We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Isabel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Isabel
Ranked #61 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
West palm beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This magnificent B&B is staffed by Sergio, 3 exhuberant dogs (labs) and a few rescued cats. Sergio, the owner, was the perfect gracious host...always ready to assist, make suggestions and offer tips to enhance our experience. The ambiance was cheerful and upbeat. Our continental breakfast, to say nothing of the early morning coffee, was perfect. There was no street noise to interfer with sleep or conversation, yet we were within easy walking distance of the main square. By the time we left Merida, we were referring to Casa Esperanza as "home". It can't get much better then that...we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatS007palmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
55
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Loved Casa Esperanza-gorgeous room, fabulous little breakfast & had SOO much fun with Sergio & the dogs and the cats. Our son was in heaven.

Sergio knew where to go and what to do, just wish we had more time--We will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARafnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This B&B is simply beautiful. Stunning building, huge room with huge ceilings, an amazing bathroom, cute swimming pool, an excellent breakfast, well located. Sergio was particularly friendly, thorough and helpful. His dogs, cats and tortoises made good companions too. 10/10.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I'll start by saying I've developed an obsessive love affair with Mérida and the breathtaking colonial and French influenced architecture that surrounds you. Even homes in disrepair and seemingly abandoned have a mystery and charm that's seducing.
THAT being said, actually staying in one of these magnificent homes like Casa Esperanza is a not to be missed opportunity.
Beautiful center courtyard with pool. Iron, wood, pasta tiles, 18 foot ceilings-totally entrancing!
Sergio is a perfect host-informative but not intrusive. Breakfasts are simple yet healthy and delicious.
There are 3 delightful labs and a could of cats in residence also, so if pets are a problem this might not be the choice for you. There's even a great Mexican crafts store on the premises.
Great location also. What more can one want? GO TO MERIDA and Casa Esperanza!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_in_Woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

What can you say bad about an experience at Casa Esperanza? A great old colonial mansion with. 20 foot ceilings, located 5 minutes on foot from Merida's "Times Square". Breakfast is fresh and served at the time you pre-request. The dogs, cats, tortoises and gardens make you wish this was your permanent home. Merida is a beautiful, immaculate, interesting, colorful and safe city; Casa Esperanza is the ice cream on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffreyAlanPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This a superb place to stay in Merida. Sergio is a great host and the colonial style house is beuatifully restored. Our room was spotless and the breakfast is great. The B&B is located 5 minutes from the main square, so it is very convenient. We stayed for 2 days at the beginning and then we returned again 2 weeks later for additional 5 days. If you are looking for an intimate, calm, relaxing and cool place, we really recommend the place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atanas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherry hill nj
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Let me add our voices to the choris of prase for Sergio and the B&B. We shared our first four days with some interesting travlers from Canada and the last three with ourselves and the "critters". This is not a place for a traveler who is bothered by dogs or cats. They are very friendly and well behaved, but they are around!
breakfasts are fruit, yogurt,rolls and coffee or tea-- great and fresh! The location is central to the city and Sergio will help with any problem.
when we return to Merida, we will stay at the Inn
David

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epplehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 km away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.9 km away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#25 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Isabel

Property: Casa Isabel
Address: Calle 54 #476 Calle 55 57 | Col. Centro Historico, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Casa Esperanza Inn)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and management. Formerly, B&B Casa Esperanza Inn, completely renovated in 2015. Historic 19th c. French "Belle Epoch" mansion. Relax, unwind, & enjoy. Colourful tropical gardens, peaceful patios, and a large refreshing swimming pool create a tranquil atmosphere for a relaxing vacation in magical Merida, Yucatan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing