We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$288
US$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$266
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$419
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$392
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$445
US$294
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$210
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$403
US$348
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$173
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,509
US$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,950)
Filter reviews
6,954 results
Traveller rating
4,107
1,648
598
288
313
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,107
1,648
598
288
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssegway tournature parkthe grillsense adventurethree riverssports barthe mexican restaurantchef's tablelobster dinnerfamily pooltime sharebeach bedsadult poolkids clubcasino nightsales presentationbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
4,444 - 4,449 of 6,954 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2009

This is a great property, with the perfectly trained staff, and best food I've ever experienced. My wife and I visited with our 28 year old son, and had a wonderful time. Of course, the fact that Maxim magazine was holding a photoshoot and competition for model of the year helped with the son's enthusiasm.The activies on the property are varied and abundant. Tip: sign up for the Chef's Table. You will eat at a table literally in the kitchen and receive a seven course meal served by the head chef, Oscar Sanchez.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Hotel-

Nice new hotel in a traditional style. Layout is good with nothing too far away.
Flat screens in rooms and were just installing an interactive system in the rooms
which will allow you to access concierge, make a wake up call, look at menus, order room service, etc.
Found upon entering room there seemed to be a musty smell but believe it actually
was a bio-degradable bug spray that was in room. Our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony. Wi-fi is accessible throughout the resort and also in the room, which is unusual. No connection problems.
Resort is a green resort and gets its name from the 3 rivers that abut the resort and empty into the ocean.
Ride in to the resort was interesting as you were surrounded by the mangroves
and a lot of flora. Don't know if we went in by the wrong entrance as our driver had never
been there before. Were greeted with cold towels and a pineapple/celery juice combination which they called green juice and was much better than it sounds. Resort is mostly complete but they were working on one wing while we were there. Noise was very minimal.

Restaurants-

Cafe Islas is the buffet area and only choice, besides room service,
for breakfast. Also have afternoon and evening buffet there. Indoor. Good buffet with omelet/egg
station and some interesting menu items. For a buffet was better than average.

Traditional Mexican, Alibrije,is indoors and very colorful with very nice artwork. Buffet for
lunch and ala carte for dinner. Very good food with some interesting dishes. My thoughts on all the specialty dining (although we did not try the Asian) was that the food was exceptional, approaching gourmet.
European portions throughout. The real problem was the menu translation to English was very poor. They really need to hire someone to do this as sometimes the dish would come out and you were wondering what you thought you ordered. This notwithstanding, liked every item that I ordered and it actually became kind of funny. Did really
like the Chipotle Creme Brule that we had here for dessert. Seemingly an odd combination but excellent. No reservations are required for the ala carte restaurants.

Right now the Asian Fusion, Kotori, and the Italian ,Porto Bello, swap nights at the same area but we were told that the permanent home of Porto Bello is near completion.

There is an outdoor pizza venue, Pizzeria Il Forno, that uses a wood burning brick oven, that is open in the afternoon.
Pizzas were surprisingly good- had a wonderful 4 cheese pie.

Also the Hacienda Grill, which is an outdoor venue near the pool area, and is open for lunch and dinner. Only had lunch here and again, excellent.

Patisserie offered desserts and finger foods at tea time in the afternoon. They also served wonderful espresso and cappuccinos. Coffee at the resort was rather poor and found that not all the espressos and cappuccinos were made with the same method so they were a bit hit or miss.

Bars-

Room occupancy was low while we were here so the bars were fairly quiet. The Victory Sports bar with pool table and multiple flat screen TV's seemed the most popular. There is a tequila bar at the Mexican restaurant, but I did not visit it as tequila
is not my favorite. There also is a Outdoor Martini bar area in the evenings just outside the Cafe Islas buffet restaurant.
There was never ANY problem getting a drink at any time, anywhere.


Pool areas-

Were very nice although not overly large and they were working on a portion of the upper pool area that I think is or will be the adult pool area. Plenty of chaises available and no "towel cards" needed. Really liked the 2 person circular beds with an adjustable covering that they had. Very comfy and nice if you did not want to be in the full sun. Pools had a couple of areas built in them some you could sit or lie in half a foot of water
or even a couple of inches. Staff was ever present around the pool to refresh drinks.

Spa-

My wife and I had a couples massage at the Ya'ax Che Spa. Very nice spa area that also had the Beauty Salon. Room used was very nice and the masseuses were very good. After the massage there was a terrace with a filled jacuzzi and glasses of wine and fruit tray. Cost was $180USD total for two.


Tours-

The resort offers a number of tours run by the resort staff. We did the Senses tour and El Tigrillo. The Senses tour is very good and completely unique and I would highly recommend it. Because it is so different, with a mystical quality, I don't
want to give any details- just do it! We also took the El Tigrillo tour which went to the nurseries where the resort grows flora to replenish the area, cenote snorkeling in some cool waters, and then kayaking back to the resort through the mangrove
forest. This was a nice experience although but I think it might have been our nursery guide's first tour as she did not seem to know anything but the "driver", Osiris, was plenty knowledgeable. Had an interesting moment on the return kayak trip as we
saw a small crocodile of about 5 feet. Osiris said it was the first time anyone had seen one but it might make me think twice about snorkeling back to the resort, which is an option.

Beach-

Man made, rather small and just okay sand. Waters were fairly uninviting and I did not swim in the ocean. Could walk down the beach to another area that was better on one side but the other side is where one of the rivers empties to the ocean. This is a negative but the resort had about a dozen large beds on the beach to use which were very nice.

Staff-

Absolutely fantastic, can't say enough good things about all of the staff members. Always a smile, and a buenos dias from every single person that worked at the resort. If one of the lizards said "Hola" I would not have been surprised!

All in all a very nice, new family resort that would make a nice vacation spot if you just want to chill out and have some great food and service. I had looked into this resort for a family with 4 adults and 2 younger kids and they do have a guaranteed connecting room option that would accommodate this size of family which is hard to find.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mad4travel_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Tres Rios. In and out of the Airport in less than 30 minutes. That's right 30 minutes. No one in Immigration, Just a few in Customs and out the door in the Van and onto the Resort. Check in went quickly with a cool towel and drink and on to our room - a Ceiba Junior Suite with Jacuzzi. The resort in my view was only about 40% occupied. The room was very nice and clean. The decorations are a bit sparse but the linens are great, the beds comfortable and the bathroom was very nice, functional and lots of room. We had great maid service and great results with room service. In fact the overall service quality at this hotel was some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. We are frequent travelers having been previously to various resorts in Mexico (both coast), the Carribean and many destinations in the US. From the pool servers to the waiters to the maids to the concierge to the activity directors, everyone was exceptional, friendly and made our stay memorable. We dined in all restaurants and found all great. The beverage selections are first class and the menus varied enough to no doubt serve any taste. We experienced some very nice extras while at Tres Rios - A dinner by the pool with private entertainment, a chef's table tasting dinner and breakfast in bed one morning. These were simply first class, fun and very creative. We also had spa massages that were very relaxing and well done. The spa is not what you might see at say a Canyon Ranch but it's fine. We did notice construction ongoing but didn't really notice any exceptional amount of distraction. Special thanks to Chef (the Rock Star as we started calling him as he is a true ambassador fo the Tres Rios) and Hector our wonderful concierge for all they did to make our stay exceptional. I would not only recommend this hotel to others but would if planning a return trip highly consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanLisah1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Overall: We traveled to Hacienda Tres Rios the week of October 10-17, 2009. Our stay was pleasant but not the best trip we have had to the Cancun area. The resort seems to cater more to time share owners. Unless you own a time share you are not told about many benefits of the resorts. For example, they have a free shuttle to Playa Del Carmen and a daily breakfast at the Mexican restaurant that is only told to time share owners. Also, time share owners are the only ones that get a welcome package. Based on our talks with existing time share owners they all were very happy with the deals they received and service provided from the Hotel. So if you are interested in a time share this is the place to be. The resort also could have done a better job orienting you about the resort. We did plan to attend the orientation the morning after we arrived and went into the lobby area but we never heard any announcement for an orientation so we left after waiting about 30 minutes and tried to figure out the resort on our own.
Transfers: The airport transfers went well. We booked through SkyAuction.com which included free transfers to the Hotel. The service was waiting for us when we arrived. We had the entire van to ourselves and went directly to the Hotel. It was about a 30 minute ride. When we arrived we were provide a green celery non-alcoholic drink. We would have preferred a glass of Champagne. Our room was ready when we arrived and we were able to check in quickly.
Room: A bit disappointing. We did reserve the junior suite but were expecting a Jacuzzi tub. I had previously email the hotel and they said most rooms had a Jacuzzi tub so we would probably get one. We had neither a bath or Jacuzzi tub in our room. We also had a first floor room which didn’t have a great view. A room on a higher floor would have been nice. Since the resort was about 20% filled we had thought that the resort would upgrade us to a better room. The room we had did have nice amenities but it could have been nicer with an upgrade. The free wireless internet is nice so bring your computer. Be careful of the candy left in the rooms on the bed each night. One several occasions there were bugs in them. Also, one day the maids left a half full can of soda in the room that they took from the refrigerator in the room and another day didn’t come in for turndown service or bring in clean towels.
Pools/Bar Service: The pools were very nice and not crowded. However, on some days the pool service was very poor. It appeared to us that unless you either had a certain colored bracelet showing that you were a time share owner or a very big tipper you had to get most of your own drinks on most days. When someone did come around we tipped a $1 or $2 (US) but that didn’t seem to be enough for them to come back. If they did return it may be 30 minutes later and often with a different drink than we had ordered. We did figure out the best way to get good pool services to make friends with a time share owner and sit next to them. They gave us excellent service when we were with the time share owners. The Pizza and grilled shrimp at the pool area were very good. But sometimes you had to wait a long time for a hamburger and fries which were also cold on several occasions. Another problem is they didn’t provide straws with the drinks which were a problem since the drinks couldn’t be stirred to mix the alcohol and you couldn’t drink the frozen drinks without the straws. Also, the pool chairs kept breaking. It appeared to be built with a poor quality cloth. There also should be activities around the pool area during the day like pool volleyball. One notable pool waiter was Francisco who always can around with great pool service and didn’t look for a tip.
Wedding party: On our first night we were very tired but a wedding was going outside our room with very loud music which lasted until about 4:00 am. Thanks to a thunderstorm the outdoor party finally ended and we got about 3 hours of sleep. You would think a nice resort would have a curfew for loud noise around 11:00 PM.
Restaurants: Good restaurants but a little confusing on which nights each were open. Once you figured out the schedule things go smoothly. Also, the restaurant menus seemed to be geared toured adults rather than children. I wouldn’t recommend the resort for children. One night they had a Mexican dinner outside that wasn’t publicized very well. We didn’t know about it and many other quests said that they didn’t either. We would have liked to attend but didn’t find out until after we had already eaten. One notable waiter in the Italian and Japanese restaurants was Fernando who also gave great service without looking for a tip.
Entertainment: Except for the Caribbean night party on Wednesday night which was excellent I would give the entertainment a poor rating. They had some but wasn’t very entertaining. Once again this resort isn’t recommended for children. Iberostar resorts that we were at last year had much better entertainment for Children.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PvanNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2009

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we appreciate your feedback since it gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We would also like to thank you for commenting on the positives as well as the areas you felt needed work.

In reference to your comments concerning the personalized service you received while staying at Hacienda Tres Rios, it is not our policy to differentiate between timeshare owners and non timeshare owners. Wristbands are strictly for your safety while at the resort and no other reason. We regret you felt this way and look forward to having you as a guest with us in the future.

Our activities program is set up in a more subtle way as opposed to similar resorts. We do have volleyball games and activities available for every guest; this schedule is given to everyone upon arrival. Concerning the kid’s activities at the resort we do cater to families and therefore have a kids club with specially trained personnel which receives great reviews on this site, food is also one of our most repetitive comments and we do offer a kids menu at every restaurant.

Once again we regret you did not have a favorable experience with us and hope to have a second opportunity to cater to you and your family as a guest with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The resort was beautiful and the grounds were well maintained. There was not a lot of organized activity during the day, but the resort did not have a lot of guests when we were there. I can't say that we'd find this a negative, we liked that it was very quiet and relaxing.
The food was great. The staff was very accomodating to our son's peanut allergy and were thoughtful of that wherever we went to eat. The night entertainment was also good, nice variety.
We look forward to returning again some day!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ange0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews