Merida
23 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#88 of 106 in Merida
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#71 of 106 in Merida
174 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
1.4 km away
Hotel Ambassador Merida
Hotel Ambassador Merida
#82 of 106 in Merida
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites del Sol

Address: Calle 58 No. 405 por 39 Y 41 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $45 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments for long and short term rental. We specialize in providing excellent service for business professionals on extended stay, people seeking relocation to the Yucatan or travelers looking for long term accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suites del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing